Skip to content

quick little blurb

December 16, 2009

are you offended by retailers not allowing their employees to say ‘merry christmas’?

how do you respond?

ive noticed that most retailers arent saying any type of greeting at all. its more like…come in, drop your money here and move on.

to be honest… it used to bother me that retailers stopped saying ‘merry christmas’…until i realized theres nothing stopping me from saying it to them.

or when theyre asked to say ‘happy holidays’ instead – i respond with ‘happy holy-days to you as well’.

they say what they can or choose to say…and so do i.

it just isnt a big deal to me anymore. nothing about it has the power to change who i am or who God is any day of the year.

and im out of starbucks christmas blend 😕 or…’holiday blend’ – for those customers offended by the word ‘christmas’.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:01 am

    I work for a (MAJOR) National Insurance company. We are not allowed to say Merry Christmas. We are only allowed to say Happy Holidays. Eventhough I understand it maybe an “offense” it may cause to someone who does NOT celebrate the holiday, I use descretion.
    I still say Merry Christmas when I can and don’t when I can’t.

  2. December 16, 2009 10:04 am

    I say Merry Christmas.

  3. December 16, 2009 10:29 am

    Odd you mentioned this…

    I was just Christmas shopping and in all 4 stores the people said “Merry Christmas”. It caught me off guard.

    I think it has something to do with me being in one of the largest Christian population cities in the us, but still…very odd.

    I do like it though!

  4. December 16, 2009 10:35 am

    There is more than one Holiday right now…I live in West LA and I can assure you that Chanakuh is alive and well and widely, widely celebrated here.

  5. December 16, 2009 10:46 am

    ditto matt…i live in LA and hanukkah, christmas & kwaanza are being celebrated simultaneously. so i say merry christmas & happy holidays. =]

    • December 16, 2009 10:55 am

      Me too, I have a lot of Jewish friends. When you think about it, and if we are honest with ourselves…it’s kind of silly to say Merry Christmas right now. It’s not Christmas until the 25th even if we do say “Christmas Season”, but we are dead smack in the middle of Chanukah, it doesn’t end until the 19th.

  6. December 16, 2009 11:46 am

    It’s the time of year to celebrate.

    Jesus celebrated Hanukkah:

    http://net.bible.org/verse.php?book=Joh&chapter=10&verse=22

    Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, Blessed Hanukkah…just wish people the best…we all need it.

    One of my favorite memories, after sharing a bit of our lives with one another in a health clinic, I wished an Orthodox Jewish friend a Blessed Passover and her response was immediate: “Have a Happy Easter!”

    We all need His blessings.

    😀

  7. December 16, 2009 1:37 pm

    This came up at work the other day – I think it was at my going-away party. I was explaining that I’m pretty sure people in the south still say “Merry Christmas” – but, now that I think about it, probably not.

    I guess it’s time to brace myself for some serious reverse-culture-shock once we get down there. wow.

  8. December 16, 2009 7:17 pm

    Curiously, for such a secular nation, most people still say it here.

    Likely explained by the fact none of us care much about political correctness, methinks.

    Merry Christmas! We’re even doing Chrismukkah at church this year 🙂

  9. December 16, 2009 8:35 pm

    It bothers me that some people get really bent out of shape about this. It doesn’t offend me and I say “Happy Holidays”.

  10. December 20, 2009 9:00 am

    Whatever in kind, I respond the same but I blast back in love and joy.

    Right before my eyes, faces smile and hearts melt.

    Even using the words, Happy Holidays, the words can still be incredibly impactful.

Leave a Reply

