Skip to content

pimp your post

November 5, 2009

im tired.

that is all.

oh…leave a link here to your own favorite post from this last week.

fridays have become a reader, of sorts, for blogs…all my faves πŸ™‚Β  its been great..would be lost without it!

one more thing…target has all their christmas items out and decorations up. like, the day after halloween! isnt that a little soon?

55 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 1:18 am

    Here in Oz, where Halloween is just starting to pick up a bit more retail traction, and we don’t have Thanksgiving, Christmas gets all the marketing for nearly 3 months. So most shopping centres etc are fairly well decked out with boughs of holly in early October….

    Anyway, I’ve been posting all over as you know, and not much back home…so, I’d recommend to your readers who somehow have managed to NOT visit Alece’s blog that they do that.

    http://www.gritandglory.com/

    I know that’s not a link to a specific post, but … you’ll cope

    • November 6, 2009 5:21 am

      Another site you should all visit. Our hearts are broken today.

      http://www.gavinowens.com/2009/11/time-to-go.html

      • November 6, 2009 6:55 am

        been thinkin so much about this family. as well as kate mcrae. its funny how you get so into these children and their lives that they begin to feel like their your own family too…beyond Gods family. i know gavins parents are at peace with him going home soon…which is a beautiful place for them to be at.

        isiah 57:1

        Good people pass away;
        the godly often die before their time.
        But no one seems to care or wonder why.
        No one seems to understand
        that God is protecting them from the evil to come.

    • November 6, 2009 12:47 pm

      wow, david. thank you!

  2. Christy Polek permalink
    November 6, 2009 1:39 am

    I don’t have a personal post to share since I’m still working on the whole “it’s okay to let others read what you write even if you feel like it’s not perfect” thing…
    But I noticed something I wanted to tell you. I use google reader for the blogs I follow and noticed tonight as I was catching up on them that I tend to save yours til last. I thinks it’s my brain running with the “best for last” idea. I really love reading your posts =)

    • November 6, 2009 5:18 am

      Ha…I do this too

    • November 6, 2009 6:58 am

      really??? really? that is such a big compliment! especially considering i feel like ive posted poo-poo lately. thank you!

      and girl…it IS ok to let others read your stuff. we are our own worst critics, we all know that, and its likely readers will not sit and pick your writings apart but they will read and get something from it, walk away with something. so….do it!

      i want to see a link from you next week here, missy!

      πŸ˜‰

    • November 6, 2009 7:00 am

      and just so you know… i re-edited my above comment 4 different times for mistakes πŸ˜€

      • Christy Polek permalink
        November 7, 2009 12:53 am

        Okay… Next week.
        Promise!

  3. bahava permalink
    November 6, 2009 3:01 am

    Yikes! Christmas things already! Time is flying…I haven’t seen Christmas things here, but then again it is Africa. πŸ™‚ I agree about checking out Alece’s blog (http://www.gritandglory.com/) definitely some challenging posts there.
    Otherwise, I got baptized yesterday and here’s what I wrote about it!
    http://bahava.wordpress.com/2009/11/05/new-creation/

    • November 6, 2009 12:48 pm

      sheesh, katy! thanks!

    • November 6, 2009 6:46 pm

      im all teary over your post.

      • bahava permalink
        November 8, 2009 10:29 am

        alece: you’re welcome!
        tam: aw…me too when I think about all that it means and how God’s working in me!

  4. November 6, 2009 3:20 am

    It seems that we ask that question every year and every year pumpkins are replaced with reindeer :-). Germany needs a Target….can ya work on that??

    Maybe my favorite post EVER….on my blog anyway. I love when God shows me who I am.
    http://www.whatsthislifefor.org/2009/11/03/im-just-a-janitor/

    • Heidi permalink
      November 6, 2009 6:56 pm

      Awesome post Toby.

      Thanks!! … really

    • November 6, 2009 7:10 pm

      ohmyyes! best post youve written – love it!

  5. November 6, 2009 4:05 am

    Oooh Ooooh…I’m number 4!

    A post today that is a simple quick reminder.

    http://movingthroughlife.wordpress.com/2009/11/06/an-empty-day/

  6. November 6, 2009 5:06 am

    Careful, this post makes me cry…

    http://ricbooth.wordpress.com/2009/11/04/new-chapter-begins/

  7. November 6, 2009 5:27 am

    Ya, on the decorations…i cant handle them until after Thanksgiving…but the Starbucks holiday cup on the other hand….L.O.V.E. that it is out now. There is nothing like an amazing red cup with fun stuff in your hand. Like seriously!!

    Ummmm….and my favourite post….probably the one from today when i fess up to how my name is really spelled. http://www.lynseleanne.com/blog/2009/11/06/the-spelling-of-my-name/

  8. November 6, 2009 5:35 am

    This is not our church… http://philter48.wordpress.com/2009/11/06/this-is-not-our-church/

    If we focus on Christ, Christmas is year round…

    Peace and love.

    • November 6, 2009 9:19 pm

      i love that is was so easy for me to leave a comment at your place this time. i usually run into problems. but no more. yay!

      • November 7, 2009 4:52 am

        Yeah… The power of WordPress… I have learned my lesson. Now just waiting for my host to support it so I can get it under Philter48.com

  9. November 6, 2009 6:33 am

    I am on my way to Savannah in 1:50min so…I thought I would put my two latest posts up once more to share my journey:)

    http://littlestepsoffaith.com/2009/10/23/lsof-the-faith-storm/

    http://littlestepsoffaith.com/2009/10/28/lsof-the-faith-storm-part-2-gone-with-the-wind/

  10. Heidi permalink
    November 6, 2009 7:37 am

    A Supernatural Novel Will Be written.
    http://wp.me/p4PdA-1v8

    Christmas is not until after Thanksgiving.

    • November 6, 2009 7:11 pm

      i loved this post, sis. you are truly a gifted writer. i love how you put your thoughts down for us to read. so good!

  11. November 6, 2009 7:38 am

    went to hobby lobby the day BEFORE halloween and there were literally rows and rows and rows of christmas stuff already on mega sale. crazy.

    • November 6, 2009 8:22 pm

      hobby lobby??? what is that? reminds me of holly hobby – but guessing its not the same.

      hi.

      • November 6, 2009 9:03 pm

        hobby lobby is the most fantastic craft store that also sells home decorating items… there’s one 3 minutes from my house that I used to frequent OFTEN.

  12. November 6, 2009 7:59 am

    Well, it’s too soon. But then again, it’s not. Because if you plan ahead, then the month of December isn’t so stressful. I think. In theory.

    I’m doing a Thankful Thursday at my blog every week this month: http://www.givinguponperfect.com/2009/11/sadly-my-new-modem-is-not-on-this-list.html

  13. November 6, 2009 8:51 am

    I’m like Mary in the planning ahead department… I like to have all my Christmas shopping done before Advent starts so that season is all about preparing for Christ’s birth and not preparing for Christmas. I make all of my friends’ Christmas photo cards each year as well, but those rarely get done before Advent starts because they never have pictures to me in time. πŸ™‚

    I kind of had a hard time deciding which post to put on this week, but I’m going with one that has a photo of my nephew in it just because, you know, I’m proud. And proud trumps anything deep in my book.

    http://gitzengirl.blogspot.com/2009/11/flashback-friday-post-that-has-me.html

    • November 6, 2009 7:43 pm

      um. your nephews hot.

      sorry. someone had to say it!

      • November 6, 2009 9:04 pm

        that’s a different nephew than the one I’ve sent you before that you drooled over. i’m not exaggerating when I tell you I have the cutest nieces and nephews on the planet. my nieces are RIDICULOUS.

      • November 6, 2009 9:07 pm

        and sadly, i haven’t seen him or his brothers in person since 2006. homebound sucks when family doesn’t visit… just sayin’…

        • November 6, 2009 9:10 pm

          😦 i hate that for you. do you think theyll visit again soon?

          • November 6, 2009 9:25 pm

            no. i saw them in 2006 because that’s the last time i traveled home to see the family. my sister laura has been really good about visiting since the cushings stuff and i see my brother steve’s family usually twice a year. my sister janette will come for dinner with my parents on christmas day for a few hours, but that’s just because mom and dad are here. my brothers jim and jerry’s families won’t come. jerry stopped with my niece anna once a couple years ago because she had a soccer game in town, but otherwise haven’t come. it’s ok. i knew all those years when i traveled around to see them it was me making the effort… i knew it didn’t go both ways. i’m just glad i took advantage of spending time with them when i was able to get around. i got on facebook for the specific reason of getting to keep in touch with the kids easier and it’s been great.

          • Heidi permalink
            November 7, 2009 7:45 am

            We need to pray thins into your life Gitz, you need family around you

            • November 8, 2009 10:50 am

              thanks, heidi. i have been so blessed to have friends here that have been family to me for many years. they came into my life in college and and i came to understand relationships in a different way… i’m so grateful for all they’ve shown me. and i am constantly amazed at how much i care about and am cared for by so many online. i never feel alone πŸ™‚

  14. November 6, 2009 12:48 pm

    definitely too early on the decorations! i think day-after-thanksgiving is perfect.

    • November 6, 2009 7:44 pm

      i agree!!! i feel bombarded in the stores if its any sooner. kinda deflates it for me.

  15. November 6, 2009 2:15 pm

    Of course it’s soon! But we wouldn’t be a consumer society without it, right?

    (as everyone’s scratching their heads)

    I only have one post this week. And I’ve only received 3 comments. I don’t know if that’s because it’s too confusing, too controversial, or too contemplative. (3 C’s!! Pulled it off!)

    Did Jesus die for Hitler?

  16. November 6, 2009 5:43 pm

    Girl, this is my first time in your blog! YAY!

    Love the lack of capital letters in your posts, don’t know why.

    My favorite post this week is this one:

    http://www.randrambles.com/dont-talk-yet/

    Basically because even though it’s an area I am growing in I still struggle with it.

    **adds your blog to Google Reader**

    • November 6, 2009 8:21 pm

      truth is…im lazy. no caps=me, lazy πŸ˜€

      loved your post, rand!

  17. November 6, 2009 9:40 pm

    well, i just left you a comment but it showed an error on my blog. oops.

    • November 8, 2009 9:59 pm

      it did?? darnit…im sorry.

      hi beautiful!!!

  18. November 7, 2009 4:22 am

    Ummm. I think its a tad bit early for Christmas stuff, but I have to admit I’m jealous of everyone who gets to enjoy it (early or late). I’m craving holiday stuff right now. sniff. sniff.

    • November 8, 2009 10:01 pm

      im gonna bake some christmas cookies and eat them just for you….cuz i care πŸ˜‰ and love ya! and appreciate you. and i eat christmas cookies when im in an appreciative mood.

      and, im clearly tired and giddy right now

      😯

  19. November 8, 2009 3:27 pm

    Here’s a new post:

    http://lazrus2.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/remembering-the-forgotten-god/

    (But it’s more Francis Chan than me, so hopefully more noteworthy =)!

    D-

  20. November 11, 2009 6:41 pm

    Mercy Rising blog

    mercyrising.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. Tam made me do it « i’m waking up for the first time in years…

Leave a Reply

