Skip to content

roosters are sleeping

November 3, 2009

oh my sweet heavens! just found out today that kota has basketball practice every single school morning.

😯

😯

😯

you know what that means, right?

wake up call… 5:45

😯

did i mention it was every school day?

i know. thats not early for some of you. and several of you east coasters are already up. but we’re on the west side and should be dreaming of rainbows and lollipops at that hour.

i had just made a plan to start writing at nights after everyone is in bed. its when i do my very best thinking and writing. miss mandy pants has so lovingly and firmly been kickin me in the rear with this book gig and ive been evaluating and reavulating goals, plans and strategies all week. night writing being the most exciting of them all!

seriously. whats the deal here.

i am typically very distracted and preoccupied during the day, but…mandy gave me a long list of tips to use to inspire a creative environment with a soothing/calming flair. that coupled with a few other ideas, i will experiment with determination to write. write anything πŸ™‚

so. this is life for the next 12 weeks.

and no. i am not complaining. we are all extremely excited for and proud of kota! he works very hard to maintain honor roll status and play sports. he has earned this privilege.

im simply trying to frantically reorganize my thoughts and work up a new plan.

i’ll let you know what i come up with.

until then…

ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzz

44 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 1:49 am

    I have come to the conclusion that sleep is WAY overrated! Look at all of the peace and quiet you’ll have if you simply DON’T sleep πŸ™‚

    • November 4, 2009 6:52 am

      very funny! how many hours a night do you sleep?

      i need at least 7, for my health. when im feeling really strong and healthy i can get by on 5.

      • November 4, 2009 12:00 pm

        4 or 5 usually gets me through….i sneak 8 in there on some weekends though πŸ˜€

  2. November 4, 2009 5:27 am

    (my foot hurts)

    Ok. So this is very bad news. Very very bad. What is Brent up to at 5:45am? Can y’all take turns? or call a taxi? Or… Or… carpooling!
    or better yet… give Kass the keys. I won’t tell. πŸ˜‰

    • November 4, 2009 6:56 am

      ok. WHY does your foot hurt? did i miss something?

      brent is up to… about a 93 decibel snoring level at that time πŸ˜• he doesnt get up til around 8:30 in the morning. so for him to do this would be torture.

      i actually told kass yesterday i wished so badly she had her license already. but then…id feel terrible making her get up that early.

      regardless…id still get up with kota. i hated gettin up by myself in the mornings as a kid and being the only one awake in the house. i always wished my mom would join me or something. so, i made the decision as a child to always get up with my children before school. and now…basketball practice πŸ˜€

      and why does your foot hurt???

  3. Heidi permalink
    November 4, 2009 6:02 am

    Why don’t you just flip it?

    Sleep at night and DO your writing in the AM.

    Bring everything with ya and do it in the gym or in the car. He’s old enough run too Dutch Bros for 30.
    Take a walk arund the track and allow the juices to flow

    ****Don’t let this early morning interruption be that… ***
    Interruptions never stopped Jesus and it SHOULDNT you.

    BE forceful and get 30-60 minutes in.
    Mornings are wonderful…. TRUST ME!!!

    Okay I am done

    • November 4, 2009 7:01 am

      i know this works for you – but the reason i know it doesnt work for me is cause ive tried it. so many times. it started back in the day when i felt guilty for not having a morning quiet time with the Lord like all my other MOPS mama friends were doing and cooking 30 days worth of dinners and freezing them, then running 3 miles up hill both ways and paying all the bills and rebuilding the family cars engine all before 5:13 in the morning. its not how im wired.

      when i wake, i instantly start going thru the days lists in my mind. and my mind doesnt rest until those things are done or attended to in some way. i cant shut off. thats why evenings are so good for me because my list is completed and i dont think about anything else til morning comes around again. i love evening writing and focus time. its my wiring and it wouldnt work to make myself be someone im not – it would only cause more frustration. this, i am finally learning πŸ™‚

      ya know tho..i love the initiative and tone your comment had πŸ™‚ i can just hear you read that off to me. i love it!!!

  4. Heidi permalink
    November 4, 2009 7:24 am

    Maybe this should be an email. But I am not gonna too. I’ll be scary transparent for just a minute:

    You made me sound all Proverbs 31 up there. I am not Cinderella by all means. I have laundry falling over 3 hampers to prove it! My life aint perfect by any means!!

    But when I can like yesterday, I go and have a walk. Why? Because I need it. MORNINGS ARE NOT MY CHOICE EITHER. But I leave at 6am and return at 6Pm. Not by choice but because right now I have to provide for my family and take care of things.

    BUT I NEED Him more than ever sis, Just like you.

    I had to make it work…

    You’re wired differently and I so so respect that. I love that we are not exactly the same.
    I was just throwing an option out!

    A REALLY great girlfriend told me “wherever you can… find God”

    For me it’s in the morning for you it’s in the PM.

    But What’s awesome WE ARE BOTH FINDING TIME FOR HIM..

    Love you!

    • November 4, 2009 7:32 am

      heidi – i wasnt talking about you in my reply. i was referring to all the MOPS women i used to be in contact with back in the day.

      i know you were throwing an option out – and i thank you for it…its a great option too. one i tried for years to make work for me…and it just doesnt. and it isnt for lack of trying. and this isnt to say i dont have time with the Lord throughout my day either. He knows how my mind works in the morning. or doesnt 😯 πŸ˜‰

      but dont take my reply personally – it wasnt. i was just being honest in how im wired and created. to be honest…i envy you and other morning people. and actually, i love the mornings. i dont mind being up when everyone else is sleeping – its easier to attend to my list while my brain is running a thousand miles per hour – that way i dont have brent saying…”sit down tam, what can i do for you?”…cuz its almost impossible for me to sit.

      anyway… you pray for me in the mornings and i’ll pray for you in the evenings – that way we’ve got both sides of the clock covered πŸ˜€

      love you too…

      • November 4, 2009 1:36 pm

        you? and MOPS? since when?! did you love it? or no? I’m very intrigued by this new thing I’ve learned! (since I’m totally in love with MOPS but whatever. LOL)

        • November 4, 2009 1:52 pm

          yup. when kass was a toddler…so, waaaayyyy back in the mid 90’s. you know? 20th century πŸ˜•

        • November 4, 2009 1:55 pm

          and what are you loving about mops?

          • November 4, 2009 5:36 pm

            Did you know I’m on steering this year? Doing that makes it bittersweet on some levels, but overall I enjoy it alot. I love that we can reach moms who feel SO alone, especially in our “line of work” here. πŸ˜‰ I love that it keeps you connected to other women whose biggest motivator is spreading the gospel and building up women in Christ. And the part I really love the most is that they are not perfect. They have faults just like me, they curse on accident just like me (sometimes on purpose even 😯 just like me), they struggle in their marriages just like me. I shared our story of what has gone on the last two months at our table last week. I was hesitant, but after I did a mom broke down in tears because she is living it as well and she said it helped her to know she’s not alone. That right there, is why I love MOPS.

            It’s also the ONLY way I made friends here. I had no clue how to go about making friends in a new place where I knew NO ONE, while also taking care of kids. Not one clue. And they were my church when I didn’t have one.

            • November 4, 2009 5:38 pm

              oh, and the bittersweet part about steering is just the politics and dealing with certain personalities, but that is part of growing together. As one friend puts it “loving the unloveable” πŸ˜‰ I’ve grown more in my relationship with God because of the trials in my “job” with MOPS. Who ever knew volunteer work could take up SO MUCH TIME?! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

  5. November 4, 2009 7:54 am

    hehehehe. 5:45. at least you’ll have more time to do…stuff….?

    oh, and a tip on sleeping: a full REM cycle lasts for about 1.5 hours. that means, we go in and out of deep sleep, and at the end or beginning of that cycle, we are in our lightest sleep where it is easiest to wake up.

    if you choose to go to bed at a time that allows you to wake up on the end part of a REM cycle (by adding up the time in 1.5 hour increments), you’ll feel more refreshed and ready to go. for example: get 6 or 7.5 hours of sleep instead of 8, which interrupts the 1.5 hour cycle. so if you’re lucky enough to get in bed by 11:15ish, you could get a full night’s sleep! and once your body takes a few weeks to adjust, you’ll feel as good as ever.

    you’re welcome.

    • November 4, 2009 8:06 am

      really? are you one of those people who have facts stored up their brains and whips them out on occasion while people stare in amazement? cuz my hubs is – i love it!

      ok. so, what if your sleep is interrupted…a lot? if one manages to squeeze a 3hr chunk of solid sleep within the 7 hours of laying in bed, will that all important REM phase still be in there? huh, huh, will it?

      πŸ˜€

    • November 4, 2009 9:12 am

      See, THIS is why I’m all messed up. I can’t remember the last time I slept for 1.5 hours straight without waking up at some point. At least now I have something to blame it on πŸ™‚

  6. November 4, 2009 11:09 am

    mind sharing your tips with me? i really need to get going on writing too. =/

    • November 4, 2009 11:22 am

      πŸ™‚

      well…if youre anything like me, its hard to get your brain to slow down. so first thing in the morning, when my brain is freshest…ironically…is the worst time for me to write cuz im thinking about all the goings ons of the day ahead. so, im learning to let that be ok and not feel guilty by it. what that has done is free me up to tackle my day to day responsibilities and activities without added pressure – and that feels super good. just the guilt off my shoulders alone has inspired me a bit.

      find when your most creative moments are. when are the times your mind is better focused.

      mandy suggested changing the lighting to create a more relaxed environment. i like using candles, specifically invigorating scented ones.

      reading – let a book inspire you. challenge your thinking a bit.

      exercise – i dont like this one. but i know shes right.

      all i know is forced writing seems to work against me. writing non fiction is different i believe – so im having to learn how to draw on the past and its details at will.

      for some people, soft music (instrumental) in the background is very inspiring. for me, its too distracting – i love music too much and end up writing lyrics in my head instead of words for the book πŸ˜•

      do coffee shops work for you? maybe a library?

      do you have a plan of action? thats currently what im working on now too. in fact, i was just coming up with something i was excited about and now my night times have been infringed upon. which just further tells me the enemy does not want this book written. which also, this time, has frustrated me enough, in a good way, to make sure he fails!

      bottom line…. “you’ve gotta want this so much more than the rest of us. So much that you’d do this with or without the rest of us cheering you on. You’ve gotta own this as yours. As yours and nobody else’s.” ~ mandy thompson

  7. November 4, 2009 12:07 pm

    reason #4089 not to have kids.

    • Heidi permalink
      November 4, 2009 12:29 pm

      Want mine?

    • November 4, 2009 1:41 pm

      I have another one: poop on carpet and puke in a lap….all within ten minutes. 😐

    • November 4, 2009 1:54 pm

      id love to know your top 5 reasons πŸ˜€

      • November 4, 2009 2:34 pm

        depends on the day.

        or the kids i’m around.

        • November 4, 2009 2:40 pm

          i totally understand that. i would say, not so shockingly, sleep would be my number one reason (now that i know better πŸ˜‰ ) then…independence. yah…im your friendly neighborhood birth control right here.

          • November 4, 2009 2:45 pm

            i gotta be honest. i’m tired of people saying things like “well at least you don’t have kids” (as a response to my situation). it is such a bittersweet thing, but i feel the sting in those words when they are spouted out so thoughtlessly. as i see others going through divorce with kids, i understand the sentiment behind their statement. but there is a lot of loss in that for me as well, you know.

            don’t know why i just said all that except that i felt the sting again in my typical reason # joke. i’ve always teased about that, but now it sounds different in my ears.

            i’m not saying i shouldn’t joke. or even that i will stop. just saying that right now i realized it uncovers an ache in my heart when i do.

            hmph.

            • November 4, 2009 2:52 pm

              i can imagine how hearing that statement would be difficult for you, alece. i know people whove gone thru divorce, with children, who have said that to other couples after divorce/no kids. and i, like you, understand where theyre coming from…but they also may not know a secret desire of the woman who desperately wants children and fear she may never have them now.

              all seriousness aside – joking about it is okay and by no means suggests youre not a kid lover or never wants kids. shoot, sometimes i joke that ive two too many kids. and you know my story 😯

              love you.

              • November 4, 2009 2:56 pm

                sigh.

                thanks for understanding. and loving.

                and no worries – i’ll keep joking. it helps keep me sane.

  8. November 4, 2009 1:40 pm

    Oh dear lord that is an ungodly hour. seriously. 😐

    The very first thing I thought of when I read this was how important this book is going to be considering all of the obstacles the enemy has tried (and still is) to put in your path. I don’t have any advice for you in how to revamp your schedule so it works better, but knowing that God wants you to succeed and Satan wants to keep you from it….that would be quite the motivator for me! πŸ˜‰

    Love you.

    • November 4, 2009 1:42 pm

      p.s. who is his coach?

      • November 4, 2009 1:53 pm

        im not sure – i’ll ask kota when he gets him. if i remember. πŸ˜€

    • November 4, 2009 1:53 pm

      thank you girl! it is definitely a motivator! damn satan!!!

  9. November 5, 2009 3:51 am

    I LOVE my sleep, and if I don’t get enough I’m really a grouch. I remember waaaaaaay back in High school, we used to have volleyball practice b4 school too, and it was always a killer for me to get up! Sorry for you! lol

    • November 5, 2009 7:26 am

      yah…sleep is pretty treasured around here too. and i still can not figure out why they would have a bunch of 13 yr old boys practice bball before school starts then send them off to share their stank with everyone else.

      gross.

  10. November 6, 2009 9:38 pm

    Hey Tam!!! I have thought about you a million times and I have not talked to you in forever but just wanted to say hey!!

Leave a Reply

