Skip to content

39 years and 9 months ago today…

November 14, 2009

…it was Valentines day, 1970.

thanks for celebrating it, mom!

happy birthday to both of us i guess πŸ˜‰

brent decided to play 80’s music all day friday to make me feel young. sweet, right? πŸ˜• well, friday on twitter a bunch of us had a great convo about the 80’s. and as much as we all like to say it was dreadful…there is something about that decade that when reflected upon, brings a smile to your face. dont deny it.

my sweet sis, heidi, found this video montage of 80’s video clips. my favorite can be found at around the 3 min 50 sec mark.

whats your favorite 80’s song?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 2:14 am

    HA! LOVE IT and 80’S music!!!!! I think my very fav was “Oh Sheila” and “Egyptian Lover”…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. November 14, 2009 4:32 am

    The Bangles…

    Or maybe Laura Branigan – Self Control – my fave record as a kid.

  3. November 14, 2009 8:05 am

    Happy Birthday!! Not sure I have a favorite…..cuz they’re all SO good!! Love me some REO Speedwagon, (they’re from my home town in IL), Journey, Styx, Aha, ABBA…..yeah, I said it, ABBA! πŸ˜€

  4. November 14, 2009 8:14 am

    LOVE the 80’s…

    Happy Birthday, sista!

  5. Ryanne permalink
    November 14, 2009 8:29 am

    That was an amazing video! I love the eighties. I think my favorite is Walk like an egyptian, but they are all good. Happy birthday again!

  6. Heidi permalink
    November 14, 2009 10:06 am

    I don’t have one genre of music that I listen too. I have many. Since I am 4 yrs older than you today ..Happy Birthday Sis… I have many in this era. Heres a few.

    David Bowie
    Gloria Estefan and Miami Sound Machine
    Guns and Rose (Sweet child of mine)
    Luther Vandross
    Yes
    Inxs
    Eurythmics
    Styx
    Duran Duran
    Robert Palmer

    I could go on But I won’t!!

  7. November 14, 2009 10:12 am

    Oh my gosh, I’m going to be watching that video a million times… MEMORIES!!! Sitting with my brothers in the kitchen by the huge boom box hitting “pause” on the record button during the commercials of American Top 40 to make a mix tape of every one of these songs.

    Jack and Diane, baby. It was scandalous in our Catholic school. And mom made us do jumping jacks if we were listening to Let’s Get Physical because we were trying to convince her it was about working out… I think Mom gave up once Madonna got popular πŸ™‚

    And my friend Sue Ann went as Boy George for Halloween… so funny.

    Oh, and Tamalita… HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!

  8. November 14, 2009 10:23 am

    i was obviously quite young when i went through the 80’s, but i was the BIGGEST 80’s rockin’ 5 year old there ever was. i embraced that decade like it was do or die.

    don’t make fun…but my favorite 80’s song is most definitely a-ha’s take on me. i STILL rock out to that song. regularly.

    although so many of these fall into my faves category. for reals. this video had me jammin’. it was only embarrassing for those around me.

  9. November 14, 2009 1:01 pm

    I remember NOTHING about the 80’s πŸ˜†

    Except the awful swimsuits, the horrid perms, standing on top of my swingset singing “like a virgin” and not knowing WHAT a virgin was, my mom locking us out of our house so we’d stay in the backyard and we listened to Dolly Pardon (yes, Dolly) on our little radio, and the horrid short shorts my mom was always wearing, even if she DID have the body for them…those are NEVER cool. 😐

  10. November 14, 2009 3:35 pm

    A big Happy Birthday to ya!

    Favorite 80’s song…boy that is tough….Probably ACDC Back In Black (early 70’s being August 1980) or anything by Elvis Costello or The Fixx

  11. November 15, 2009 9:51 am

    Happy Birthday! I’ll be 40 Friday, my husband had the best 80’s party for me Friday. I love the video, certainly brings back memories! 40 is the new 20…I’ve decided to EMBRACE it…somehow! : )

  12. November 16, 2009 10:59 am

    I like this one: … i think, wait is that how it went?

    Actually, me knowing this one is all your fault too, Tam.

  13. November 16, 2009 10:59 am

    Happy Birthday btw.

  14. November 17, 2009 8:07 am

    Happy birthday, Tam! What a fun video!! I’m still listening, but so far my favorites from this walk down memory lane are “How Will I Know” by Whitney Houston and “Livin’ on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi. Oh, but you know what else I love? “Pour Some Sugar on Me.” Love. It. πŸ™‚

  15. November 17, 2009 9:11 am

    toooooo many to choose from!! I really love the 80’s too! And HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!

  16. November 17, 2009 9:21 am

    (I wish I had all these songs on my Itunes!!! Might have to do some shopping πŸ™‚

    • November 17, 2009 9:23 am

      me too! every breath you take is my ALL TIME FAVORITE! i dont even have that in my itunes either. we are slackers.

      how ya feeling?

  17. November 17, 2009 11:24 pm

    Come On, Eileen.
    my fave.

Leave a Reply

