Skip to content

just a little thought

November 18, 2009

just heard an online pastor pray that we would lay our needs at Gods feet.

amen! i always need to recognize that my needs are in His presence and under His control. but the things i need to really lay at His feet…. are my wants.

im quite aware and confident that my needs are taken care of, that He is aware of them. i am fiercely loved and showered with perfect provision.

but honestly, its my wants that i must lay down. my wants are what so often interrupt the peace in my spirit. its my wants that often trick me into believing my needs are not being met.

when i can freely and willingly lay my wants down…i will see clearly how my needs are already dealt with and known by a loving God. and perhaps, i will talk less about me when spending time with my Father and more about Him and others.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 6:50 am

    I am not good at laying down my wants… Good post and a great reminder for me today!

  2. November 19, 2009 10:33 am

    Amen, Sista!!! Couldn’t have said it better myself! (I don’t think I can get away with the Amen Sista thing, just trying it out, but its not really me. hehehehe)

  3. November 19, 2009 2:34 pm

    You know – I’ve been pondering a thought recently: what are needs?

    I mean the only things I can verify as needs are those things which keep me alive. But in that case, prisoners in concentration camps had their needs met as long as they weren’t getting killed. That hardly seems right, though, doesn’t it?

    It seems the line between need and want is blurry at best and non-existent at worst. If it is worse. What do your kids need? Well, that depends on how much you love them and how many resources you have, right? For instance: they may need three square meals a day, but what kind of meals? Bread and water? Fast food? Sandwiches and juice? Fresh, organic, homemade, gourmet? Who’s to say what they need except you? If you say they need nothing but the best … you’re right, right?

    So perhaps ‘need’ is only defined in the heart of the Father. Our Father has infinite resources, as well as infinite love. He also has infinite wisdom, though, which is why He will never spoil us or create in us a heart of selfishness. As for the rest … I think anything goes.

    What do you think?

  4. TheNorEaster permalink
    November 23, 2009 2:15 am

    “It’s my wants that often trick me into believing my needs are not being met.”

    Well said. Very well said.

  5. November 28, 2009 12:00 pm

    you, my friend, have so much wisdom in that heart o’ yours.

Leave a Reply

