Skip to content

a people divided.

September 8, 2009

we have set ourselves up, or have been set up – i dont even know anymore, to be against each other. we are a divided people.

i say, “im glad we can watch the obama speech later this evening at home – together as a family – like we wanted to do in the first place.”

im asked in response, “why are you against obama speaking to school children?”

what?

when and where did i say that? i did not.

i think obamas speech was good. i am excited to watch it with my family later.

i read a lot yesterday, in regards to Obama’s speech to the children, “doesnt matter what side youre on…”

sigh.

today, more than any other day, i do not feel like a country united, one nation. we are a country standing on one side or the other pointing fingers and blaming one another. i feel that i can not express a disagreement, even a minor one, without being accused of being against a person as a whole. that is so sad to me.

when we elect a president, we do not elect a perfect God. we elect a human. a fallible human. not a savior. a human.

i have not agreed, nor have i approved, of every decision and action with every president that i havent voted for or for whom i did vote for. and that does not automatically set me against them or make me a hater.

we do not always have to, and will not always, agree with each other. can that not be okay? can that not take place without an air of hatred or arrogance?

i work very hard to express what i am for, rather than what i am against. yet, still, in that expression all that is seen is what im against, or what i may not agree with.

i am saddened by this today. but all i can do is be responsible for my own actions and respond in love.

that is all.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 10:01 am

    amen sistah.

  2. September 8, 2009 10:06 am

    this saddens me to..just because i disagree with something or a policy does NOT make me a hate monger, or predjudice, or anything. All it means is that is my opinion, and under the constitution I am entitled to it. This is sad, i wish our country wasn’t Right or Left, and found a way to stand in the middle somehow, voting on what is right, and beneficial for our children’s future. nuff said..so with you !

  3. September 8, 2009 10:11 am

    Tam I am glad that you shared this and also saddened by the fact that we as a people are so quick to judge. As I type this I am listening to a radio station that is slamming the parents for keeping their kids home so that they would not see or hear the speech in school… so frustrating.

    We all know that God allows leaders to come into places of prominence and power and like you said, we are never going to agree 100% with everything they do or don’t do, and that’s OK.

    I think that you coined it best on Twitter when you said that at the end of the day, the kids are home with you and it is your responsibility to raise them up in the way that they should go. Kristen and I are on the same page, not opposed to them hearing (even though ours are probably too young to really “get it”), but we have the freedom to disagree or agree and should not be looked down upon for whatever our choice may be.

    Any just wanted to snap my fingers in ‘Z’ formation and say “You go girl!” πŸ™‚

    • September 8, 2009 8:55 pm

      “I think that you coined it best on Twitter when you said that at the end of the day, the kids are home with you and it is your responsibility to raise them up in the way that they should go. Kristen and I are on the same page, not opposed to them hearing (even though ours are probably too young to really β€œget it”), but we have the freedom to disagree or agree and should not be looked down upon for whatever our choice may be. ”

      *big thumbs up*

  4. September 8, 2009 10:23 am

    Well said…well said. Without getting to biblical (but I really can’t help it) if Jesus said a house divided will not stand what do we expect to happen to a culture, society, nation or people that are divided?

  5. September 8, 2009 10:42 am

    Awesome. Thank you.

  6. September 8, 2009 11:29 am

    It is hard for me to watch everyone have these opinions and get so mad at eachother.

    Not being from the US and not being able to truly have a say/opinion politically in the US i get to be someone on the outside looking in.

    I agree that you have the right to watch it with your children and explain it to them…

    Thank you for posting on this…i like seeing your heart through these posts.

  7. September 8, 2009 12:42 pm

    i very much agree with you. it is disheartening to me, personally. simply because i did or did not vote for a person, does not mean that i will agree or disagree (respectively) with them 100% of the time.

    i heard someone on the radio yesterday speak very candidly and intelligently about some of the present situations our country is facing. he is a historian, and i have not heard someone be so NON-partisan in such a long time. not once did he attack one political group or the other. he simply explained and gave details of historical events which mirror our current state, and he made intelligent, well-thought out arguments, which HE studied out himself, rather than pulling from a platform of beliefs. And to top it off, he spoke extremely clearly and calmly about it. it was refreshing.

    i wish that THAT kind of conversation could be more common today, rather than the other attitudes that seem so pervasive right now. we don’t have to argue to maintain individual beliefs.

    well-written, tam.

  8. September 8, 2009 1:26 pm

    the “stump” response is usually, “they’re all crooks….” so, we BEGIN by judging. let me tell ya…..i USED to be one hard-nosed political person. i was exactly the person you describe above. if you didn’t think EXACTLY like i did, not only were you wrong, but i had no use for you. i was a campaigner, a registrar, a traveling speaker and if i thought your vote wasn’t coming for “my” candidate, you were worthless to me. fortunately Jesus Christ pulled me from that fire and while, in my inner-most being, i still fight for the same side, i refuse to do it publicly or out of anything but love.
    there are way too many people still stuck where i was…..i have a family full of them…my wife has a family full of them from “the other side”….yeah, makes for GREAT family reunions πŸ™‚
    but really Tam, your next to last line is ALL we can do….be responsible for OUR actions, respond in love….and PRAY….pray that the love people see flowing from us will not go unnoticed and might rub off on a few people….even if one at a time.

    Great post!!

  9. September 8, 2009 1:28 pm

    Once again you made me think! My kids didn’t see the speech today, simply because school doesn’t start until tomorrow here. We are planning to watch it as a family tonight as well.

    Oh, and the thoughts? Check them out over at http://blog.alexandari.com/the-great-debate/

  10. September 8, 2009 6:53 pm

    I wish we would just legislate morality and be done with it.

    I jest.

  11. September 8, 2009 8:03 pm

    Very well said Tam. I agree with everything you say, except that in my opinion America is a more united country now than at any point that I can remember.

    I grew up in the 1950’s in a segregated country. Now we have a President of African descent.

    During the Viet Nam War period protest, and counter protest, demonstrations were a daily occurrences, just read about the Democratic National Convention of 1968.

    I also find in interesting that when Bush was President he spoke before a children’s class and it was the Democrats who complained. πŸ™‚

    • September 8, 2009 8:52 pm

      people will ALWAYS find something to complain about across party lines. πŸ˜‰ Unfortunately.

    • September 8, 2009 8:52 pm

      oh, and… HI ED! πŸ˜‰ Long time no see! πŸ˜€

  12. September 8, 2009 8:50 pm

    mmmmmm. yes.

    a lot of people questioned why I would rather not have my KINDERGARTNER watch this at school, and it was automatically assumed that my reasons were purely negative. I tried to answer nicely, not give my knee jerk reaction, but deep down it upset me and offended me. My question was the same… can I NOT disagree without it being seen as a negative thing? Can I not, as a parent, decide that IF my kid watches it that I watch it with him? And the IF has more to do with his age than anything else. Do I agree with everything Obama (who I didn’t vote for) is doing? No. Did I agree with everything Bush (who I did vote for) did? No. Since when do I have to follow along (concerning opinion) with everything that is said and done by ANYONE, even the President? And WHY do I get to be questioned about it like I am a “hater” as you say?

    Rant over. πŸ˜†

  13. September 8, 2009 11:17 pm

    Like you Tam, i’m far too familiar with what i say being taken in a way other than i intended, not by all – but by enough to make it a concern.

    Sometimes this is my fault for not ‘speaking’ ‘clearly’, but sometimes that is due to the fact that i am conscious of speaking to a wide range of people at once (all those who can read, if not actually comment to, a blog and so try to say something to a wide range of views at once rather than in a one-to-one discussion.

    But sometimes it is NOT my ‘fault’ – some people, by reason of how they think, (clearly different to the manner in which i do) simply cannot see what it is i have said but instead see only their perspective of it.

    And sometimes i can do something similar. πŸ˜‰

    Some pay more attention to the letter than the ‘spirit’ – some do the reverse.

    a people divided indeed.

    As for setting ourselves up or being set up – as far as politics is concerned we are being set up (divide and you can conquer) if you want to know by whom just look for who gets the biggest benefits from the ‘two party’ (oppostion) system.

    We of course contribute to the ‘set-up’ by going along with the whole plan and not demanding something better.

    Of course if we were to do that we would all need to agree what that ‘something’ actually was – and just how likely is it that we all agree on something?

    Not that it affects me but i do find Mr Obama’s timing and place of presenting his speech a little perplexing – but did not GW Bush and Ronald Reagan both do something remarkably similar? was there a similar uproar/protest over that?

    And if not – then why not?

    Surely this is not a race thing for some people?? heaven forbid. πŸ˜‰

    <B

  14. September 9, 2009 11:57 am

    The soapbox looks good on ya.

  15. September 9, 2009 6:38 pm

    Tam, I’m sorry that people made a split-second decision about what you said and assumed you were not making an informed decision. I think the major reasoning behind people saying that, is, that soooo many republicans and conservatives made the decision withOUT knowing anything about what the speech says, and assuming the worst.

  16. September 10, 2009 1:18 am

    Our school district never showed it..never spoke of it..i think the highschool kids were given an option to watch it, but other than that, I would not have even known about it, if you didn’t write this..so thanks for keeping me informed!

Trackbacks

  1. The Great Debate — in search of Persimmon Pulp

Leave a Reply

