Skip to content

ALERT…

September 22, 2009

may waist is missing!

if you find it, please return it to me ASAP!

are any of you getting older? are any of you getting older and feeling changes in, and seeing changes on, your body on a daily basis???

cuz i am. im learning how to embrace them and not complain about it. but still, it kinda takes my breath with each new finding.

ive always heard “with age comes wisdom”. i think thats real sweet of wisdom to come along and try to take the place of collagen and elasticity. fill in the gap. good effort!

😕

but seriously… what changes have you seen, or found most disturbing, as youve aged?

what have you enjoyed about the aging process?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    September 22, 2009 11:51 am

    The common ones, grey hairs and the boob (breastas, my 8yr old word) sags, Oh the memory losses too and the constant peeing in the night.

    But just not long ago, I noticed a little goutee of 4 hairs on my chin. I have 2 blond hairs, 1 black, and 1 grey. pluck!

    Very disturbing.

  2. Heidi permalink
    September 22, 2009 11:55 am

    Oops.. What I enjoy. That I tend to enjoy life a lot more. I hold onto people longer for that hug or watch those kids on the playground alot more, sunsets, the fresh smell of cookies in the oven.

  3. September 22, 2009 12:16 pm

    Been battling this weight issue all of my adult life and definitely notice the pounds do NOT come off as easy nowadays! And when they do come off, the skin doesn’t shrink like it used to. Too many years of stretching and shrinking…..it finally said, “dude, since you can’t make up your mind on fat or thin, I’m just gonna hang here and wait for ya to get fat again.”

    Yes, I have conversations with my skin….what about it?!

    😀

  4. Ken permalink
    September 22, 2009 12:17 pm

    Hey Sis, we were just having this conversation last night. I am about to be 42 and I have noticed a few new things. I wont gop into any details but things are definitely different.

    I have enjoyed getting older because my children are growing and I have mellowed with age. I appreciate things more and I really know I am blessed.

    I like the tidbits you write and again I am glad you are back in my life.

    I miss you

    • September 22, 2009 10:00 pm

      im glad too, ken!

      42??? i forget youre older than me. cool, i feel much better now 😉

      we’re definitely gonna have to try to find a way to visit soon! would LOVE to see you and the kids.

      love ya!

  5. September 22, 2009 12:20 pm

    You really shouldn’t title a post “Alert” when your valley was/is on fire…

    So, to answer your question: Drew and I have started eating dinner between 5 & 6. wow… Like a bunch of old fogies.

    • September 22, 2009 8:36 pm

      And you’re going to be so much closer to Florida and retirement now!

      Just sayin’ 😉

      Fire???? 😯

      <B

    • September 22, 2009 10:01 pm

      mandy, i didnt even think about the title. good catch!

      and oh my stars! you cant even find anything wrong so you share about your eating habits.

      ay yi yi.

  6. September 22, 2009 1:14 pm

    Lost my hair although I do enjoy not having it because it makes showering much easier….no bed head either 🙂

  7. September 22, 2009 1:41 pm

    I agree with mandy….dont title that “alert”…kthx.

    I am 23….ummmm….so i mean the differences are like i dont lose weight as quickly or easily as when i was 17. and that sucks! But i dont complain, cause i am the only one that can change that.

    But i like the fact that i can order a drink….well, i mean i have other people order them cause i have no clue what to drink…but i like getting carded.

  8. September 22, 2009 6:52 pm

    I’ve been on the process of joining the grey army since I was 16, so I’ve come to terms with that hair colouration routine quite well… And no chance of baldness either.

    Weight has been an issue since I was a kid…though thankfully if I now slip into poor eating habits again I feel sick – which I’m guessing is kinda how I used to feel all the time before I lost 28% of my body mass 8 years ago. Have kept fairly steady since then, but I’d like to get rid of a bit more of it.

    I’m still hott though, so all is fine.

    What I enjoy most – apart from growing into marriage – has been the gradual baritoning of my voice. Conscious decison for sure, and it’s not deep by any stretch of the imagination, but way more versatile than it was when I was touring the world in choirs.

    • September 22, 2009 10:09 pm

      ya know…grey haired men are handsome. really!

      grey haired women are old.

      THAT is why i color mine.

      i think its fantastic that you lost that weight and have kept it off! im totally proud of you for that 🙂

      • September 22, 2009 10:30 pm

        Still, grey haired men in their mid-30s generally look a few years older than they are, handsome or otherwise.

        And since most people tend to think I’m still in my 20s, I’m not quite ready to take a 15 year jump.

        Maybe when we have kids I’ll reorganise my priorities 🙂

        • September 22, 2009 10:33 pm

          psh. i have kids and i still color my hair. that IS my priority.

          yes. im THAT shallow mom.

          • September 22, 2009 11:04 pm

            Yeah, but metroness aside, I am a guy and likely will leave the ongoing colouration for Diane to enjoy.

            Unless she want to keep colouring mine as therapy or something.

            I’d have to lose my fringe if I let the grey grow out

  9. September 22, 2009 8:48 pm

    Most people find that just as Wisdom starts coming along with age their memory decides to take a long vacation rendering the ability to recall the Wisdom null-and-void. 😦

    i find age tends to slow you down a little – you are less able to rush about doing stupid spur of the moment things – but some also become quick to jump to conclusions instead – and slow to see someone else’s differing point of view.

    age can ‘fix’ some people – makes them more rigid than they used to be – sometimes though they see that what was once ‘vital’ and inviolable to them is not really as important as they once thought and there is more than one valid perspective on some issues.

    enjoyed about aging?

    having more to look back on and see all the many learning experiences with the ‘wisdom’ of hindsight.

    i did not think so at the times – but i have had a few very good learning opportunities – all i have to do is recognise them for what they are.

    if i can learn to appreicate them as that at the time of the pain they cause i might actually learn to live a happy life – and a Christian one. 🙂

    <B

  10. September 22, 2009 8:50 pm

    and i feel it….

    yep… it’s definitely a possibility… 🙂

    <B

  11. September 22, 2009 8:52 pm

    Comment TAKE-OVER!!!!! 😀

    Yayyyyyy.

    <B

    • September 22, 2009 10:11 pm

      awwww, did i mess up all your fun here???

      sooooo sorry, dontcha ya know.

      😀

  12. September 23, 2009 1:39 am

    I think my eyes are going! I’m still holding out though.

    I’m enjoying not stressing out about the stuff I used to early on in marriage & enjoying watching a couple of my daughters fall in love! Oh & the fact that my #2 daughter’s friends keep telling her how cool & funny I am! ha

  13. September 23, 2009 10:33 am

    Unfortunately I found my waist and it brought a friend for the ride 😦

  14. September 24, 2009 4:34 am

    I like getting older – experiencing all that we have. I know that I squandered so much when I was younger…but hopefully as we are getting older, I am taking the days as they come and squeezing every single gift and joy out of them. Cheesy, I know…but still.

Leave a Reply

