Skip to content

doesnt it?

November 30, 2009

Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure…than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat.
– Theodore Roosevelt

doesnt this quote make you want to laugh at all the things youve let hold you back from your dreams? doesnt it make you want to put all the excuses to rest and start doing? doesnt it make you want to tap into the strength and ability that has been stifled within you for far too long?

doesnt it?

now, will it?

that is the question i ask myself now…


10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 10:59 pm

    Speaking of… when are you going to start sending me pages? Huh? Huh?

    • November 30, 2009 11:05 pm

      ha! I KNOW. i told you my head was in a fog, right. so today, i had to go to the grocery store. and guess what i remembered in the pasta aisle??? “send gitz my stuff!!!!”

      mmmhmmm.

      i am ALL together right now.

      and…thank you.

      😉

  2. December 1, 2009 3:52 am

    Love this quote!!!!

    I try to live by it every day but sometimes it is far easier to take the easy route.

    In my career, my family is choosing this very day to take a tougher route and I am moving from a position I have been comfortable with for years into a position running a division of my company that I have never worked for with people I have never worked with. There is a lot more to this but I am certain it will be filled with failure and triumph.

    Crazy thing about it is that if you are going out and working hard and failing, usually you are having fun!!!

    • December 1, 2009 7:07 am

      remember to keep us updated on how this transition is going for you.

      “Crazy thing about it is that if you are going out and working hard and failing, usually you are having fun!!!”

      this is the kind of perspective that can carry someone through a lot easier. i love it, joseph!!

  3. December 1, 2009 5:23 am

    So… What’s the answer?

    • December 1, 2009 7:05 am

      well…i could tell you, but id have to kill ya.

      MY answer: do it afraid. at least theres motion and intent.

  4. December 1, 2009 6:02 am

    this struck the same chord inside me as a lyric in a song yesterday (and i almost wrote a whole post about it!)

    Staring down the stars, jealous of the moon
    You wish you could fly.
    But you’re staying where you are,
    there’s nothing you can do,
    if you’re too scared to try.

    i think i still have a post swirling around in my brain about this.

    great quote, btw.

    • December 1, 2009 7:07 am

      and i would LOVE to read your thoughts on this. so write it! please?!!

  5. Heidi permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:58 pm

    Many times we think we should wait to do something until we are no longer afraid, but if we did that, we’d probably accomplish very little for God, for others, or even for ourselves.

    This is what God wants us to do. Even if our mouth is dry and our knees are shaking, we need to keep asking God to strengthen us. We need to determine that our lives are not going to be ruled by fear but by the Word of God.

    Easier written than to do, I know. I struggle with this all the time.

    I like how He challenged Abram: He said, “Pack up and leave everyone you know and everything you’re comfortable with and go to a place I will show you.” If Abram had bowed his knee to fear and didn’t walk in fear; he never would’ve fulfilled his calling to become all God created him to be—the father of many nations.

    Giving in to fear alters God’s best plan for your life. So I NEED to use the power of God’s Word to do what He wants me to do…even if I have to do it afraid! The My rewards will be great!!

Trackbacks

  1. only i can hold me back. «

Leave a Reply

