Skip to content

live…now

September 10, 2009

normally, today, we would use this time to leave links to our favorite posts from the week.

i wanta change things up a bit this friday.

today marks 8 years since our country was attacked. 9/11 will never look the same to us. we have visuals ingrained into our minds eye of horrific graphic details of the twin towers in flames.

tuesday evening our family watched a documentary of 9/11 on the national geographic channel. my kids were fairly young when we were attacked. so their viewing of this tragedy was pretty fresh and sobering.

one thing it did for kota, was caused him to really consider the fragility of life. he pondered death for quite a bit that evening. it afforded us a very good conversation with him.

its hard to understand death sometimes. its something we all expect. yet, when it happens, it still leaves us surprised.

i, myself, often consider the number of my days. how many of them there will be. am i living each one to its fullest? am i living…right now?

that was our encouragement for kota. live. live like you mean it. give your life away. dont be selfish with it. tap into your passions and live and breathe them. honor God with your life. serve people. be mindful of your days and grateful for the opportunity to leave a mark on this planet. to be a part of history.

live.

today.

know that you make a difference. good or bad…you are influential and a huge part of the blueprint of history.

you are.

you are.

are.

meaning, now…in the present.

live…now.

if today were your last day here with us what would you hope would be the memory you leave? the change you took part in? the impact you had on a life? what steps are you taking, or can you take, to ensure that is, indeed, the mark you leave?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 9:11 pm

    Oh death…

    I don’t care if the whole world knows who I am, but what I do care about is that if I were to die today, that the people ‘s lives that I have been so blessed to be a part of while here on this earth would remember me as someone who was encouraging to them. I want to be remembered as someone who is willing to give of everything I am for His cause. I want to be known for being faithful in the little things and for being a great husband and father… oh the list goes on… but I guess most importantly that I could somehow accurately represent Jesus to everyone that I come in to contact with. That no one who crosses my path would ever leave with a skewed view of my Lord…

    …that’s what I want!

    • September 10, 2009 9:23 pm

      “That no one who crosses my path would ever leave with a skewed view of my Lord… ”

      that is so powerful!

  2. September 10, 2009 9:27 pm

    right now it is hard for me to look beyond the difference I make with my boys. I know it won’t be like that always, but it’s a challenge right now.

    Earlier this week, after hearing about the Goldin family on base (mom died in car accident, dad and two babies were okay) my heart INSTANTLY went to “we have to help them. WE HAVE TO HELP THEM.” My mom instincts right now at this time in my life lead me that way. My heart wants to do what a mom does…. mother. It’s hard to explain. Anyway, if I’m known for ANYTHING in my life I want it to be that.

    This morning in MOPS I told the women that we needed to basically “adopt” this family, as moms we had to help a mom who couldn’t help her family anymore. I couldn’t even stress how much my heart has cried that this week. Anyway, I’m crying again….

    I WANTED TO SAY that I remember 9/11 9 years ago…. you guys were the first people I called at home (aside from my mom of course). I woke you up and I was crying b/c I watched it happen LIVE on tv…. and you kept telling me “it’s okay, it’s okay, calm down” and then you turned on your tv and then I just heard silence. It’s funny how every single moment from one day so many years ago can be ingrained in a memory…..

  3. September 11, 2009 12:52 am

    9/11/01 will likely be a legacy for many generations of Americans – and perhaps in time become legend also.

    It will and has affected far more than just Americans however, and the death continues without signs of abating 8 years later. Americans, British Aussies and others as well as ‘the enemy’.

    the legacy will be mostly written by the ‘side’ that was attacked on that day while the reason behind the attack or why it was deemed ‘necessary’ to happen in the first place will likely never be well known or discussed – passed on to future generations.

    The lessons of that day are indeed tragically sad ones.

    To me the sadness continues today and the lessons to be learned still remain, while old behaviours do also.

    Some changes for the better may have occured, or are now occuring.

    More could be done.

    As for my ‘legacy’?

    i think it would be (today) what i would like written on my Headstone:

    “Lived to better know God
    – could well have achieved more.
    Time is short…

    But it’s never too late to start.”

    <B

  4. September 11, 2009 6:18 am

    i remember as a little girl, listening to one of my teachers describe how she felt, where she was when president kennedy was assassinated. i could tell then that the memory was heavy in her mind, but i didn’t fully understand. now i do. i plan on telling my children and my grandchildren about this event and the lessons (like the one in your post) i learned (and still am learning) from that day.

    i hope that the mark i leave would be one of love, passion and compassion. that people would know that i loved the Lord fully, would have done anything for the amazing husband i had, that i gave my time, efforts and heart willingly to the amazing youth in my community, and that i saught fervently after the passion of my life, to make a difference in the lives of those who i’d never reach in a church.

    i want to bring honor to my Father’s name. i hope i make Him proud.

  5. September 11, 2009 6:24 am

    Tam, what a good word.

    Last night I was feeling really bummed about life in general (nothing big or permanent, just one of those days), and I happened to catch the tail-end of a movie. The characters were discussing how the most important thing in life is to be passionate about something, and one guy said to the other, “Look at you! You’re so passionate about this that you’re a jacka$$! I want to be a jacka$$!”

    That’s not really how I’d put it. But the point is still valid. I want to be so passionate about living my life for the Lord that I seem not-normal, not-ordinary, not-complacent. You know?!?!

  6. September 11, 2009 7:44 am

    Thank you for this Tam. Wonderful reminder. Today, I’m gonna…live. This year this day is really making an impact on me and not sure why. I’m learning how to live in this moment and enjoy the here and the now, God has tomorrow under control. If I’m not here to live it, tonight when i go to sleep, I will be able to say, I lived today to the fullest, I lived it for Him.

  7. September 11, 2009 10:38 am

    You have a blog who knew.. Ok my fault for not being around that much lately. I hope you forgive me…. 😦 😉

    I posted this as my status on face book..

    ————

    Regardless of your view of the world we live in. Life changed 8 years ago today. We can not go back in time to the way it was before. We can only learn from past mistakes and failures, and move forward. How we choose to look at past mistakes and failures defines how others see us in the present, and shapes the direction of our future.

    (With this as a comment)

    I do not ask you to like or unlike my status. Just take a second to look around at your life and ask one question. Am I making a difference more in this moment than I did in the last moment? That is all… Peace to all on this day of remembrance.
    ————-
    That is it…. What difference have I made? I won’t be satisfied with anything left..

  8. September 11, 2009 10:53 am

    I have a friend who worked in the towers and lived. He had left the building after the first plane hit and decided because of the crowds heading back up to their offices, he would head to grab some food down the street. He watched as the building collapsed. What he will tell you he remembers most is walking home that night through a part of town you usually would not walk. A gang member approached him and offered him a bottle of water because he was covered in the dust of the buildings. He asked the gang member why? He also asked the gang member if this would have been the day before would he have robbed him. The gang member said “no”, “yesterday I would have killed you then robbed you”.
    I hate why this story came about but at the same time love what it shows. I will never forget it especially the way my friend tells it.

    Life is crazy fragile.

    All of this to say, I hope I can leave a message like the gang member did. One of a needed gift to someone or many, even when my life is far from perfect.

    • Maryanne permalink
      September 11, 2009 1:29 pm

      I am crying from this story, and I don’t think I can add anything else, except to say thank you for sharing it. I know it isn’t your personal story, but it effected me in a way I really needed today. So thank you. God bless your friend.

      • September 11, 2009 1:49 pm

        This story pops into my head a lot. There is a ton more to it as well, some parts funny and others crazy scary. My friend for example, had just purchased his first car ever. A new BMW 7 series and it was the first time he had driven it to work and it was in the lower parking. He still will tell you how ticked he is about the car. Hasn’t purchased another one. There is a lot more to the gang member as well like the fact that he stole the case of water to give it out to people fleeing the scene.
        Someday, if I open up my blog again, I will write it.

    • September 11, 2009 1:29 pm

      i have chills…

  9. September 11, 2009 1:37 pm

    like brandon… i could really care less about what the world thinks of me… but if i were to die today, i would want my husband and sons to know i loved them with everything i had. though i’ve lived a life full of mistakes and failures, the one thing i did right was marrying brian and having my kids.

    i would want my legacy to be this: a woman who loved the lord with reckless abandon… and though i was FAR from perfect, i always sought truth, forgiveness and restoration in the end. the “amazing grace” that saved a wretch like me can also save you.

  10. September 11, 2009 1:58 pm

    I’m a gardener….I plant seeds in the fields of life. God makes them grow…..all I do is live.
    My family and friends would remember what I’m all about…..as for the rest…..i don’t want credit for nuthin…..celebrate that you’re still living and that I’m with our Daddy!

  11. September 11, 2009 6:05 pm

    9/11 – was working that day – went to the snack bar at work and watched the happenings live on the TV. Our lives are so fragile – yet God wants us as tools for the Kingdom. I had fellowship with Him today, He wants us to do that – and share that with others.

  12. September 14, 2009 5:42 pm

    Great post Tam!

Trackbacks

  1. c o l o r a t u r a ♥ d i v a

Leave a Reply

