Skip to content

Crazy Love – A Chapter Review

September 29, 2009

while on vacation in august i received a direct message on twitter from angela smith. if you dont know who angie is, go here. anyhoo…she asked if id be willing to be a part of a book club that her and jessica turner were putting together. for those of you who dont know…jessica is matthew paul turners waaaay better, hotter half πŸ˜‰ so, i agreed to write my thoughts on one of the chapters from francis chans book crazy love. and here are my thoughts on chapter 3, titled – crazy love…

(and i used capitals and punctuations πŸ™‚ )

****************************************************************************

I am thoroughly loving Crazy Love! Francis Chan starts out this chapter by talking about his father. I was immediately gripped by this statement…

dad and DAD

“The concept of being wanted by my father was foreign to me.”

I, all too well, know what that feeling is like. After I read that I was overwhelmed by the amount of children and adults who carry that concept around with them. (side note: fathers…your role & presence in your child’s life is crucial & will have lasting effects on them)

Chans view of God was directly affected by his relationship with his own dad. He didn’t want to bother God or annoy Him.

Although my relationship with my father was incredibly strained, it had no affect on my relationship with God my Father. I found that comparison interesting. Until I realized, Chan had grown up learning about God. He was taught about Gods limitless and unconditional love. That must have been difficult for him to wrap his head around when compared to his relationship with his earthly father. I can see how his view of God would be tainted in light of that.

Me, on the other hand, did not learn of God til I was in my late teens. So, I did not grow up measuring one against the other, only to be left with a distorted view. Oddly, that leaves me very grateful for my late introduction to the Lord.

I wonder if this is true with others.

In Love with the One I Fear

I love this section of chapter 3. Chan speaks to something I struggled with for years! “Quiet Times”. He says…

“Jesus didn’t command that we have a regular time with Him each day. Rather, He tells us to, “love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.”

This truth should leave us, by default, in near constant connection and conversation with the Lord.

1 Thess 5: 16-17 Be joyful always; pray continually”

This should naturally move us from a gnawing feeling of obligation to a realization that it is our treasured gift to be in His presence at any time. I eventually learned through the years that God is not an appointment to be kept but rather a privilege to behold. However, this is something I still have to work on every day.

Wanted

This section got me real good. Okay, all the sections did.

This was where I really began identifying with the whole father vs. Father concept. Having been abandoned by my own dad, the word “wanted” in relation to God did resonate in me. Then Chan said something I wish I would have heard, or found on my own, long ago when I struggled with feeling “unwanted”…

“…we were created to “do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” (Eph 2:10) …. My existence was not random nor was it an accident. God knew who He was creating, and he designed me for a specific work.”

Wow. If I, or any of us, were unwanted – why would God create me, us, for a specific purpose? Yet, we doubt, don’t we? We question our abilities and qualifications and even our worth. But God’s words here, and plan, prove otherwise. I absolutely love this!

Chan goes on to use Jeremiah as an example. Jeremiah was in doubt, feeling he could not speak to the nations – he was only a child. To which God responds by reaching down to touch His lips, affirming that He has equipped Jeremiah with what he needed according to His plan.

He has touched us! He has supplied absolutely everything we need to fulfill His work, the work He has created us for. I had to ask myself after reading this…have I even come close to tapping in to that provision? Have you?

A Strange Inheritance

Chan has a great way of making huge points while not even writing a lot. This section is the shortest in the chapter and he wasted no time shooting from the hip.

Did you know we are God’s inheritance? (Ephesians 1:18) MmmHmm. We are God’s inheritance. I, being the conditional-fallible-judgmental human being that I am, would instantly think – “what a cruel joke!” They’re My inheritance? Can’t I have a time share in Bali instead?

But He didn’t respond that way. He sees us as glorious. Glorious! I wonder if we viewed ourselves the same way He views us if we would live differently for God?

Do I Have A Choice?

A college student once asked Chan, “Why would a loving God force me to love Him?” While Chan did not have an answer for that student at the time – he eventually concluded this…

“…if God is truly the greatest good on this earth, would He be loving us if He didn’t draw us toward what is best for us (even if that happens to be Himself)? Doesn’t His courting, luring, pushing, calling, and even “threatening” demonstrate His love? If He didn’t do all of that, wouldn’t we accuse Him of being unloving in the end, when all things are revealed?”

After reading that I immediately remembered hearing once that we want God to be our Savior, just not our Lord.

Chan appropriately asks, “Are we in love with God, or just His stuff?”

I confess…I love the warm fuzzies of love. But with love comes sacrifice. With love comes revelation, things revealed that would be easier left unnoticed or unchanged. At least that’s what we try to convince ourselves of. But any love worth having is worth giving up ourselves for. Isn’t that what we try to do with our spouses, our children, our friends? How much more should we be drawn and compelled to love the Lover of our souls with a wild, passionate and Crazy Love?

~ i encourage you all to read this book for yourself if you havent already. you may get something completely different from it than ive shared here. so please, pick it up and read through it. you will not regret it.

~and also, stay connected to other chapter reviews from some fabulous people by visiting the bloom blog weekly.

chapter 1 review by pete wilson

chapter 2 review by matthew paul turner

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 5:31 am

    Thanks for writing this review in YOUR style. Giving us a glimpse of the chapter, but through your eyes – your reading glasses. I think you’ve made this section of “Crazy Love” come alive.
    And, of course, I needed to hear a lot of what you & Chan had to say.

    (And, also, thanks for the punctuation and all… πŸ˜‰ )

    • September 30, 2009 7:10 am

      I read through the whole thing before I realized that she DID use punctuation lololol …. AND capital letters…. The book MUST have had an impact rofl

    • September 30, 2009 5:43 pm

      thank you, friend!

  2. September 30, 2009 7:29 am

    So who is doing the review on the chapter about the lukewarm ‘Christian’? That one will be sure to create some interesting conversations.

  3. September 30, 2009 9:14 am

    thank you for this! jumped over here from the bloom site and i loved how you broke down each of the parts. this is my third time through the book and there is just soooo much there. i really am tired of reading “good” books and then not being changed. this time it’s going to be different. thanks again.

    • September 30, 2009 9:25 am

      thank you, sheryl.

      this is beyond a good book – and like you – i know there is change already taking place in me because of it. it really is a great read!

      thank you so much for stopping by and for your kind words!

  4. September 30, 2009 10:15 am

    appreciated what you wrote ~ thanks for taking the time to share.

    • September 30, 2009 5:44 pm

      it was my pleasure… thank you for taking time to read thru it!

  5. October 3, 2009 11:27 am

    Well, now…I just ‘happen’ to be studying this book in a Sunday School class, and just ‘happen’ to be on the exact same chapter this week, and just ‘happened’ to find Bloom and now your blog. Love how that happens!

    Thanks for a great break-down of the chapter. I feel like I will have some new points to bring into the discussion tomorrow at church.

    It is crazy to think that we are loved and wanted by God.

  6. October 3, 2009 2:14 pm

    i love those “just happened to” moments!

    πŸ™‚

    i truly do hope you were able to take something away from this. but it really is so hard to even add to Chans already amazing words.

    did you watch the vids from angie and jess? they did an incredible job reviewing this chapter!

  7. May 16, 2013 8:31 pm

    Take note that Edge – Rank, the Facebook News Feed optimization algorithm that determines what content or activities from your network is displayed on News feed, prefers visual content
    too. I am normally a pretty peaceful person with a “live and let live” nature; I can put
    myself in the other’s shoes quite eaily and automatically, and yet I found myself dealing with an instinctive desire to completely crush this person. Facebook gives you the ability to create your own badges directly on their website using badges.

  8. July 11, 2013 9:39 pm

    Would you like to save money by not hiring a wedding planner, but you feel overwhelmed
    by the thought of trying to organize, track and complete
    all the details and tasks by yourself. This suggests banks
    will be in a position to borrow cash from the central authority at low rates and subsequently, they
    are going to be able to offer low interest private loans.

    This is what you will need on hand to make eight medium eclairs with a chocolate glaze.

Leave a Reply

