Skip to content

pimp your post

November 12, 2009

friday the 13th. okay, how many of you secretly cringe when friday the 13th rolls around? come on, just between you and me 😉

thinkin this would be a good time to have a “have you ever” day. so…i ask a have you ever question – you answer then ask a have you ever question for the next commenter.

have you ever…lied about your age?

oh, and dont forget to leave a link to one of your own favorite posts this week and/or a link to someones post you enjoyed.

 

63 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy Polek permalink
    November 13, 2009 12:29 am

    I promised!

    http://lifesaroadtrip.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/tam-made-me-do-it/

    I have lied about my age… it’s always been because people think I look a lot younger than I am. But when I lived in New York, you could ride the train for $1.50 round trip if you were 12 or under, so even though I was 15/16 I always rode as a 12 year old.

    Have you ever…. thrown up on an amusement park ride?

  2. pokinatcha permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:16 am

    Nope, never thrown up on a ride. But, I’ve demanded to be let off of a farris wheel.

    http://pokinatcha.posterous.com/epic-sunday-adventure

    Have you ever used someone else’s toothbrush?

  3. bahava permalink
    November 13, 2009 2:51 am

    Nope…can’t say that I have used someone else’s toothbrush.

    http://bahava.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/see-the-bare-feet/

    Have you ever been to Africa?

    • November 13, 2009 6:55 am

      hey! I’m glad to see you on here! Your one blog post was used in our MOPS newsletter. It was so great and I made a point to let everyone know why I chose it at our meeting yesterday. Thank you! On a funny note, they also used an old blog post of mine for the front page letter. I didn’t submit it but the gal that does the newsletter read it a long time ago and wanted to use it. Blogs ruled our newsletter! haha! THANK YOU AGAIN!

  4. November 13, 2009 3:30 am

    Haven’t been to Africa….would love to though!!

    My wife was born on November 13, 1981….that was a Friday too :-). Happy Birthday to my soul mate!

    http://www.whatsthislifefor.org/2009/11/13/28-years-ago/

    Have you ever NOT cried watching I am Sam?? (sorry, watching it BAWLIN right now :D)

    • November 13, 2009 6:56 am

      Your wife and I have the EXACT SAME BIRTHDAY. EXACT. Even to the year. 😉 WOW!

      • November 13, 2009 2:59 pm

        She wants to know where you were born and what time? 🙂

        • November 13, 2009 6:27 pm

          haha! I wanted to know that too but I thought I’d be stalkerish if I asked. LOL Not that she is. 😆

          Medford Oregon and I’d have to call my mom to see what time. 😆

          • November 13, 2009 6:30 pm

            my mom says “oh gosh, I don’t know. In the afternoon I think. About 4:30. You know 28 years is a long time to remember that. I know you were born early enough for everyone to leave me and go have dinner, so I think 4:30” 😆 I couldn’t stop laughing at her thinking out loud explaining this. 😆

            • November 14, 2009 8:07 am

              Well, you’re a little older cuz she was born around 10pm :D…..Oh, and she was on an Air Force base in Belleville, IL.

  5. November 13, 2009 5:15 am

    I cry v.easily in movies…and had I seen I Am Sam, I’m sure it would be the same.

    Meanwhile, I managed to get through the whole of Friday the 13th without even realising.

    It’s now the 14th here … so … Happy Birthday Tam!

    Have you ever called out to someone you thought you recognised, found it wasn’t that person, and tried to cover it up?

    • November 13, 2009 8:27 am

      thank you david!! so, if i were in Oz now…i could totally skip my birthday! 😀

  6. November 13, 2009 5:26 am

    Oh YEAH I’ve done that! Verrry embarrassing!

    Have you ever looked at a word that was spelled correctly but somehow it looked “WRONG” to you?

    Oh and my post – with my first POLL (So go and vote everybody!)
    http://bajanpoet.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/quick-question-supernatural-callings/

  7. November 13, 2009 5:27 am

    I don’t REMEMBER lying about my age, even though I look at least 10 years younger than I am…

    http://karnardkreations.com/bernardshuford/wordpress/2009/11/words/

  8. November 13, 2009 6:05 am

    I accidentally lied about my age all through age 29 when I kept telling people I was either 28 or 30. 29 just wasn’t sticking to me for some reason. I always caught myself and said, no no no, wait…I’m 29 though.

    http://studyincontradictions.blogspot.com/2009/11/its-breathing-thats-taking-all-this.html

    I always have to look up words that I think I spell wrong but don’t. I remember one time I spent 10 minutes convinced I’d misspelled “the”

    Have you ever taken credit for a gift you didn’t give?

    • November 13, 2009 7:00 am

      once, i couldn’t figure out how to spell the word “might”, because my little country girl texan accent was too strong for even me to understand. i pronounced the word: mah-nt. poor little hick girl…

  9. November 13, 2009 6:52 am

    I was BORN on a Friday the 13th! 😉

    And my answer to the above is NO I have not taken credit for a gift I didn’t give, but I did deny giving a gift that a person turned out HATING and didn’t know was from me. 😉

    Have you ever taken a shower only to get back in your jammies for the whole day??

    • Heidi permalink
      November 13, 2009 8:39 am

      Happy Birthday my bran!!!

  10. November 13, 2009 7:01 am

    Hmm…I believe I have!!!! Cold, rainy days are perfect for this!

    K. Here’s my post. I haven’t blogged in awhile, but I needed to share my heart.
    http://coloraturajoy.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/im-the-most-humble-person-i-know/

    • November 13, 2009 9:32 am

      Why waste the water then? lol hmmmm…. I went to Tampa last year and there was a cold front when I got there – didn’t bathe for 4 days coz I didn’t sweat! (Coming from the tropics, that was something for me!)

  11. November 13, 2009 7:02 am

    oh, and if anyone hasn’t been reading up on “affair week”, it is incredibly moving. such a blessing to see God’s grace so richly displayed!

    http://www.graceisforsinners.com/

    • November 13, 2009 9:33 am

      Just finished reading through them….. going through it myself, so it’s been challenging and uplifting all at the same time.

  12. November 13, 2009 7:16 am

    Oh, and I forgot to leave a question. Cuz I’m smart like that.

    Have you ever willingly eaten a bug, worm, grub, or other disgusting creature?

  13. November 13, 2009 8:09 am

    YEP…

    Have you ever gone sky diving?

    Here is my post for the week

    http://movingthroughlife.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/today-i-jump/

  14. November 13, 2009 8:20 am

    Nope I’ve never gone sky diving.

    Here’s my post
    http://mandyperry.wordpress.com/2009/11/10/too-much-adventure-for-1-day/

    And my question (yeah, the two are related, so go read my misadventure)
    Have YOU ever locked your keys and your child in the car?

    • November 13, 2009 8:25 am

      hahaha! im sorry. im NOT laughing. im NOT laughing. i havent even read your post yet, either. oh geeze, i hope your child wasnt traumatized cuz then id feel real bad for NOT laughing.

      😕

      😉

      😕

      • November 13, 2009 12:55 pm

        No worries, Tam, she was just fine. I think I was more traumatized than she was, traumatically embarrassed!!!

        Love the Pimp the Post this week..added many 🙂 s to my Friday.

  15. Heidi permalink
    November 13, 2009 8:28 am

    http://wp.me/s4PdA-barrage

    Hmm… never locked my kids and keys in the car (altough now that they are teens, I may think of it, if I didn’t worry they would drive off)

    Ever been in meeting and starting laughing and then snorting?

  16. November 13, 2009 8:33 am

    I’ve never lied about my age. I hate to sound like I’m spouting off but I don’t look my age. I look a LOT younger than 35. Sometimes that’s good, sometimes that’s bad. 🙂

    That being said, I think Horaldo deserves a little attention: http://shawnw.org/old-shoes/

  17. November 13, 2009 8:36 am

    Lied about my age? No – 41 is old enough to not care anymore. 🙂

    http://rickstilwell.wordpress.com/2009/11/12/filter-the-filters/

  18. November 13, 2009 8:42 am

    http://www.chezcrazy.org/?p=745

    Yes Heidi, I have, and thanks for bringing up such an embarrassing memory! 🙂

    Have you ever walked into your kitchen to get something to eat, stopped and told yourself you don’t need to eat, and walked back out?

  19. November 13, 2009 8:49 am

    It National Adoption Month and I was asked by @reallifesarah to write a guest post about adoption for her blog. I decided to honor my birth mom with my post. I pray I honored her well. Here’s the link to Hannah’s Story: The Other Side of Adoption

    http://bit.ly/4slj2b

    • November 13, 2009 8:52 am

      Oh, and I haven’t lied about my age because every one thinks I’m younger than I am. That’s starting to change though 😦

  20. November 13, 2009 9:37 am

    If I go to the kitchen, something will be eaten.

    http://dubdynomite.com/2009/11/10/tmi-tuesday-rejection/

    Have you ever said something about someone only to find out they were standing behind you and heard the whole thing?

  21. November 13, 2009 9:41 am

    ohmydang, i have! its the worst thing. such a lesson 😯

    have you ever got you fingers stuck in a vaccum while its running? how about toes?

  22. November 13, 2009 9:44 am

    no, but since my cleaning lady does the vacuuming I’m pretty safe. 🙂

    http://gitzengirl.blogspot.com/2009/11/grading-on-curve.html

    have you ever eaten all the cookie dough batter before you had the chance to bake any?

    • November 13, 2009 9:47 am

      speaking of cookies! ive taken chunks off of each and every one of those cookies and tried them all – 😯 woman! ADDICTED!

      • November 13, 2009 10:15 am

        I only order those for other people because I love the monster cookies so much I’d eat them all in one sitting…

        [they have other cookie flavors, too, but those three are my favorites… and of course they’re addicting… they’re made in IOWA!] 🙂

        • November 13, 2009 10:18 am

          i know! when i saw the “IA” i was like… a piece of gitz. something so close to her – now is in my hands. oh the feeling! loved it!!

  23. Heidi permalink
    November 13, 2009 9:53 am

    Yes, Sarah. Many batches of snickerdoodles have not been made.

    Have ever shook someones hand and needed a towel dry off afterwards?

    • November 13, 2009 10:05 am

      if you read through things too quickly, like i often do, you may not read the word “batches” as it is. it often looks much like another word. 🙂

  24. November 13, 2009 10:36 am

    I don’t think I’ve lied about my age yet, but I’m getting to the point where temptation may be near. 😉

    Here’s my post: http://mandiesmumblings.blogspot.com/2009/11/our-first-pioneer-night.html

  25. November 13, 2009 10:37 am

    Ooops…just realized I played wrong. 😉

    • November 13, 2009 10:39 am

      hahaha! we make your own rules here, mandie 😉

      • November 13, 2009 12:03 pm

        We do make YOUR rules, don’t we? 😉 See above comment… Your = OUR 😆

  26. Heidi permalink
    November 13, 2009 11:59 am

    Okay we have a stall here peoples.

    Who is your real life hero?

  27. Christy Polek permalink
    November 13, 2009 12:13 pm

    My mom. Bravest and strongest woman I know.

    Have you ever fallen asleep in the middle of a conversation?

  28. November 13, 2009 12:17 pm

    Oh yeah…. but my wife is NOTORIOUS for that … made me think I was BORING or something!!

    Have you ever forgot you were cooking and burned the breakfast/lunch/dinner and then had to eat out?

  29. Heidi permalink
    November 13, 2009 12:25 pm

    Yes, It was my first Easter Ham.

    A sudden smell that soothes you?

    • November 13, 2009 2:56 pm

      yes. vanilla. so soothing!

      have you ever drooled while youre awake?!

      • Heidi permalink
        November 13, 2009 3:41 pm

        Matter of fact, yes I have. (long story)

        Have you ever started to talking to someone on the phone, and found out it was a different person??

  30. November 13, 2009 3:07 pm

    Well, I was hoping someone else would beat me to answering this, but
    I’m sure I salivate every time I think of dark chocolate. I think, in most cases tho’, I manage to keep it in my mouth.

    In line with this I just posted: http://lazrus2.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/are-you-ready-to-die/

    Have you ever had to consider the possibility of having cancer?

    D-

  31. November 13, 2009 3:39 pm

    Yes. I had to get a melanoma/mole thing removed and biopsied after I’d been in Australia 2 years ago.

    Since it has been 40th birthday of Sesame Street my own post has to be more photo footage of the Elmo slippers…

    http://learningfromsophie.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/the-adventures-of-the-elmo-slippers-part-3/

    My fave post of a friend’s has to be Caroline’s South African tale of the week….

    http://www.carolinecollie.com/2009/11/my-hero-hubby-hes-still-not-the-croc-hunter/

    Have you ever gone for a week without showering?

    • November 13, 2009 10:43 pm

      yeah. summer time while i was in middle school.
      seriously, i was so “organic” and just outside all the time, i didn’t care.
      and since i stayed with my 100% male father during the summers, he didn’t seem to notice anything too funny… 🙂

  32. November 13, 2009 10:44 pm

    have you ever plastered your wall with posters of boy bands, rock bands, or the like?

  33. November 14, 2009 2:16 am

    I have never lied about my age that I can remember! My best post presently would hafta be our newest birth story: http://titus2woman.wordpress.com/2009/11/02/frances-graces-birth-story/ (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  34. November 14, 2009 11:01 am

    Okay~I get the Q thing now! I only had a Michael Jackson poster on my wall, however I DID have a photo album that we laugh at today. As you flip through page after page of family photos and middle school friends you suddenly come upon a FOUR PAGE SPREAD of Ralph Macchio! LOL! I even cut out the words, “RALPH GOES FOR IT!” HA HA HA HA!

    Have you ever sent a private e-mail out accidentally to someone else or many others instead? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

