Skip to content

pimp my post

October 8, 2009

friday? already? dang.

wait. that means its one day closer to Christmas!!

now…leave a link, in the comment section, to your favorite post that youve written this week. its that simple πŸ˜‰

question: when do you put up your Christmas tree? do you have a decorating tradition?

we never seem to put our tree up the same time every year but we do usually make an evening out of decorating it. A Christmas Story is usually playing in the background. there is always hot chocolate. occasionally popcorn and most definitely cookies. oh…and there has to be a fire going!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 11:24 pm

    I AM NOT talking about christmas…its october… no post for me this week though

  2. pokinatcha permalink
    October 8, 2009 11:54 pm

    No talk of Christmas for me either. It’s too hot and humid to even think about it!

    http://lifespokinatcha.wordpress.com/2009/10/07/wordless-wednesday-19/

    • October 10, 2009 3:35 am

      Hot and humid…that sounds just like the Christmas I know πŸ˜€

  3. October 9, 2009 1:25 am

    The tree usually goes up on or around Thanksgiving and comes down around May…LOL…Ok, slight exaggeration, but you get the idea.
    My wife loves that horrid movie and it’s usually watched 153 times….Thank God for internet so I do not have to participate :D.
    I’m on kind of a bloggatical….finals this week and next…no time to write.
    I will, however, pimp a new site….Yes, that’s 3
    http://www.faithreborn.com

  4. October 9, 2009 5:19 am

    We have already watched this movie about 100x in the last month. As a family we LOVE this movie! The boys especially love it. πŸ˜€ They are constantly reciting lines from memory. They are sooo like their dad.

    No post for me. Been trying to read things with actual pages lately. πŸ˜‰

    • October 9, 2009 5:21 am

      Oh, haha. I totally didn’t see the question in there even though I read the whole thing. eesh.

      We put our tree up the weekend after Thanksgiving and I take it down the day after Christmas. Seriously. I’m a bit ho hum in that way. By that point I just want it gone! This year I’m going to try and hold off on putting it up until about a week or two before Christmas so maybe I’ll keep it up longer. πŸ˜• Maybe. But then again my mom is coming in November and it would be nice if she were a part of the decorating… but that would be WAY early. Yeah, nevermind. πŸ˜†

  5. bahava permalink
    October 9, 2009 7:44 am

    Totally depends on when we can get out to cut down a tree and not really any traditions other than that I love having a real tree!
    Here’s a post about my new love: http://bahava.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/my-new-love/

  6. October 9, 2009 8:12 am

    I personally don’t hype up about Christmas too much … so the tree gets put up when my wife decides SHE will put it up. Bajan tradition is a pull down the house, clean it thoroughly, paint, put up new curtains, all sorts of things as well. I try to avoid it when it starts, but end up being roped in to help hang a few curtains here or there.

    Pastor Bill Johnson (Redding – Bethel Church) made a point that testimonies are powerful – they carry an anointing with them to duplicate the miracle! So all of you reading this testimony, pray with me that the FIRE of GOD gets released through you as well! Anyone who sees any gold dust or anything … let me know πŸ˜‰

    Here’s the post: http://bajanpoet.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/testimony-of-fire/

  7. October 9, 2009 8:32 am

    WHAT??????? You’re suppose to take it down?????? Whoda thunk it! πŸ˜‰

    My favorite post this week was when Ed was a guest…. I heart that guy! πŸ™‚

    http://triednotfried.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/theyre-people-too-2/

  8. October 9, 2009 8:44 am

    My Christmas tree goes up no earlier than December 1st. And my tradition has become to put innocent smoothie woolen hats on the branches!

  9. October 9, 2009 11:54 am

    http://littlestepsoffaith.com/2009/10/06/1316/

    And pls don’t talk about Christmas yet…I still have halloween up at CVS!:) xoxo!

  10. TheNorEaster permalink
    October 9, 2009 12:17 pm

    A long time coming…

    http://thenoreaster.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/pstorm-224/

    …but worth every minute.

  11. October 9, 2009 1:05 pm

    Mark and I have not had a Christmas decorating trend, but now that Annalyn’s getting old enough to get into festivities, I’m all over it! Growing up, we would always listen to the Chipmunk’s Christmas record while decorating. I don’t know why. But we did it – every single year.

    My favorite post this week was a long-winded way of getting around to a rant that may have prompted a tiny bit of controversy. Hmm…interested? πŸ™‚

    http://www.givinguponperfect.com/2009/10/apologies-or-not.html

  12. October 9, 2009 3:53 pm

    when i was a kid we had a tradition…we got out of school all day and did the whole house. it was an entire day long process. And then the neighbours would come over for hot chocolate and candy canes.

    But now that i am married we have only had one year being together for decorating…so this year will be the test to see if we have a tradition. But i would say get a tree and decorate it with time lapse video of decorating…kind of fun to watch. of course hot chocolate and Christmas Music is always involved.

  13. October 9, 2009 3:54 pm

    But…to be honest…i dont like Christmas music. it is only listened to decorating….no other time.

  14. TheNorEaster permalink
    October 9, 2009 11:49 pm

    Not getting a tree this year. Can’t afford that kind of Christmas.

  15. October 10, 2009 3:43 am

    Our tree goes up no earlier than Dec 1, and I always like to take it down after the 12th day of Christmas (epiphany), so that would be Jan 6…or thereabouts…

    Our decorating tradition involves understatement and no tinsel. Thankfully, both Diane and I strongly dislike tinsel.

    The other tradition is that the iPods go onto a Christmas only shuffle for a few weeks, and we drive around looking at the loony ways people have decorated their houses listening to music about snowy Christmases as we cruise Sydney on hot nights with the roof down…since Christmas = summer down here.

    It will be fun to have my first northern hemisphere Christmas next year!

  16. October 10, 2009 9:49 pm

    Since we share a few blog readers, some of whom may have given up on me ever posting again ={, I’ll take this opportunity to ‘advertise’ here.

    I did finally get a new post up:
    http://lazrus2.wordpress.com/2009/10/11/keeping-balanced/

    Thanks for providing this access to any who might still be interested.

    D-

  17. October 11, 2009 10:14 am

    We have to wait to put up our tree until after Daniel’s birthday which is Dec. 3rd. Then it is FREE GAME!! Christmas for everyone – 24/7!!!

    http://kristiapplesauce.typepad.com/kristi/2009/10/out-of-air.html

  18. October 11, 2009 12:46 pm

    Favourite post of the week…

    Graze delivers healthy snacks and the post office delivers on time!

Trackbacks

  1. Throne Room Experience! « The Hand of God

Leave a Reply

