Skip to content

i like candy. yes i do.

December 7, 2009

monday night we had a big family get together at my in-laws house. brents parents had to fly out of town, unexpectedly, over Thanksgiving so that meant we couldnt be together like usual.

so, we had a do-over. and part of this do-over involved one of my favorite family traditions. making gingerbread houses!!!

oh how i love to do this! my mom and dad in law design and bake the pieces then we get to assemble the houses, put them together with all the sticky glue like frosting and decorate, eat the candy, decorate, eat the candy, decor…you get the picture.

here are a few pics of our night together…

my gingerbread house. normally i have trees and lightposts & things but it got late & we had to go. next year, tho!

mark & cathis gingerbread adventure. clearly they were not enjoying it.

sassy.

my niece loves playing with grandma & grandpa's christmas village

no words...

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 6:31 am

    way to awesome…you crafty people make me sick 🙂

    • December 8, 2009 6:32 am

      I bet I could eat that house faster than you made it 🙂

    • December 8, 2009 12:55 pm

      well…the candy made me sick. so we’re even.

  2. December 8, 2009 7:44 am

    your house looks great, tam! (do you guys actually eat the houses at some point? kinda sad…)

    i’m loving the sassy picture of my decath.

    when i was 13, i made my first (and only) gingerbread house. i designed it to look like my church and gave it to my pastor. it eventually got auctioned off to raise money for my mission trip!

    • December 8, 2009 12:54 pm

      you were born to be a missionary. do you have pics of your house?

    • December 8, 2009 10:06 pm

      the sassy pic…yeah, i was constipated…or confused. now that i think of it… i still am.

  3. December 8, 2009 9:13 am

    oh my gosh!!! They are like professional gingerbread houses!!!

    • December 8, 2009 12:54 pm

      i love watching the kiddos decorate theirs. they are soooo creative!

  4. Heidi permalink
    December 8, 2009 12:48 pm

    So, if I come over to visit and it’s even off-season, can we do this?
    I ‘ve always always wanted too but never have.

    are they edible?

    • December 8, 2009 12:54 pm

      um, yes we can!!! it involves candy, heidi. candy knows no season.

      there edible but weve never eaten them. we usually just toss them after the new year.

  5. Heidi permalink
    December 8, 2009 12:50 pm

    Oh Gertie!! (Cathi)

    That was a flaughter!!( 10.0 on your merit!)

    Love,
    Maude

    • December 8, 2009 9:56 pm

      now that, my dear maude, you know i think of you every time! 🙂

  6. December 8, 2009 5:31 pm

    I think Cathi is so cute. That is all.

  7. December 9, 2009 8:59 pm

    I want to eat your chimney.

Leave a Reply

