Skip to content

dreams

September 28, 2009

i was thinking today about things i dreamed about when i was a little girl. i used to daydream all the time of being a mommy. i knew thats what i wanted. i even knew i wanted one boy & one girl. im a mama of a boy and a girl today.

i used to listen to songs and write the lyrics down and keep them in a binder and dream of writing my own songs some day. i write worship songs today. on a very small, simple scale, really. but we sing some at church and kass, my daughter, sings some when she leads worship as well.

i always dreamed of making people laugh. every daydream that included other people, there was laughter. and today i find myself in the company of fabulous people, daily, where laughter abounds.

simple, small dreams…but dreams that became reality. dreams that are being lived out that fill in the canvas of my life. dreams that have become a part of something bigger than me…a part of other people.

small dreams that never died…

did you have dreams that stayed alive?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 1:13 am

    i had one dream that stayed alive for about 24 years and eventually came ‘true’.

    Within a fairly short space of time it had turned into a nightmare in reality.

    I guess i did not put enough of the right kind of thought/feeling into the original dream?

    and yes – it concerned ‘love’.

    lesson learned.

    Other than that – none that i can think of.

    Considering the start to life you had i feel you are incredibly lucky to have those dreams come true finally – i wonder if there is any connection between the amount one suffers in life and how much one is given in reward for it?

    Or does it only happen ‘sometimes’?

    <B

  2. September 29, 2009 6:30 am

    mmm yes. I always knew I wanted to be a mom and a wife. The have a family. Those were the biggest, and I have them.

    Trivial ones…. I always thought in highschool that I wanted a big truck. Have one. I always knew I wanted a big trailer to go camping in because I am soooo not a tent camper. Have one.

    Overall my life is exactly what I thought it would be, but the small details are different. Some details I don’t much appreciate, nor did I ever even think they would be a part of my life, a part of life at all in any scenario. I wish I had thought about those ahead of time, put into my dreams that I didn’t want them at all…. maybe it would be different. But then I realize that with the bad, comes the good, and my good dreams that I am living now are worth all of it. 😉

    Even still I look at my life in amazement at the fact that my biggest dreams DID come true.

  3. September 29, 2009 10:00 am

    Beautiful post today, Tam. I love your simple, heartfelt way of communicating.

    My dream- to be a Mommy and get to stay-at-home with my children. My everyday is about them-loving them, playing with them, watching them grow and learn.

    Another- to be a homemaker. I know that is an ole’ fashioned term, but I love the joys having a home and opening it up to others- to come for supper or play cards.

    Most days I am living my dream and lovin’ it.

  4. September 29, 2009 11:16 am

    Most of my day dreams as a child where fantasies.

    Living as a monk on some remote island. I do live by myself, but not as a monk, and I enjoy the company of my friends. I am still by nature more of a loner.

    Being powerful and destroying anyone who tries to hurt me. I have never been powerful, and I have learned to control my confrontational nature. I have found the peace I dreamed of, but it was by making friends, not fighting people.

    Becoming a star,with thousands of adoring fans. That is something I still fantasizes about. 🙂

    I never dreamed of being a bank auditor, which is what I became. 🙂

  5. September 29, 2009 12:20 pm

    Don’t laugh.

    I always wanted to be a hot dog man. I had it all worked out (at about 6 years old) – the price of bread and sausages from the local store, and what colour I wanted to paint my van.

    I also thought the ice cream man lived in his van though, so perhaps my ideas weren’t that great back then 🙂

  6. September 29, 2009 2:41 pm

    about 3 months ago i realized that i am not doing anything that i dreamed about doing when i was young….nor was i doing anything that was going to get me to my dreams….so i am in a season of being very intentional about lining my life up with what my dreams are and what i feel like i am called to do.

  7. September 29, 2009 3:06 pm

    Most of the dreams that I had growing up were the standard “rockstar” variety stuff. But one day my mom made a comment that she saw me affecting people by speaking and teaching.

    Didn’t think anything of it at the time. Pursued lots of other roads.

    And now I find myself as a pastor, hopefully affecting people. By teaching and speaking.

    Mom turned out to be pretty smart.

  8. October 1, 2009 8:39 am

    I always dreamed of having a big family (Check)
    Of being a rockstar (not so much any more)
    Having a motorcycle (Check)
    Surfing (kind of check)

  9. October 2, 2009 5:38 pm

    to live in africa…
    to write…
    to have deep, authentic friendships…

Leave a Reply

