Skip to content

not my reflection

November 16, 2009

ever since we moved into our house, almost two years ago, i have not liked my bathroom mirror. its not only because its just this square piece of glass hooked to the wall without any framing or flair, but rather… it has never reflected me correctly.

thats right. it has never given me an accurate reflection of me. however, i didnt realize it til just a few weeks ago. but ive known for nearly two years that something wasnt right about it. i always walked away somehow feeling worse about myself, my self image. i know…petty stuff, but true.

then one day while i was cleaning this mirror i noticed that the slightest bit of pressure put on the middle would change my view dramatically. i went from looking wider to taller. like, in an instant. with just one touch. so i called kass in to stand in front of the mirror. she appeared squaty looking, thicker. i then pressed on the middle of it and sure enough – the real kass appeared.

come to find out – the center of my mirror was bowed out about a half an inch. i never even realized this.

i had settled for a distorted view of myself for almost two years when i all i needed to do was make a slight adjustment.

isnt that just like life? we see something and accept it as it is even if it isnt right. we dont bother to try to dig for truth. we settle for a lie.

it was a great lesson for me. very revealing, so to speak. and…i finally look like me again.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 2:22 am

    what a curious story.
    It is really like life. Often we believe blindly what others might tell us instead of noticing our true feelings. Your feelings have told you all the time that something was wrong.

    It’s like a metaphor for intuition.

    • November 17, 2009 9:19 am

      exactly. and i didnt listen to it. i just let it nag me. think of all the time and energy we waste on things, little things, that could be fixed in an instant.

      it opened my eyes.

  2. Heidi permalink
    November 17, 2009 6:02 am

    Amen… I love this..

    There are many so things in life the “distort” our visions, and with a slight twist, pull, or even a yank changes it.

    If we would only do it. Our perpective would change.

    .

    • November 17, 2009 9:18 am

      “if we would only do it” …

      the phrase that has been resounding in my head for almost a month now.

      action. action. action.

      dang…it takes me a long time to “get” things.

  3. November 17, 2009 6:42 am

    Love it.

    Looking for the pressure points in my own mirror….

    • November 17, 2009 9:17 am

      mmmm, pressure points. what are those again???

      πŸ˜‰

  4. November 17, 2009 8:43 am

    At first this made me laugh and then I was like, Oh yeah, wow that’s good stuff. Love it.

    • November 17, 2009 9:16 am

      your laughter amuses me.

      (i just wanted to write that out. i totally said it in my head with a studious/british accent)

      as you were
      πŸ˜‰

  5. November 17, 2009 8:47 am

    Dang, Tam. That’s amazing.

    I also think it’s profound that you had to verify your finding by putting someone else in front of the mirror and comparing THEIR reality with the reflection. Only then did you really understand that the reflections were distorted.

    You needed someone else to help you figure this out.

    • November 17, 2009 9:14 am

      true. i wanted to be absolutely sure before i altered, permanently, the mirror. it wouldve been much worse had the original view been correct – and the one i corrected it to be was the false one. make sense? cuz that didnt come out my fingers like it was sounding in my head πŸ˜•

    • Heidi permalink
      November 17, 2009 10:03 am

      Wow… Mandy I totally missed that.

      I guess that’s 101th reason why I do life with you πŸ™‚

      What a perspective.

      Thank you!

      • November 18, 2009 7:24 am

        Tam: Makes total sense. Trust your fingers.

        H: πŸ™‚ What are the 100 first ones? hehe just kidding!!!

  6. November 17, 2009 8:58 am

    love your connections here!

    • November 17, 2009 9:16 am

      thanks, friend. it took me long enough tho πŸ™‚

  7. November 17, 2009 12:55 pm

    That might be the best metaphor I have heard in a long while.

    We love your reflection Tam…I think you might be surprised to know how much of a great glow you put off.

  8. November 17, 2009 7:30 pm

    That was so good. On so many different levels.

    When I was in high school my self-perception was so far off. I was at my best friend Katie’s house getting ready to go to an event and we were picking out outfits. I wouldn’t try on her skirt because she was so tall and thin and I knew I’d never get it zipped up. When I finally gave in and tried it on, it fell off me. It’s so hard to see yourself one way and realize the truth is another. I couldn’t see it myself until I put on her skirt, much like you weren’t sure until you looked at Kass.

    If only we had His eyes instead of ours.

  9. November 18, 2009 8:56 am

    How thankful I am that He’s an accurate mirror! I hate warped mirrors.

  10. November 29, 2009 10:32 am

    such a great analogy.

    i’m becoming more keenly aware of how misaligned my lenses are… now the replacing of them is the hardest part…

Leave a Reply

