Skip to content

unbelievable….

November 8, 2009

if you havent seen this…it will blow your mind. thoughts??? what, in your opinion, would cause a young lady to behave in this manner? and what do you think would be the appropriate consequence?

39 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 10:05 pm

    I saw this yesterday, that girl is MAD!

  2. November 8, 2009 10:10 pm

    Well, today when a Bear defensive player took a punch in a Cardinal player’s face mask in the first 1.5 minutes of play, he was ejected for the entire game. And honestly, what he did was minuscule compared to this chick.

    She should not be playing.

  3. November 8, 2009 10:10 pm

    First…I find it hilarious that someone has the job title of “soccer analyst”…I know for some that would be a dream job. I’m just not part of that some.

    I find it sad that I wasn’t shocked by anything that happened in that video. Maybe it’s because I’ve seen women’s football a few times at school, not to mention hockey (the lawn not ice variety) and have seen far worse. Hockey sticks, teeth, broken bones. Enough said.

    As to why it happens…no idea. I do know that I’ve often seen women sport being far more violent than men playing the same games. I know the stereotype is for women to torture their competitors with mind games and words while the men do the physical fighting, but in the case of sports, it seems to almost be the opposite sometimes.

    Consequences… Surely you’d have to be suspended. For life. And grounded. Or something equally childish to reflect how immature that behaviour was.

    I’m hoping someone has some more behavioural science insight for this though. Really. Being close to the least aggressive man ever, I’m at a loss to explain with any kind of authority at all ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Heidi permalink
    November 8, 2009 10:20 pm

    Stupid.. Stupid..Stupid..

  5. November 8, 2009 10:22 pm

    WOW.

    Yeah, there’s a difference between getting a little heated and physical assault. Sadly, it’s not the first time I’ve seen stuff like that. When I was in high school there was a school in our division that was known for encouraging unnecessary roughness in all team sports. And that applied to their girls’ teams as well. People would be surprised what an athlete will do for their coaches. I’m not saying that’s what happened in this situation, but it’s possible. As for consequences, if this is her first offense I’d have her sit out for a few games or weeks (I’m not sure how often they play, so whichever is longer). But if she’s been warned or punished for this before then I say ban her for the remainder of the season, although they said something about the conference championship coming up, so if that’s the case I’d penalize her in the next season too (assuming she’s returning).

  6. November 8, 2009 10:35 pm

    OMG!! Okay, where were the refs? She should have been red carded. I mean really. It is intersting that the camera was on her enough to have her own highlight reel on ESPN. This is probabaly not the first game she has done this. Did someone mention her being an Olympic medalist? Great, let’s have her on the world stage doing this. So maybe someone should review this, give her a sedative and some time to develop her butt muscles… on the bench.

  7. November 8, 2009 11:11 pm

    i have no comment right now, i am so angry.

    no… i DO have a comment…

    WHO THE HELL KEEPS LETTING HER PLAY???

    COME ON!!!

  8. November 8, 2009 11:32 pm

    :S She would have been sent off in the first 5 minutes in a British game…

  9. November 9, 2009 3:59 am

    um, if that was guy’s football (sorry, soccer) there would have been a red card after 2 or 3 incidents. That usually means you’re automatically banned for a few games after. How many incidents was that? Where’s the ref?!!

    also in most english football clubs, players get wages docked off for every yellow card, and more for a red card. But that kind of behaviour should definitely not be tolerated. That is assault. Pure and simple.

  10. November 9, 2009 5:08 am

    Wow. Somebody needs a good jack-slapping.

  11. November 9, 2009 5:41 am

    well…coming from an ex soccer player some of those things are allowed….you can technically pretty much jack the other player up if you are “going for the ball”….but the pulling the hair and all that other crap….she should be suspended.

    i got red carded out of many a soccer game….i had quite the temper and would pull those antics. i finally had to sit down the the athletic director and was put on “probation” and couldnt play 4 games and was pulled from games on my first yellow card to ensure i dont get another red card.

    She should be suspended or on probation. Because that is just unsportsmanlike….it is embarrassing, not only for her, but her team and family.

  12. November 9, 2009 7:02 am

    Yep, thats why we play Farkel – although I wouldn’t push mama too far! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

  13. November 9, 2009 7:08 am

    Man, I’m glad I don’t have a pony tail.

    I think on a guys team, the benches would have cleared.

  14. November 9, 2009 7:31 am

    Ummmm… why didn’t any of these other girls get up and give her a dose of it??? That’s the shocker to me…. oops, there goes the flesh again.. dang. Thinkin’ she does it cause she can…. One good smack i tell ya….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. November 9, 2009 8:03 am

    Causes? Steroids. Abuse. Mental issues. Immaturity. Poor coaching. Lack of self-control. etc.
    Consequences? Not allowed to play. Therapy. Jail time.
    Seriously. Jail time. If this happened on a sidewalk, someone would press charges.

  16. November 9, 2009 8:31 am

    I am sooooooo flippin disgusted by this.

    I was blessed with enough talent to play D1 sports to pay for college as this girl has. It is a blessing and gift that should not be abused.

    The college has given you the gift of a free or greatly reduced education in exchange for you playing a sport and having fun doing it…

    OK, before I completely go riding off on my high horse here, I think she should be banned by the school and NCAA from the sport…scholarship revoked. A message has to be sent to the thugs (and yes she is one) that the traditions of sport and sportsmanship will be upheld as well as the reputation of the university. Sounds harsh I know but this kind of stuff sends a message to kids.

  17. November 9, 2009 10:15 am

    ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    I literally had to pull my jaw up….

    I came home for lunch specifically so that I could see this clip – no Youtube at work lol

    But my GOD….

    I HONESTLY….. wow.

    Just saying, she needs a smackdown of her own, imho!

  18. November 9, 2009 11:09 am

    Wow. You are very generous to call her a “young lady.” That is certainly NOT the word that came to my mind!

    Yikes. She must have some major issues to act so terribly. I hope someone calls her on that behavior and SOON!

  19. November 9, 2009 11:38 am

    Wow. See, my thoughts went instantly to her soul. What is her family life like? Does she have so much anger inside of her that this is just what bubbles over the top? How do you body slam a girl by her pony tail and just walk away? With no expression? I think there has to have been at least that much damage and more done to her soul for her to give out like that. And that breaks my heart.

  20. November 9, 2009 12:39 pm

    I’m gonna play a little devil’s advocate here and disagree with most of the comments here.

    As a life-long football (soccer for the Americans here) follower and fan, this behaviour is expected on the field. It happens in every game all over the world. This level of vicious attack is nothing knew. During yesterday’s Chelsea vs. Man Utd game, Wes Brown got hacked down by a fast, forceful studs-out challenge to the chest. The kind of hit that could break a rib. During the LA Galaxy vs Chivas game, Mike Magee was the recipient of a planned and vindictive kick to the happy-sacks from a Chivas player. The consequence? Nothing of any significance. It’s not fair or right, but it’s expected.

    The BYU chick who got decked got in to the sport and got on that field knowing exactly what to expect. Hair pulling and violent take downs are nothing new in the sport. This one, for some reason, has gone viral and is getting attention, but I can guarantee that stuff just as bad or worse occurred in many games this weekend all over the world. It doesn’t condone it, but if you hand out a life long ban for the infraction, then ‘fairness’ would then dictate that you’d have to ban 80% of the players out there for such acts.

    It’s a part of the sport, friends. The NM player will play another game and be mindful of cameras on her, and the BYU player will get up with a sore neck and play another game, perhaps with her hair tied in a bun.

    • November 9, 2009 12:54 pm

      james – i totally see your point. and was thinkin, kinda, the same thing (as far as it being expected) cuz the refs seemingly let so much of it slide AND the victims didnt even defend themselves.

      still…expected and allowed or not – the brutality of it all is beyond my comprehension. personally…i would not allow or condone my child to take part in a sport that encourages this kind of behavior, or behavioUr – in your honoUr ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • November 9, 2009 1:04 pm

        We’ll teach you Americans to spell correctly one way or another ๐Ÿ™‚

      • November 9, 2009 2:19 pm

        Point taken, although I would add that I don’t think the sport ‘encourages’ this kind of behaviour. There are measures in place in the top leagues to punish it – players have received bans of varying lengths for unprovoked, unnecessary violence (Eric Cantona’s Kung-Fu kick in the 90’s springs immediately to mind), but it won’t ever be eradicated.

        I’d be interested to see the events leading up to this though. For all we know, the BYU player could have been provoking the attack in the game leading up to it. There’s always two sides…

  21. November 9, 2009 3:37 pm

    Was this supposed to make me laugh? Seriously…..hilarious. She needs to be benched for sure.

  22. katiekrongard permalink
    November 9, 2009 3:58 pm

    Oh my word. That is all I can say. I started laughing when she yanked that girl down by her hair.
    I played soccer for most of my life and there are more girls like this out there…I’d be lying if I said I didn’t use my nasty on the field occasionally. But in all seriousness, I really believe its the competition thats been created between women. Whether it be on the soccer field or not, its really sad to look at how women treat each other.

  23. November 9, 2009 6:50 pm

    She should be suspended at the very least – possibly ejected for the season.

  24. November 9, 2009 6:59 pm

    Case in point…this isn’t a rare thing!

    http://www.break.com/index/high-school-girls-soccer-brawl.html

    • November 9, 2009 7:40 pm

      yah. it definitely happens. ive seen it in elementary sports too. fact is, doesnt make it okay. it just doesnt. thats where im coming from.

      three years ago, the last time our son kota was on a soccer team, his coach taught them some pretty aggressive moves. they were gettin carded left and right for it too. come to find out…said coach was banned from league soccer in our area cuz he had smashed a guys face in by steppin on it with his cleat during a game. his claim – “thats the game”. if thats how youre to win – then your game skills must not be all that great.

      i get intimidation and mind games – but i could never allow or excuse physical harm to win/play a game.

      id love to see what soccer would look like if they played and won based on actual soccer playing skills. thats a game id pay good money to see.

  25. November 10, 2009 6:13 am

    Late to the party but here’s my comment:

    I’ve come to the conclusion that the reason this kind of stuff is “allowed” is because it gets spectators into the stadium. I think it’s one of the only reasons that hockey is still played…

    I played my fair share of sports, and the bottom line was always to conduct yourself as a representative of the school/organization and of your family. On and off the field (or pool in my case). As a kid, NONE of this stuff would have been tolerated, and as a volunteer youth soccer coach, I don’t tolerate it either. But I’m talking about 8-10 year olds.

    Reality check: the violence on the field is what the “fans” are looking for. At the collegiate level as well as the professional level. And some parents even advocate it. At Mary’s last soccer game (U10) a parent on the sideline was yelling for his daughter to “cut off” the other player, and at one point I heard him tell her to “trip him if you have to, but get the ball!” This is a recreational league! We don’t even keep score! But this is what professional sports has brought to the arena.

    This disturbs me. Because, like you, Tam, I think if you have to resort to those kind of tactics to win a game, or even feel like you are actually competing, your game skills need a lot of work.

  26. November 10, 2009 9:02 am

    I saw on Anderson Cooper360 last night that she is suspended indefinitely from playing.

  27. November 10, 2009 10:42 am

    I would have so kicked her ass. That’s my unchristian response. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    I gasped so many times in this!!! Seriously, she should not be allowed to play anymore. At all. Ever. Anger management for sure. Dang…. She seems REALLY angry. ๐Ÿ˜

Leave a Reply

