Skip to content

a very special christmas day post

December 24, 2009

todays post is from the one and only nicole wick. i am beyond honored that her brilliantly written words are residing here right now. nicole is a fabulous writer, a fierce lover of God and has a heart and passion for people like very few i know.

**************************************

WHOLE – Nicole Wick

I was listening to the radio the other day, and periodically they would play a recording of a James Earl Jones-esque announcer reciting Isaiah 9:6. In a deep, booming voice he read, “For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” It sounded beatuiful. My response? Blah.

You see, I’m in the middle of my pre-holiday funk. I love Christmas, but I have to be honest: the family stuff wears me out. Big time. The holidays have a way of bringing out the best in some people and the worst in others. And when you have “family issues” like we do, the holidays don’t necessarily bring about this feeling of peace that is written about on glittery Christmas cards or sung about in countless Christmas programs. Sometimes the hope of peace and the promise of joy that Christmas is really all about gets lost in all of the other stuff. It’s exhausting.

So anyway, this James Earl Jones-ish voice (think Field of Dreams, not Darth Vader) really got into my head. Or, more to the point, the verse really got into my head. How can we better experience the Prince of Peace? I don’t know that I have the answer, but I loved what I found in the Message translation. In the Message this verse says that his names will be: Amazing Counselor, Strong God, Eternal Father, Prince of Wholeness. Sometimes it’s hard for me to wrap my head around large concepts like peace. What is means, what it would look like, how it could be accomplished. All of that is way bigger than I am able to fathom. But I get wholeness. I long for wholeness.

“But the angel reassured them. ‘Don’t be afraid!’ he said. ‘I bring you great news that will bring great joy to all people.” Luke 2:10

My healing process is still incomplete, and it may always be. I’m ok with that. I have made peace with the process. My relationships with some of those that have hurt me still make me feel exposed and vulnerable. The wounds of abandonment and addiction and dysfunction still get rubbed raw. I’m not ok with that. It hurts me and makes me feel sad and alone. So, in these last days before Christmas I am praying for my family and for all of you that have “family issues.” I’m praying that God re-orders what is disordered. I pray that we will not be afraid and will experience the good news and great joy of this season. For unto us a child is born and his name is Prince of Wholeness and in his wholeness we find peace and rest.

**********************

remember to rest in His peace this Christmas. this isnt a time for stress. this is the time to reflect on why we dont have to stress. i need this reminder more than anyone. thank you nicole for making us think.

God bless you all ~ Merrry Christmas!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 9:53 pm

    I love Nicole’s honesty and heart. Thanks for letting her post here, Tam. Merry Christmas.

    • December 25, 2009 12:21 am

      i love it too. she is one of my favorite writers around.

      merry christmas to you!

      • December 25, 2009 6:01 pm

        Thanks guys. You have no idea how much I appreciate the encouragement.

  2. December 25, 2009 11:09 am

    Ok, Nicole (and Tam). I’m crying now. Recovery is awesome, but there are still those “raw” moments. Daily. Reminders of how broken I am. But, I must NOT look beyond today. And I need to stop looking back! Just for today I must remember how far I have come in 898 days. God has fixed a lot of my brokenness and I am eternally grateful for that.

    My disease is always on the outside pounding on the door. Reminding me of all the things I did. Digging at the self-esteem I am working so hard to repair! I want that feeling of wholeness. I have to take responsibility for my healing. And with such a precious gift as Jesus is I can do that today. But, just for today.

    As for adoption, I, too, think about my biological mother at times. Not so much my father, though. I think because my dad (the one who raised me from 6 weeks old) fulfilled the dad stuff. My mom, on the other hand….2 & 1/2 years clean & they don’t even know I am an addict in recovery. Mostly because last Christmas Day I was told because I hadn’t been to visit in 2 years, I was disowned. Excuse me, but they are retired & a few hours away. They travel all summer & much of the winter with their 5th wheel, but can’t come to MY home? Well, of course, I just moved 1700 miles further away, but that’s beside the point!

    My mother seems to love misery at Christmas. I don’t know why. My memories as a child are all good. Oh, well. I can only pray that one day our relationship can be repaired. They are both 79 & I do love them, but sometimes I just don’t like them.

    Wonderful Counselor. Everlasting Father. Prince of Wholeness. He completes me like never before. His arms are around me even when I can’t feel them. He loves me when I don’t feel loved. Unconditionally.

    Much love & Merry Christmas to you both. You are both new in my life & I feel like we are old friends! Thanks.

    • December 25, 2009 6:02 pm

      Shellie, I have no words friend, no words. Thank you so much for sharing yourself here and for letting me into your story. I’ve loved getting to know you and hope to get to know you more!

  3. Makeda permalink
    December 25, 2009 1:28 pm

    Nicole is a fabulous writer and with each post of hers that I read, I see more of the heart you describe. Today’s post reminded me of a definition of peace I heard a few years ago, “nothing missing, nothing broken, nothing lacking”; corresponds so perfectly with the use of the word wholeness. Nicole and Tam thanks for sharing these words today. They have once again reminded me of the graciousness and goodness of the God we serve. Thank you.

    • December 25, 2009 6:03 pm

      Makeda, Thank you for leaving that definition of peace. I’ve never heard it before and it is so fitting! Hope you had a good holiday friend!

  4. December 25, 2009 1:57 pm

    Nicole is awesome, so are you! Great post!

    • December 25, 2009 6:04 pm

      You’re pretty awesome too, Rand. Thanks for reading…even when you’re on vacation!

  5. December 25, 2009 6:05 pm

    Tam- Thank you so much for allowing me to share your space! The honor is truly all mine. Your words are to kind. I appreciate you so much. Love you!

Leave a Reply

