Skip to content

its already starting…

October 25, 2009

holiday sales pressure at the mall! cathi and i went to the mall today to get as much free and discounted stuff from bath and body works as we possibly could… i got $48.00 worth of soaps and lotions for a mere $16.66 – ohyesidid.

anyhoo…walking past the at&t store there was a young salesman standing just outside the entry doors. as cathi and i got closer, on our way to another store, the salesman asked if we were with at&t. we both are, so we politely answered, yes, and continued to walk on by. little salesboy went onto ask us what kind of phone we had. we kept walking, he kept asking.

this is where my zero tolerance issues need a lot of work.

me…from the entrance of another store, stops-turns and firmly said “that is NOT ok!” – with a perplexed look on his face, he responds…”what???”

“dude, you cant do that to people. force yourself on them. NOT ok.”

i catch up with cathi and i say…”i really need a filter!”

sales pressure + zero tolerance = hot mess.

Lord, help me.

and, no…i am not proud of how i handle myself at times. i am very aware i need to continue working on my reactions and responses and that he was only doing his job. did i cover everything?

49 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 11:11 pm

    the real question is this: “what did you get me?”

  2. October 26, 2009 12:21 am

    It may help being 260 pounds with an angry scowl, but coming to a dead stop while glaring at the sales people like I’m considering his face for dinner, seems to work well for me.

    • October 26, 2009 9:19 am

      hmmmm, then i have some work to do

      😉

  3. October 26, 2009 2:05 am

    let’s see…

    desires to be christian? – Check!

    behaves all too humanly at times despite this? ( just like we ALL do?) – Check!

    Eventually recognises the ‘fault’ and confesses it? – Check!

    Asks God for help? – Check!

    Goes back and asks person she may have hurt for forgiveness?….

    Made any progress overcoming personal behaviour fault involved as a result of this or similar events?…

    <B

    • October 26, 2009 10:04 am

      Bob, I love Tam’s honesty and her ability to convey her faults in a fun but very real way. Don’t you wish others could have that gift of not always sounding like they don’t struggle with anything? I find those people very refreshing and they encourage me a great deal to be real with my own faults, expose them and work on them….wonderful lesson she put out here for everyone 🙂

  4. October 26, 2009 2:27 am

    P.S. it IS ok to tell someone the TRUTH.

    it is not ok to give our human ego free reign to make us do so in such a way as to cause more harm than the benefits the truth we impart can provide.

    it was not ok for the salesperson to place their intent/desire to do their job/make a sale above yours to not be ‘pestered’.

    but then it might have been better to let the salesperson know what you personally consider to be their ‘acceptable’ mall behaviour at the first opportunity as they undoubtedly do not read everyone’s mind and nor does everyone behave the same way and he won’t know how you behave until you interact with him.

    and i am sure you know this.

    <B

    • October 26, 2009 9:24 am

      “it IS ok to tell someone the TRUTH.”

      i absolutely agree.

      and i did. i couldve altered my tone a bit. and next time i have a plan of attack. and i use “attack” loosely. i wish not to attack anyone.

      • October 26, 2009 3:16 pm

        girlfriend, seeing that this isn’t the first time this has happened, and we certainly expressed our disdain for this “sales” tactic the first time this happened, I’m w/ you…you do the niceties next time, I’ll do the attacking.
        nuf.
        said.
        p.s. Jesus loves you too.

      • October 26, 2009 8:06 pm

        ‘Made any progress overcoming personal behaviour fault involved as a result of this or similar events?’… CHECK!

        (pre-assuming the ‘plan’ actually results in behaviour modification in a (all) similar future situation).

        Telling someone the Truth because our weak human egos or pride have been offendedand we react to this without ‘thinking’ is one thing – telling someone the truth because our spirit under His leadership requires us to, is quite another.

        i am sure we both agree on that and we could all do more of the latter and less of the former and the world would then be a far better place than it currently is.

        as i am sure you are also aware of – as i definitely am – knowing/understanding something and always being able to do what is ‘right’ is quite another for us humans – even the Christian ones, apparently?

        <B

        • October 26, 2009 8:47 pm

          “even the Christian ones, apparently?”

          yup….but im working on it.

  5. October 26, 2009 4:54 am

    Did you skip a hormone pill this weekend? 😯

    • October 26, 2009 9:20 am

      surprisingly, no.

      i may have to start admitting…im just gettin old.

      yes, its here. in writing.

      shut it.

      • October 26, 2009 6:30 pm

        It’s sshhh…. ssshhhuuuuuuttttt

        • October 26, 2009 6:44 pm

          im sorry. i left out 3 of the syllables.

          sshh(1)ssshhh(2)uhh(3)uuuhhhh(4)ttttt(5) it.

          thereyago.

        • Heidi permalink
          October 26, 2009 8:26 pm

          Here in San Diego…

          Its “Cerrado la BOCA”

          Of course I was using my good slang ❤

  6. October 26, 2009 6:41 am

    BAAAAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    maybe you could just laser his mouth shut next time?

  7. October 26, 2009 7:09 am

    I LOVE IT…next time just take a run and tackle at&t boy, throw a punch and then walk away calmly 🙂

    I totally agree with you though…it drives me crazy especially at the mall kiosks…NO I DO NOT WANT YOUR OVERPRICED 15 MINUTE BACK MASSAGE…although this tension probably makes me need one.

    • October 26, 2009 9:22 am

      actually, cathi suggested next time i go in and ask to immediately talk with the manager and advise them these tactics are not very becoming. they might actually run people off. i’ll definitely do that next time.

  8. October 26, 2009 9:05 am

    I think your response was perfectly acceptable. 😉 heehee I usually just keep repeating NO NO NO NO NO until I get out of hearing distance. 😯

    • October 26, 2009 9:23 am

      i had one of the Dead Sea Spa kiosks guys walk behind me a couple years ago, all up in my ear. i tell ya, i exercised super human refraining right there 😯

  9. October 26, 2009 10:00 am

    Ummmm considering how well you know me and all, and ummmmm how I probably would have done and all… I think you great!!! 🙂

    • October 26, 2009 1:39 pm

      this coming from you…means a lot 😀

  10. Myra permalink
    October 26, 2009 10:09 am

    You can’t help being beautiful, his sales – that was just the excuse to flirt with you! Your response, politely human, even if the tone was off! It was advise that he obviously needed. Training has to come from somewhere.

    • October 26, 2009 1:41 pm

      hmmm…dont know that i can justify my tone with calling it “training”, no matter how much i like the sound of that 😀 but seriously..next time….and there WILL be a next time as you know with this mall – i’ll march straight in to talk to the manager.

  11. October 26, 2009 11:17 am

    i ❤ bath and body works sales. seriously. i go in there and i feel like im kind of in heaven. especially their annual sales that happen in january & june. to save up… i buy in bulk in june & give them away for christmas =] LOL

    • October 26, 2009 9:48 pm

      see, i usually only go there during the winter months. i ahd no idea about their june shindig. im all over that now!

  12. October 26, 2009 11:21 am

    Hahahha!! That is why i hate going in the Buckle. Way too much pressure and i will just walk out. Just let me shop and look if i would like. I will let you know if i need something.

    I get that sometimes they have to meet quotas but really….if i wanted to buy something i would come in your store. Clearly we probably should not go shopping together. we may get arrested. haha!

    • October 26, 2009 1:42 pm

      really? i dont get hounded at Buckle. i mean, they ask how i am and if i need any help – but ive not been pressured here once. its safe to say tho…Lord help them/me if they ever do pressure me 😕

  13. October 26, 2009 11:21 am

    you racked up at B&B. can’t wait to smell you next time you inhibit my basement! 🙂

    • October 26, 2009 11:52 am

      haha! funny you say that. the only thing i really knew about Tam before i came and stayed at her house was that she had made your basement smell so good. I always laugh about that.

      random i know.

    • October 26, 2009 2:54 pm

      brandi – i shall bring you some of my rack. or, well…my b&b works. or sumpin like that.

  14. October 26, 2009 2:14 pm

    See, there’s an art to being in sales. Clearly the youngster you encountered hasn’t mastered it yet. Either that or he went to the used car salesman school of how NOT to make a sale.

    I’m proud that you can see your own fault…cuz we all got ’em and not enough own up to ’em. Me included.

    I hope you do encounter that young salesman again. And I hope he uses the same poor tactic…again. Because when he does, I know, I just KNOW that you are gonna spin around on your heels and say “Um, can I give you some friendly advice?” And after you have not allowed enough time for a response, you are going to say, “The last time you did this to me, I reacted…well…a little strong. I recognize that I could have handled myself differently. But, there are a few thousand people in this mall who are not so in touch with their faults, and who are, let’s just say, annoyed this time of year just because. My advice to you is, put a tape mark on the floor about 2 feet from the door of your store in either direction. Then, while you are working, don’t cross it. It’ll keep ya safe.”

    • October 26, 2009 2:57 pm

      i love you!!!

      i love how you, so tactfully, (unlike myself) spoke truth into my life and gave me a perfect alternate approach the next time this happens.

      thank you, friend 🙂

  15. Heidi permalink
    October 26, 2009 4:43 pm

    He’s stupid… I would have kicked him!!

    …. just saying the truth here.

  16. October 26, 2009 5:46 pm

    ha! see… i always had the *thoughts* … i was just always too chicken to follow it up with the mouth. 🙂 could have used you a few times at the mall…

    🙂

    • October 27, 2009 5:49 pm

      if i could just get the “tone” under control i might hire myself out. yes?

  17. October 27, 2009 2:25 pm

    Ooo! You have guts, I just walk by and pretend they don’t exist!

    I just hope…. hope… that the guy doesn’t remember you, just in case he’s looking for a church and shows up at TRF… just sayin’…

  18. October 27, 2009 3:15 pm

    Sometimes I feel guilty for ignoring people doing this. I won’t any more… 🙂

Leave a Reply

