Skip to content

Ruth – a repost.

December 1, 2009

a long while back, jenni catron hosted a women of influence week and asked me to write for it on her blog. to say i was honored would be a tremendous under statement. i have the utmost respect and admiration for jenni. if you dont know who she is, go to her blog and browse around. and prepare to be enlightened, informed and encouraged. she is a fantastic leader at cross point in TN and they are blessed to have her.

and….heres my original post. my thoughts on Ruth…

*********************************

Ruth 1:19…is just about the only verse in this chapter my bible doesn’t have commentary on. I could never figure that out. That one verse says SO much to me.

Naomi and her daughters in law are going back to her homeland. Naomi had been gone for at least 10 years. In that time she had lost her husband and both her sons. She had heard that in her homeland they were experiencing good crops again. Eventually she would return with one of her daughters in law, Ruth. We all know how that story goes. It’s a beautiful picture of commitment, love and respect. But that isn’t what captures me in this chapter.

Ruth 1:19 (NLT)  “So the two of them continued on their journey. When they came to Bethlehem, the entire town was excited by their arrival. “Is it really Naomi?” the women asked.”

The entire town was excited! And the women asked if it was really Naomi! Why? Why did her return get this kind of response? My guess? Naomi left quite an impact on her town! Big enough, that they were waiting at the gates for her return. The women were on the edge of their seats!

Naomi left a mark on the people. And not just the women, the “town”, which I found incredibly admirable!

The other thing this verse makes me ask is did she know the impact she had on them? Did she equip the women? Clearly she influenced them. And it seems it was for the good. But did she even realize it?

Do you have any idea the mark you are leaving on those around you? Would you say that if you left for a time there would be a void? Should there be a void? It’s one thing to be missed – but it’s another thing to remove an integral part of the picture. Are we equipping those around us? Are we leaving an impression with purpose? Would your community or sphere of influence be affected by your absence, but equipped for the better by the impact and influence you left?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 11:01 pm

    I was called to join a church plant recently and I moved from the suburbs to the downtown area.

    After been gone for about 3 months, I had the opportunity to go on a retreat and in the retreat, many of my friends wrote me letters.

    Those letters were so wonderful and beautiful and reminded me of your post. I did leave a legacy but didn’t know I was leaving one.

    This post challenges me. That in everything that I do is purposefully, intentionally according to the Great Commission. Whether I am remembered or forgotten, I don’t care. But to see the glory of God in my city, that is something to be remembered for.

    Thank you, Tam. This is a source of encouragement and exhortation.

    • December 2, 2009 9:32 am

      i can imagine that you would leave a huge void in your absence, joseph. that is certainly confirmation that you are being effective for Him while reaching others. awesome!

  2. December 2, 2009 5:45 am

    I LOVE this post! I’m so glad you reposted it. Brilliant insight and challenge. Thanks Tam!!

    • December 2, 2009 9:32 am

      thanks for letting me post it in the first place 😉

  3. December 2, 2009 6:34 am

    What a great challenge this morning! I am excited to mull over and pray about the impact and influence God has for me to make in my community. Love that last line..it’ll be with me all day. Thanks

    • December 2, 2009 9:34 am

      im so glad this challenged you. ive personally been goin over alot of this content, theme, the last several weeks – and its challenging me again too.

  4. December 2, 2009 7:10 am

    Chewing on this post, Tam…. especially the last paragraph:

    Do you have any idea the mark you are leaving on those around you? Would you say that if you left for a time there would be a void? Should there be a void? It’s one thing to be missed – but it’s another thing to remove an integral part of the picture. Are we equipping those around us? Are we leaving an impression with purpose? Would your community or sphere of influence be affected by your absence, but equipped for the better by the impact and influence you left?

    That sums up my goal for everything I do – my ministry, my blogs… my LIFE.

    • December 2, 2009 9:34 am

      fabulous, bajan! keep it up, friend 🙂

  5. December 2, 2009 7:13 am

    i love your insight into that little verse. every little word He put in there really is profitable, isn’t it?

    definitely a worthy re-post.

    • December 2, 2009 9:35 am

      thanks, joy.

      side note…i hear in my head “ive got my eye on you…” when i look at your avi. i love it!

  6. December 2, 2009 11:07 am

    Great insight … fantastic … I wonder, what’s the best way to know if we’re making a difference, without leaving town for 10 years and returning, or without listening in on our funeral services?

    • December 2, 2009 11:13 am

      i dont know…maybe we should have a national “what do you think about me” day. no?

      😉

  7. Heidi permalink
    December 2, 2009 11:27 am

    “Naomi left a mark on the people”

    A small sentence, but a a very true and strong IMPACT.

  8. December 6, 2009 3:27 am

    i want to leave that kind of mark. i want to have that deep of an impact. i want to be remembered, longed for, celebrated. not in a pat-on-the-back kinda way. but in the sense of knowing i’ve heart-level-impacted people.

    i’ve been thinking about ruth lately, but in a totally different light. her whole “your people will be my people” passionate, compelling speech?

    “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the LORD deal with me, be it ever so severely, if anything but death separates you and me.” ~Ruth 1:16-17

    all i keep thinking is: what about when “your people” decide they no longer want to be my people? ouch. and then there’s that last line… “may the Lord deal with me ever so severely if ANYTHING but death separates you and me” — what if that “anything” isn’t my choice???

    sigh.

    • December 6, 2009 5:26 pm

      “what if that “anything” isn’t my choice???”

      and i sigh with you. i wish i had an answer for you too…

      • December 6, 2009 6:45 pm

        it’s okay that you don’t. thanks for listening to me vent…

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas CHOICE « All Things New

Leave a Reply

