Skip to content

question…

October 6, 2009

has your online life/persona changed the way you live off line?…change the way you interact with people offline? are they one in the same? are you two different people on/offline?

48 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 10:53 am

    Are you proud I am commenting? TWICE so far! Woo love my days off!

    HMMM…I can agree with that statement. Because online world has presented more fellowship oppurtunities with people I may never know had it not been for online world…and because of that, my friends in the real world, because I never had many close people around me anyway, it helps me tolerate them more. I figure it doesn’t matter if they don’t see me for me, or that they can agree with what I do or say…I have a community of people online that totally understand me.

    I love that.

    Twitter is a place of shelter even though the world sees what we say…its a place where we can just let our personalities come through in 140 characters…

    Blogworld is a place of comfort, you can write whats on your mind however long it may be, or whatever it may be about, and people can choose to comment or not, either way, it doesn’t matter…you still have your place, no one can take your words off the screen.

    I love that too.

    • October 6, 2009 10:56 am

      are you able to share things offline, the same way you do online?

      and hey! two in a row – nice! πŸ˜‰

  2. October 6, 2009 11:07 am

    yep. im one and the same. in fact my friends say im crazier offline than i am online =p

    • October 6, 2009 1:25 pm

      i totally figured that with you! which makes me wanta meet you even more πŸ™‚

  3. October 6, 2009 11:19 am

    Hmm…for the most part, yes. But DM is a beautiful thing.

  4. October 6, 2009 11:21 am

    oops, I answered it wrong!

    OKAY…

    I am better in sharing things offline now the same as online, because of the fellowship online.

    Some of these people, are like my lifeline:) so they go with me away from the computer.

  5. Heidi permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:28 am

    This is a Huge question among questions.

    Am I the same? I am probably am to a point. I am fierce about relationships no matter online or offline. But here’s the catcher.

    Since I spill my guts out time or time in Twitter or My blog, I am more reserved now. I take caution like I never have had before. It like kicked in a year ago. Now I don’t feel the need to blog or Twitter. Or maybe when the “trainwreck of deep” comes about me that I would used to blog about I now tend to do less. Yeah, I lost an audience, but I know my heart is safe. Does that make sense?

    I have lots of friends because of my amiable personality here in SD, but I only have 2 or so really deep friends. Ones, who know my real situation and love me the same.

    It’s hard to be a ministry leader and have “garbage” online or offline because of vast judgements and sterotypes. I’d prefer to be Heidi amongst the people I share my heart with, if they are friends from afar I met online and never physical, or the two I know who holds my confidence/love/ my heart and sometimes even in my brokeness.

    I am fine with that.. Because in the admidst of those times God walks in.

    And simply that’s all I want is Him.

    • October 6, 2009 1:27 pm

      and i love you for being exactly who you are. you have taught me a lot, sis!

      • Heidi permalink
        October 6, 2009 1:39 pm

        NO… you have taught me.

        I love you too… cannot wait to hear your voice soon

  6. October 6, 2009 11:46 am

    Am I the same offline and online? Yeah… personality wise. But I express myself much easier with words than when I talk, so I’m freer online. Even with talking on the phone… I find that I sometimes struggle to find words to say when I’m talking with people I really care about, but when I’m online with them we flow so much easier!

    Of course, it doesn’t always work out like that; I have some good friends that I can talk to at any time online or off, but there are definitely those who I find it easier to chat with online than in person……

    Has it changed me? hmmm … good question…. I have been changed by God through the relationships I’ve formed online! That’s the best answer lol

    I personally hate false people, so I live by the WYSIWYG (What you see is what you get!) principle – As we’d say in Barbados – look muh hey! (look me here / Look, I’m here – the translation lololol)

    • October 6, 2009 1:27 pm

      “look muh hey!” is a must use phrase for me today!

      πŸ˜€

      • October 7, 2009 7:21 am

        LOL I’ll have to call you for u to get the pronounciation right πŸ˜†

  7. October 6, 2009 11:52 am

    i am learning to be one in the same. i feel like my online has always been truer to who i am….or think i am and my real life is what i think the others around me whether it be my employer, husband, parents….etc i was living in the way that i thought…but neglected to be truly me.

    that is a good question and a good reminder that integrity means your life lines up in every aspect…and now i guess that means online and offline

    • October 6, 2009 1:30 pm

      i have learned that i dont say half the things on line as i do off line. and i think that is weird. mostly on twitter tho. and i dont know why.

      you hit it, tho…integrity. integrity builds credibility and trust. something im sure we can all work on.

      your avi makes me happy.

      • October 6, 2009 3:17 pm

        You’re life makes me happy.

        i am glad…too many people told me that my old avi made everyone think that my puppy just got run over by a car. so i changed it….the more happy Lynse….on the topic of integrity. ha!

  8. October 6, 2009 12:46 pm

    I’ve heard all of my life that I “look” like a mean person. It’s just the way I look….used to be how I was. So, I’m often misunderstood. If you think I look mean, if I happen to say something edgy, I automatically fit the bill.
    Same online….often misread, but I don’t care much for talking in circles….it is how it is and that’s how I say/type it.
    I am me…..here, home, twitter, blog….Some will read this comment and judge who I am…..can’t concern myself with that :-).
    I love ya’all….truly….That’s who I am.

    • October 6, 2009 1:33 pm

      thank you, thank you, thank you!

      ive always been able to see you as comfy in your skin. and i admire that a great deal. and heres the thing with you…ive not found you to be “mean” once. because youve put yourself out there for us, we have learned who you are – and it would be odd if you were being nasty just for the sake of being nasty. youre just confident. not cocky – you just know who you are.

  9. October 6, 2009 1:36 pm

    Tam…I think I’d like you if I really knew you LOL:)

  10. October 6, 2009 3:23 pm

    I am NOT able to share offline like I do online… but that doesn’t mean I’m not the real me online either. Offline I get tongue tied, I don’t have as long to think through my responses so they may not always be what my heart really wants to convery, and I get nervous… afraid to say something. But online, none of those things stand in my way. Sometimes I still get nervous, but I have time to build up to it and I don’t have to see a persons face when they hear/read what I have to say. That makes it easier. I feel more authentic online than I do in real life. I was just told recently by a friend here that she was sorry for judging me in a bad way…. by watching me she had thought that I was stuck up and that I thought I was better than everyone else. She spent a weekend with me at the convention in Nashville and got to see the REAL me…. and felt convicted to tell me how sorry she was. My life right now doesn’t allow me a lot of one-on-one face-to-face time with people…. so I don’t get to warm up to show the real me. Online though, I don’t feel the need to “warm up” as much.

    If you haven’t noticed, I’ve shut down my blog for now too…. I was putting a LOT of stock and self worth into how well my blog was doing… and I realized that was unhealthy, so I shut it down. I wasn’t posting at all and it was making me feel lousy about myself… like I was failing. So, I closed it. Until I can use it in a healthy way again, as an outlet instead of as a way I view myself, it will stay shut down. And right now in my life, I’m not at a place where I want to share things publicly. πŸ˜‰

    I think I answered all those questions. πŸ˜†

    • Heidi permalink
      October 6, 2009 3:26 pm

      I love Bran anyway I can get her.
      She inspires me. ALOT!!
      Love her!

      • October 6, 2009 3:29 pm

        awww, well aren’t you sweet! AND QUICK! πŸ˜‰ Love you too friend.

    • October 6, 2009 3:30 pm

      I just read through this again and I give the impression that I am quiet and shy in person…. which I am not. But I do have a hard time being serious and speaking from the heart in person. πŸ˜‰

  11. October 6, 2009 3:28 pm

    Oh hey, also… when I MET ALECE (!!!!) we were talking about YOU at one point. Yes, you. I told her that you are more outgoing on here than you are in real life… but that you were still the same. For those that are close to you and really know you, you are the same, but if someone were to see you in a crowd or meet you for the first time… you are more quiet initially. Does that make sense? She asked me “so is she not the real her online?” and I said “no she IS the real her online, but it’s the real her that you don’t get to “meet” until you know her for a while in person….make sense?” Luckily it did! πŸ˜†

    I think online communities break down those walls much faster than we are able to do in real life. πŸ˜‰

    • October 6, 2009 3:31 pm

      funny! cuz i actually think that part of me has changed. and it did so because of being online. but…you were right. i did used to be that way. more of a “spectator” at first, for sure. yah, you nailed me. but now…its all me from the get-go πŸ˜€

      • October 6, 2009 3:46 pm

        Yes, I think that I haven’t spent much time with you one on one since you started the blog…. which is weird since I LIVED there for the first part of it. πŸ˜‰ I was drawing from 10 year old memories! πŸ˜† Oh dear….

  12. October 6, 2009 3:35 pm

    I know I would love you Brandy if I met you in person, cause you seem like and I totally mean this as a compliment bc I am referring to myself…a big goofball! I don’t think the world would be ready for us to be in the same room…for realz!

    Anyway, I think I would see that about Tam too…she is quiet, and Cathi is SO not, but actually on the phone she is about mid crazy, mid calm…
    and Bran, I understand your blog issue…and you DO have an interesting life that could be its own story:) You should keep up on twitter though, that’s not as hard as a computer:)
    I hopefully will get to meet Mandy someday soon…as I am moving near her:) in GA! ya baby!

    Yea, there you go for random Tam:)

    • October 6, 2009 3:37 pm

      ha! you would LOVE brandy, for sure! shes hard not to love. i mean, she forces you. really.

    • October 6, 2009 3:48 pm

      I ONLY do computer for everything. Including twitter. πŸ˜† I don’t do those fancy

  13. October 6, 2009 4:03 pm

    I know. I barely know how to TEXT.

  14. Heidi permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:05 pm

    texting is so underrated if you don’t have the schmancey phones πŸ™‚

    • October 6, 2009 4:06 pm

      oooo, heidi. 9pm. im with my kids, on a date.

      πŸ˜•

      • Heidi permalink
        October 6, 2009 4:12 pm

        Well… we’ll just figure it out.. I am just going to fly up there!!!

        Actually something major came up here too. So sooon.. I promise.
        I prayed for you today, ya know where?!!!! Love you sis!

  15. pokinatcha permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:06 pm

    Yep, I’m pretty much the same.

    • October 6, 2009 4:07 pm

      then youre just about perfect.

      dont argue with me.

  16. October 6, 2009 4:12 pm

    It might be best if Diane answered for me and I answer for her… πŸ˜€

    But, I think my answer for both of us is yes, we’re the same – totally deranged.

    There might still be things we keep private, or close to our circle of friends, rather than telling the world, but by the same discretion that would be taken offline as well. The location of those friends (on/offline) doesn’t affect what’s said and to whom.

    Twitter has changed the way I interact with people offline though… in the way they roll their eyes at you. Facebook is far more socially acceptable, which is why I spend less time on there.

  17. October 6, 2009 7:09 pm

    and I said β€œno she IS the real her online, but it’s the real her that you don’t get to β€œmeet” until you know her for a while in person…”

    Bran says it perfectly i feel.

    But for me, not just Tam.

    Being on-line be it twitter, facebook, blogging or IM i (we) don’t have such a strong ‘need’ to be inoffensive or being afraid that what we say will be taken the wrong way by whom we are relating with on a personal level. We, as Bran says also have more time to let what is in our heart come out and less fear that we will be rejected in some way when we do.

    Because of the far more ‘immediate’ and complex interaction of a face to face meeting compared to a on-line meeting/connection i, and i believe almost all of us, are far more cautious about saying or doing things face to face that in a more perfect world we would have no problem sharing up front.

    On-line relationships/communications allows me (us) more ways to be free of inbuilt and learned social ‘niceties’ or common social conventions that i find prevent most of us from being ‘real’, but which instead make us put on various types of ‘masks’ that hide what we truly feel/do/are.

    At least until we feel we ‘know’ someone well enough and they know who we are that we will have far less chance of being misunderstood or misinterpreted.

    But I’m just a soul whose intentions are good:
    Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood….
    (as sung by Eric Burdon and the Animals 1965)

    <B

    • October 6, 2009 7:11 pm

      oooo – such a good song!! now i have it stuck in my head.

      and…i agree with what youve written.

      back to great song in my head….

  18. davidseven permalink
    October 7, 2009 3:28 am

    I try to be the same person on-line anf off-line, I think sometimes it’s just easier to be me on-line.

    D7

    • October 7, 2009 3:31 am

      And seriously I wish it was just two personalities I had to keep straight.

      I blog as David Seven (above) and Shark Bait.

      D7 I think is me, just with better vocabulary. Shark Bait I think is who I would like to be in the real world.

      It get weird when we start to argue. πŸ™‚

      <

  19. October 7, 2009 5:45 am

    I have always communicated better in writing than speaking in person. But participating in online communities and writing my own blog has helped me be more ME in person. Especially once real-life friends started reading my blog – and I realized they still love me.

  20. October 7, 2009 1:08 pm

    I have perhaps changed the way I perceive the world slightly – but only because I note things that I might want to write about – to share.

  21. October 7, 2009 1:54 pm

    I’m full-on the same. Meeting new people online has brought new insights to my life, as all new friendships do, that have spilled over positively with my friends “in real life” which has been fun to see as well.

Leave a Reply

