Skip to content

i miss blogging

September 22, 2009

do you have lots of free time? when do you blog? where do you find the time to set aside to visit others blogs?

im sure we’ve had this conversation before – but i just have to ask again.

i absolutely love blogging and i love twitter! im just finding i have less and less time to do so. and i very much miss it. i miss you!

normally, i do not blog on the weekends…saturday and sunday. but now with our kids’ schools going to 4 day weeks, i no longer blog on mondays either. so…that gives me tuesday, wednesday and thursday. i make attempts to stay away on fridays because that is brents day off. we like to try and focus on down time, which sometimes includes social media πŸ˜‰ , otherwise we’re running around town and just hanging out with each other.

alrighty then…that gives me tue, wed and thur to reconnect with all of you. which i so want to do! i also must use those days to write for my book as well.

so…any ideas? how do you do it?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 1:02 am

    The feeling is mutual – blogging, i’m sure, misses you. πŸ˜‰ (Some parts maybe more than others, possibly?)

    we’ve already covered my thoughts on the subject so i’d just be repeating myself – and who has time for that? πŸ™‚

    i do have a sneaking feeling though that your ‘solution’ is going to require some of that discipline thingy and time management that you love so much!

    Maybe think of everyone else’s blogs as your ‘other kids’ and see how you go? πŸ™‚

    <B

  2. September 22, 2009 2:44 am

    I usually will have days where I blog 5 or 6 posts and schedule them throughout the week. On the rare occasion that doesn’t happen, I will blog when the kids go to bed and schedule it for the morning. I can’t remember the last time I typed a post and clicked “publish”.
    I’ll go through the “reader” when I get the kids off to school and Eli fed and probably go through it again after I’m done with homework….1-2am. I’m not a big fan of sleep and usually survive on 4-5 hours a day, so I have a bit more time than most.
    No blogging on weekends here either. I’ve done a few Saturday posts, but not in awhile.
    As for twitter…..most people seem to think I’m on all day, but the iPhone just makes it appear that way……I’m always connected :-).

    • September 22, 2009 7:59 am

      i actually stopped using my reader. i had too many blogs in there and it would add up way too fast. became more of an obligation and stress to get it to zero. the joy got sucked right out of it. so, im currently trying to come up with another solution for that…

      and, YOU, are a dynamo dad.

    • September 22, 2009 8:04 am

      oh. and the same for me with people thinking im always on twitter. i just always have my phone on me. it is very convenient. but sometimes overwhelming too. balance. dang, balance.

      • September 22, 2009 8:22 pm

        AND time management! πŸ˜€

        i saw a VERY interesting program recently concerning people on a diet. They were asked to record everything they ate in terms of calories for one week as soon as they ate it and then for the next week record them three times each day ( recording ALL they ate since the last recording). This was compared to their enzyme count in their blood stream which determined the amount of calories they had actually consumed.

        It was found that in both cases the person under-reported what they actually ate – in some cases by over 50%.

        Basically what it proved was people think they are actually better than they really are when doing something they probably should not be, and also that the Fat in your body does not ‘lie’ – while your brain does in what it tells you you are actually doing.

        The time ‘we’ spend reading, thinking about and replying to tweets is likely to be quite a lot more than we think. – Even if we speed read and type at hyper-text speed πŸ™‚

        <B

  3. September 22, 2009 3:11 am

    It is incredibly tough to find time to do it all. Inspiration always hits me when I don’t have time to write it down. Then when I do, I am blank. Ugh! I have missed blogging and twittering as much lately too. Just SO much going on. And every time I turn around, there is something else. Sigh. Hope the book is coming along nicely!

    • September 22, 2009 8:01 am

      “Inspiration always hits me when I don’t have time to write it down. Then when I do, I am blank. Ugh!”

      me too!! tho, i have started writing an opening sentence or title in my notes app on my phone when an idea comes and i dont have the time to break out my puter. that helps a bit. especially if i remember i did that 😯

  4. September 22, 2009 3:39 am

    Yeah I agree… I have attempted to restart after a hiatus myself …. just time and schedules and responsibilities and …. Oh man! I love it, though, so I won’t be giving it up. Someone will have to pluck the keyboard from my cold hands when I go to meet Jesus πŸ˜‰ Or can I carry a laptop with me?????? hmmmmmmm……

    • September 22, 2009 8:02 am

      haha! i cant see you ever quitting blogging! whats that about …. hell freezing over….or, sumpin? πŸ˜‰

  5. September 22, 2009 5:49 am

    As Toby said, sleep is seriously overrated… πŸ˜‰

    I’ve essentially given away blogging, but I post things I’m passionate about – even if no-one else is.

    I also enjoy visiting other blogs more than writing posts, I write songs much better than I write blog posts, and with recording the album, some things had to go.

    It was an easy decision to minimist the blogging, but a v.hard decision to stop writing/recording my personal music. Even if it is just on hiatus though while I concentrate on congregational music for this album.

    • September 22, 2009 8:02 am

      its so cool youre doing an album. how fun! it is fun, right? when will it be completed?

      • September 22, 2009 6:28 pm

        Yep, it’s fun – makes for loooong Saturdays and means I don’t really have any time off regularly, but tis only for a season.

        It should be released in time for Christmas. Lots of work to do on it in the meantime.

        Amongst other things…

      • September 22, 2009 6:29 pm

        Yep, it’s fun – makes for loooong Saturdays and means I don’t really have any time off regularly, but tis only for a season.

        It should be released in time for Christmas. Lots of work to do on it in the meantime.

        Amongst other things…

        πŸ˜€

      • September 22, 2009 6:30 pm

        Woh, that was weird…double post…one with a grin….

        hmmmm

        • September 22, 2009 8:30 pm

          As you said D – blogging may be for a season – or one that comes round once or more a year. You don’t have to be tied down to it every single day – people (other blogers) will adapt to your personal ‘style’ – and also our style is always able to change in some subtle ways (and occaisionaly some not-so-subtle ones) it is never to be ‘written in stone’ since it reflects who we are and we don’t have hearts of stone now – do we? πŸ™‚

          <B

  6. September 22, 2009 5:56 am

    When in doubt, redesign and fall in love with your blog again….works for me

    • September 22, 2009 8:05 am

      i am going self-hosted soon. i have my url but havent found the perfect template yet. im anxious to get that rolling!

  7. September 22, 2009 6:24 am

    I find it very hard to sit down and actually write….but i have time carved out in my mornings and afternoons for reading others blogs and catch up on twitter. I have found that if i give 45 mins in the morning and 45 mins in the afternoon before i go home for the day i can catch up…usually in the afternoon i write….if i have something. You can see how inspired i am on what i post….if i dont have anything i post videos and just random small questions.

    But i do agree with Vince, each time i get too bored and go a week without i will think about what i can change…it helps me want to post.

    eh, i think it boils down to what works for you. and i dont think we will stop coming around if you miss a day or two. just sayin.

    • September 22, 2009 8:07 am

      i usually get inspired late at night. and sometimes…thats not always convenient. one week, awhile back, i had written 5 posts in one evening and scheduled them all for that week. it felt so good! that would be the best if that could always occur πŸ˜•

      and i love your posts. whether theyre words or videos…theyre always…you. and i kinda like you!

      • September 22, 2009 8:39 am

        Ya. For a while I would try and pound a week out at a time but I can’t always do that becuase well I am not always inspired on Mondays. :/

        But thanks. I only post things that make me laugh, so I guess those would be me. Haha.

  8. September 22, 2009 9:56 am

    sporadically.

    i got nothing for you.

  9. Heidi permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:04 am

    I am early morning writer. I love to sit on my porch and write with a cup of tea(like today’s post) and my quilt or a long strand of beach.

    But tho I find myself writing when I am doing the dishes. bizarre.

    I love to blog, but I am getting more sporadic, life is happening so fast right now.

    BUT…. I’ve learned something very early on with blogging, about the same time as my stroke in 07, Some blogs and bloggers are for the entertainment factor, or they might be a great ministry resource.

    But some oh my God some…. become family and very close. So we don’t need the blog to commuincate with because we invest our lives in the heart of that blogger. We end up talking and talking and talking.

    I am so glad that I have a few of those. Because they encourage me to write and open my heart, and be transparent even more.

    • September 22, 2009 9:56 pm

      your writing moments sound perfect! i love it, heidi!

      i absolutely love the friendships blogging has afforded me. i cant imagine my days not knowing you. nope. i love you, friend!

  10. September 22, 2009 10:56 am

    I really had to come to grips with my time off that I don’t have to blog every day. And that was the key to me. Less posts maybe but more fun writing them.

    Also, as for reading…I set up the Google Reader. If it does not seem like something I am really going to get into, I skip over it until later or don’t read. Sounds rough, but I find I still visit my favorites like your site and some others quite a bit.

    • September 22, 2009 9:57 pm

      do you find you delete a lot of things in your reader? thats what i found i was doing.

      i know ive said it before…but im glad youre back πŸ˜‰

  11. October 2, 2009 6:50 pm

    i miss time/energy/mental-and-emotional-capacity for blogging….

Leave a Reply

