Skip to content

a piece of paper changes everything

October 20, 2009

tuesday, it happened.

the DMV issued another teenager a permission slip to torture their parents with.

😕

kasspermit

too bad my blinkers dont work and she cant practice with my car 😀

seriously tho… im proud of kass! it was fun to be with her to experience it together.

do you remember when you first started driving?

got any advice for kass?

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy Polek permalink
    October 20, 2009 10:53 pm

    I remember when I first got my permit the only experience I had with driving was the car ride at Disneyland. Those cars are hard to drive and not hit the little track in the middle! At least when I was younger it was. So I was scared to start driving thinking it would be really hard. It wasn’t so bad. Haha.

  2. October 21, 2009 12:22 am

    Congrats Kass!!!

    Yes, I remember dropping out of driver’s ed so I had to wait til I was 17 for my license….never had a permit :-).

    Advice:
    Well, in the first 2 years of having my license I had 8 speeding tickets, but my sister worked for the traffic judge and they ‘somehow’ got looked over :-). Uhhhh yeah, advice…..Don’t drive fast!

    • October 21, 2009 1:00 am

      Seriously Toby 8 speeding tickets?

      • October 21, 2009 1:03 am

        Oh Sarah, that was just in the first 2 years…..she cleared a total of 14 tickets for me….i didn’t learn my lesson either cuz when I moved out of state where she couldn’t fix them, I had 3 in a year, a suspended license and went to the hokey for driving on a suspended license :-)….that was about 9 years ago and I think I’ve had 2 since then…not too bad, considering :-).

  3. October 21, 2009 12:59 am

    I didn’t get my license until I was almost 19 years old. So, I never had a permit. I have gone through teaching my 2 oldest daughters how to drive. Not fun at all!
    My advice would be come to a complete stop before you make those right hand turns at a stop sign.

  4. October 21, 2009 1:47 am

    Advice for Kass?

    Please remember that neither your car nor you are indestructable and both can break in accidents.

    And if you ever look like you are going to be in an accident try if possible to aim for something:
    a) soft, and
    b) cheap! 🙂

    Finally, remember that although you may be a good, safe driver and have both car and medical insurance, the idiot who runs into you may be or have none of these. 😯

    Along with the rights of driving a two tonne piece of metal comes some serious responsibilities – it’s best if we keep this in mind at all times when driving.

    Please don’t be like the Aussie driver recently pulled over for steering his car with his knees – WHILE HOLDING TWO MOBILE PHONES, ONE IN EACH HAND!!!

    His answer when asked by police what he thought he was doing?

    “i was downloading data!” and it was ok because he: ” kept one finger on the steering wheel at all times”

    http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,26228796-948,00.html

    i don’t know about any of you but that truly scares me!

    Drive Safe, Kass. For Mom and Dad’s sake as much as your own. 🙂

    <B

    • October 21, 2009 4:48 am

      how do you do that bug-eyed emoticon again? 😯 Like…. WHAT???????? With his KNEES????? OMG…….

  5. October 21, 2009 5:44 am

    Don’t roll through stop signs. Or red lights.

    That would be the thing that made me FAIL my driving test the first time, which prompted much mocking from my so-called boyfriend. (Now my husband.)

    In other words, don’t break driving laws – it’s dangerous and could get you made fun of. 🙂

  6. October 21, 2009 7:19 am

    Congrats Kass. Always wear your seat belt. Get the tunes goin’ before the car gets goin’… not after. Remember, whoever is calling your cell wants you to be safe much more than they want to talk to you. Let it go. They’ll understand.

  7. October 21, 2009 8:06 am

    My advice.

    Don’t hit a parked car.

    Not that I’ve ever done that or anything…

  8. October 21, 2009 8:41 am

    Congratulations, Kass! Dad and Mom may have already taught you this, but I’ll share anyway. My detail oriented father made me learn three things just in case I had to swerve:
    1. Always take a quick survey of the side of the road as you drive along so you will have a basic idea of what to do if someone comes into your lane.
    2. It is good to keep two wheels on the road if possible. When your tires hit the pavement, it will jerk the steering wheel. Daddy made me practice running over tiny holes or bumps to get a feel for the spacing from my viewpoint to where the tires would actually hit.
    3. Driving might bring you to an instance where you have to choose between killing a small animal or going off the road. Hit the animal. My first one was a rabbit, of all things. It was a truck, a rabbit or a ditch with no time to stop. Poor little guy.

    • October 21, 2009 3:07 pm

      Our dad’s come from the same school of thought, Anita. We always have a lot of deer crossing the road here in Iowa, and my dad always said if the choice is between taking the ditch and taking the deer, you take the deer.

      His other main advice is to check the oil EVERY STINKIN TIME you fill up with gas. He was seriously obsessive about it.

  9. October 21, 2009 9:29 am

    don’t be driving and messing the cd player (or I guess these days there’s something else for music? 😐 ).

    don’t lean over to get something out of the floor of the passenger side of the car when you’re foot is on the break at a stop sign.

    both of these result in mini-rear-enders. 😯 I’ve been told.

    • October 21, 2009 9:33 am

      and seriously, driving with friends is THE WORST thing ever. Sorry to say. But I like that rule they have now about not being allowed to do that.

    • October 21, 2009 9:37 pm

      CD Player?? i have cassette tape player in mine – ok now i REALLY feel old 😯

      <B

  10. October 21, 2009 9:35 am

    Oh yeah, just thought of another one.

    Don’t pull out in front of a sky-blue Toyota Camry going 55 MPH on a sunny day. Or a black Jeep Cherokee going 45 MPH after midnight. Or a rusty Lincoln Towncar going 75 in a 35.

    I’m just sayin…

  11. October 21, 2009 11:48 am

    yay! so fun!

    My parents were so religious about the hours needed to get my DL that we had a notebook of hours needed and then the times i had driven. Rain, dark, clear, after rain, dusk, dawn, snow, i did it all.

    always wear your seat belt….thats the only thing i am very demanding about…you can ask chad.

  12. October 21, 2009 12:06 pm

    Best piece of advice I ever got was just after getting my motorcycle license but it applies to driving in general:

    When the time comes that things become second nature, and you are not thinking about what you are doing, that’s the moment you need to worry. When you realize you are not thinking about what you’re doing, stop and think.

    It’s happened to me many times. I’ll be riding along, enjoying the view, when all of a sudden it hits me that I’m not thinking about the road, the other cars, or (most importantly) my speed. The voice that rendered the advice to me comes flooding back and I can re-focus.

    • October 21, 2009 9:43 pm

      Ohhhh – that’s a BIGGIE!

      So common it has largely been ignored by all us ‘good’ drivers – could you put that voice on a cassette tape for me so i can play it on a loop in my ( now very old) car?

      k?thanx

      <B

  13. October 21, 2009 12:09 pm

    Oh….and think about a plan b. What’s your “out”? If you driving down a street and all of a sudden the elderly Mr. Jones decides to back out of his driveway…where ya gonna go?

    BTW…congrats, Kass!! Tam, keep it cool sis…keep it cool. 😉

  14. October 21, 2009 1:36 pm

    Congrats Kass!!! Remember, cars are not the only things that can be recalled by their maker…. 😉 Drive safe!!! Love you girl!

  15. October 21, 2009 1:50 pm

    Congrats to Kass, Now that you have a teenager with a licence it is probably a good idea to find a place to lock your car keys away. Of course now that I read you are driving a car with faulty blinkers, maybe she, when she gets her own car, should remember to keep her car keys locked up.

    Advice for Kass? Don’t copy your parents when it comes to car maintance. 🙂

  16. October 21, 2009 1:57 pm

    I got my permit on my 16th birthday (the earliest age in NSW) and proceeded to put to good use all the skills I’d learnt driving around the farm paddocks since I was 8.

    And then I learnt to drive…

    Seriously, practice night driving a lot. So many people have such poor night vision and perspective I’ve discovered, and it’s good to learn that from a young age. I did most of my learning at night, and it helped a lot when I had to drive all night (cue Cyndi Lauper, or Roy Orbison…I prefer Cyndi’s version though…um, where was I?…oh yes…) to visit my parents, after I moved away, etc.

    And even once you’re allowed to have other passengers, my advice would be to avoid that as much as possible until you’ve been driving for several years.

  17. October 21, 2009 3:15 pm

    YOU ALL ARE ROCK STARS!

    tonight…im going through all your tips and making a separate post outlining them.

    ohyesiam!

    love you guys!

  18. October 21, 2009 3:18 pm

    If you lock your keys in the car call Don’s Lock’s.

Leave a Reply

