Skip to content

blogging vs vlogging

December 16, 2009

i like watching people. not in a stalker kind of way – i just love how unique everyone is. the way they walk, interact with others, mannerisms, the way they laugh. i especially enjoy watching expressive people talk. their most boring stories can suck me in just by the way their body language tells it.

because of this…im growing to appreciate video blogs more and more. the ability to watch and hear someone tell me a story every now and then helps me understand their written word a bit better too.

all this to say…brent and i are working on my new site. still. id really like to have it up and running in january. and i think im gonna do a lot more vlogging on it. id love to get the feature where you all can post a video reply too. that would be fantastic! we’ll work on that too.

what do ya think? yes…no?

and i dont know if i’ll be more thematic or just my usual random self. maybe my randomness is my theme πŸ˜• what?

ok….any thoughts from you guys? youre the ones that matter in all of this πŸ™‚

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy Polek permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:53 pm

    Speaking of videos of you… What happened to Q&A with a twist? πŸ™‚

    • December 17, 2009 11:50 pm

      ahhh, i know πŸ˜•

      i got sick right when i was gettin ready to do my first vid. i was sick for 3 weeks and am now planning on puttin that first response together again.

      and the first blogger that was picked to answer my question in return is gona be fantastic! and their question to me is a good one – so im excited to get on this.

      and thank you for asking πŸ™‚

      • Christy Polek permalink
        December 18, 2009 8:26 am

        Looking forward to it!
        πŸ˜€

  2. December 17, 2009 1:30 am

    Vlogs=YES. Love em! I can click play, full screen and watch/listen as I do something else. I would do nothing but Vlogs, but editing and uploading take FOREVER….that’s the only downside…for me anyway :D.

  3. bahava permalink
    December 17, 2009 5:51 am

    While I’m in the States and as long as they’re not super long, I like them! They always make me sad when I’m in SA because it takes way way too long to load or even try to play and I wonder what neat thing I was missing πŸ™‚

  4. December 17, 2009 7:25 am

    I have to admit I often skip blog entries with a video, because it takes too long to load with the connection I have.

    (Darkest Africa and all that…)

  5. Roxx permalink
    December 17, 2009 7:35 am

    Hi! Quick note to let you know I checked out of blogging/FB. Busy caught up with me. Still peakin’ once in while. Can’t wait 4 ur new site. Fun. xoxox, R

  6. December 17, 2009 7:59 am

    i’m a people watcher too, so i’m excited about the vlogging. i think the idea for video comments is cool too.

  7. December 17, 2009 8:47 am

    Great idea! so then we can see your purty face! πŸ™‚

  8. December 17, 2009 8:51 am

    YAY!!! I so vote for you vlogging. All the time. or at least a lot. I have loved getting to really meet people that way… makes me feel like I’ve been with them in person.

    And yes, I know how hypocritical I am because I won’t do one, but I have very good reasons. 1. I’m better at writing. 2. I have periods of time when this disease makes me look awful. 3. I’m way too self-conscious and would never say anything intelligent. 4. Yes, it can be argued I don’t write intelligently either, but at least people can only criticize my words and not my face πŸ™‚

  9. December 17, 2009 8:52 am

    I tend to be one of those who skip past vlogs, but I bought a Flip for us this Christmas, so I expect to convert over the holidays.

  10. December 17, 2009 10:05 am

    I love vlogs.. but I can’t see them while at work. 😦 I guess I can try to do it during after hours at home, but honestly I sit in front of a computer all day and sometimes find it hard to get online at home…. So I vote 5o-50 vlog and blog…

  11. December 17, 2009 10:43 am

    I like vlogs, but only from people I know. Or kind of know. Or know by way of reading their blogs religiously. You know.

    But I will say that sometimes it takes me even longer to get around to watching/listening to a post like that than it does to read one.

    And I probably won’t ever post a video reply. I don’t even know what that means. πŸ™‚

  12. December 17, 2009 11:01 am

    I skip em.

  13. December 17, 2009 12:02 pm

    For me, it depends on the time I have and the subject. I usually skip the ones with no intro. I guess I want to know what I’m getting in to!! It’s a way to see the flat internet person in real life! It doesn’t need to be a diatribe.

  14. December 17, 2009 4:13 pm

    yes, yes, yes. i’ve been planning on doing a lot more vlogs as well. with lots of editing. πŸ™‚

  15. December 17, 2009 9:12 pm

    Yes ad inifinitum. To the vlogging and the randomness. Like Toby, that’s all I’d do if it didn’t take the editing time, and random is the spice of life, dontchaknow.

    Not that I really blog anyway…which might change once this album is out, but then again, I’ll likely be concentrating on some other things…like emigrating, my own music…maybe.

    So vlog, and do vlog comments. No-one ever seems to do them though do they.

  16. Heidi permalink
    December 17, 2009 11:26 pm

    I love vlogs… but I cannot see them most of the time through my firewalls of my laptop. So I’ll catch up with you during those times via through twitter. But… I’ll catch it occasionally when I can through the community computer.

    But do them… They are good for you… But once in awhile throw us a written word or two. SO we don’t miss you too much.

    Love you!!

  17. December 17, 2009 11:48 pm

    sorry…ive been away from my computer all day today.

    ok, i think i’ll do some vlogs and some blog posts. i’ll be sure to give a brief outline of what the vid is about when i do vlogs as well. so i think it’ll all work out.

    thank you all for your help and giving me ideas and your opinions!

    i SO dig you, my friends!

  18. December 18, 2009 6:14 am

    Oh, and for the record, if there is a video comment option, I will do nothing but video comments :-).

Leave a Reply

