Skip to content

cuz im nosey like that…

December 27, 2009

i just have to know….

what did you get for Christmas?

what was your favorite moment?

did you travel to see family?

favorite family quotes?

favorite Christmas traditions?

what are your new years eve plans?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 12:39 am

    what did you get for Christmas? The best gift of all – having a good time family and friends. My only family left are five nieces, all now over 30. I only get gifts (money) for their kids.

    what was your favorite moment? Watching my youngest niece’s twins, now 5, playing with their toys.

    did you travel to see family? Everyone I visit is within 50 miles.

    favorite family quotes? Does the giggles of five year old twins count?

    favorite Christmas traditions? I have no Christmas traditions other than visiting each of my niece’s, and spending Christmas with my cousin and her growing family of cats, now up to seven.

    what are your new years eve plans? No plans. I’ll watch the ball drop on time square, and toast in the new year in with hot tea. Being a diabetic alcohol is now out. I will be celebrating the first day of 2010 with friends, and their 50 inch plasma TV.

  2. December 28, 2009 1:48 am

    I received a new wedding ring. The one we got for me was too big and it was fine with a spacer. My wife bought me a new one that is amazing and I love it and it defines our relationship. I also got “The West Wing” box set on DVD. I got addicted to the show via BRAVO! I had to watch from the beginning. I love political dramas, even if it’s about a Democrat President. Also, the wife and I bought a Wii. Wii love it and she loves playing it. YAY!

    Favorite moment was when my wife got teary at the Nativity set that I bought for her. It’s a start for our small family and the set will grow as our family grows. Next year I am getting the Three Wisemen.

    We didn’t travel this year. Due to medical reasons we had to scrap possible plans. We’ll get em next year!

    No quotes. Sorry, no kids yet to get em from.

    Only tradition thus far is we always get new pajamas on Christmas Eve and I always get a small Lego set in my stocking. I frickin’ love Legos. Can’t wait to play with them with my kids someday.

    We are having dinner with about 5 other couples and then game night with them in our pajamas and partaking in beverages of the adult kind. Pajama part of the night is still in discussion.

  3. December 28, 2009 2:23 am

    I got a Blu-Ray player, books, chocolates, a keychain and shot glass from New Zealand, a knife and a flask. People may think I’m an alcoholic. Oh and a hat.

    Spending Christmas in the beach had to be the fav moment.

    Travel? Haha yep. New Zealand for a month.

    Quote: not from family but: “I like smiling, smiling’s my favorite”.

    New Years plans: see fireworks from the bay in Paihia.

    Happy New Year!!!!

  4. December 28, 2009 4:20 am

    what did you get for Christmas? A compound miter saw (oh yeah-let the work around the house begin!)

    what was your favorite moment? My mother in law started crying because we got her a Wii…she really wanted a Wii

    did you travel to see family? Nope. Once my daughter was born 7 years ago, we drew the line and always have Christmas at our house so Santa can find us

    favorite family quotes? My daughter in referring to the “Elf on the Shelf” after he tipped all of our furniture over and ate a cookie…. “Seriously!! No he didn’t!”

    favorite Christmas traditions? My family really never had any but our family (wife and kiddo) have homemade cinnamon roles for breakfast…like it.

    what are your new years eve plans? None really…not a big new years guy…plus I have to get ready to fly out for meetings the days following in Florida…I know, darn.

    Hope you all had a good one Tam!

  5. December 28, 2009 5:35 am

    what did you get for Christmas? *inner ear headphones, which double as ear clea… never mind…, chocolates, money…

    what was your favorite moment? *helping Diane cook

    did you travel to see family? with Diane’s family on the other side of the world, and where we’ll be next Christmas, and with my family being spread across the nation, the closest being 500 miles and the furthest 2,000 miles … no.

    favorite family quotes? I think we filmed them all ……. http://blog.davidgoodwin.com/the-night-before-christmas-an-australian-inte

    favorite Christmas traditions? trifle……and pudding, though it took until today until we could actually eat any pudding…

    what are your new years eve plans? we’ll ring in the Australian version with some friends from church, then (hopefully) get online to watch a live streaming of Chaos Theory (hopehopehopehopespringseternal) – are they still called that, btw? – and celebrate with our online friends across the globe.

    Even though it’s our last one here for a while, I still have no desire to spend all day waiting with over a million people to watch the harbour fireworks live close up… If I did, I’d feel I should be helping out my staff with the communications equipment…and I’d have to pretend I knew how that worked…

  6. December 28, 2009 8:16 am

    I got a dangling heart charm for my Pandora bracelet. Some new jammies. And a couple of new books. A quiet Christmas. Our first with just the 2 of us. Moving 1700 miles away from friends & family will do that! I did step into my daughter’s role in helping her dad make pierogies for Christmas Eve dinner. I wasn’t as quick, but it’s hard to find good help these days!!
    Santa started a new tradition of using the USPS to deliver some stockings! Ha! But, I think it helped our daughter get through her first Christmas being part of the working community & no longer a student on a 1 month break from college! With her parents now 2000 miles away.
    I think I’ll celebrate the New Year the next week when said daughter comes for 1st visit to WA.

  7. Kristi O permalink
    December 28, 2009 8:31 am

    What did I get for Christmas, my hubby and kids were both home. That was my present.
    My fav moment:Playing cards with my aunts and talking about my Grandma who has passed. She was my best friend.
    My family own retail stores so we don’t travel for Christmas. But we would like too.
    I would have to think a bit on a quote.
    My fav tradition is a big Italian family dinner on Christmas eve
    I hope my New Years eve is quiet.

  8. December 28, 2009 8:37 am

    Me? Don’t get gifts … clothes don’t count.
    Favourite moment? Playing cards with my side of the family and seeing my wife beat my father at it! lolol that was fun. Actually saw her interacting and making jokes.
    Well… travel is relative 😆 I live on a tiny island so travel was like driving maybe 45 minutes to my uncle’s house….
    My little Jonathan screaming that he wants to play tennis (while holding a plastic cricket ball and bat!)
    I don’t do Christmas traditions… but the kids and the wife got the Christmas tree up on Christmas Eve….
    Old Year’s Night plans (sorry, ‘New Year’s Eve’ sounds foreign to me lololol) Not sure yet!

  9. December 28, 2009 8:57 am

    what did you get for Christmas? my friends recorded Christmas Eve Mass for me and brought it over. so kind.

    what was your favorite moment? skyping with the Stodgies

    did you travel to see family? nope

    favorite family quotes? i don’t think Riley’s barking counts as a quote… but I’m sure he meant what he said…

    favorite Christmas traditions? my parents couldn’t make it for lunch on Christmas Day because of the storm, but I was going to surprise them with having Christmas plates to eat on since we used to have special Christmas dishes when I was little. Hopefully we’ll get to use them next year.

    what are your new years eve plans? same as Christmas… hanging with the pup 🙂

  10. December 28, 2009 8:57 am

    do we get to see your answers?

  11. December 28, 2009 9:52 am

    what did you get for Christmas? – I got a Keurig Elite coffee maker and a Kodak zi8 video camera.

    what was your favorite moment? My wife opening her gifts from me. I managed to do pretty well this year with my selections.

    did you travel to see family? Not very far. We drove about 40 minutes to hang with all my brothers and their families.

    favorite family quotes? None that I remember.

    favorite Christmas traditions? We usually take a family trip around Christmas.

    what are your new years eve plans? The aforementioned family trip. We are leaving on New Year’s Eve headed to Orlando, Florida for a four night stay at Walt Disney World.

  12. December 28, 2009 12:47 pm

    my favorite part of christmas was my parents and sister opening their presents from Apple. I created books from my motorcycle trip out west with my dad, and books for my mom and sister that show pictures of my late grandpa (probably 500 of them). there were tears all around. best christmas gift ever.

    this year we watched Christmas Vacation on christmas eve, which i think will become a tradition.

    as far as new years goes, i’m going to a sanctus real concert at my church, and then hanging out with friends to ring in the new year.

  13. December 28, 2009 1:39 pm

    This Christmas was extra special because it was my first as a wife.

    I got a Barnes and Noble gift card. For me, those are equivalent to gold.

    For New Years I will watching my husband do his best Glen Hansard impression at a show in Jacksonville. Happy New Years to me! 😉

  14. December 28, 2009 2:09 pm

    what did you get for Christmas? an alarming amount of purple clothing and accessories. hope people don’t start mistaking me for a plum.

    what was your favorite moment? when my niece Macon asked if she could get in bed with me and snuggle (swear i’m not a pervert)

    did you travel to see family? went to north carolina. nice because it is away but not too far away.

    favorite family quotes? probably when my sister reprimanded my niece by asking ifshe “wanted to be left behind?”

    favorite Christmas traditions? just being with family…doesn’t matter where we are or what we do just that we always are together

    what are your new years eve plans? headed to chicago to ring in the new year or freeze to death (whichever comes first)

  15. Heidi permalink
    December 28, 2009 3:47 pm

    what was your favorite moment? My son Elijah getting his first REAL guitar crying and huging it.

    did you travel to see family? NOPE

    favorite Christmas traditions? Opening presents at 12:01 am. eating tamales

    what are your new years eve plans Praying in the New Year with friends.

  16. December 28, 2009 5:42 pm

    hat, scarf, chocolate recipe book (seriously yummy looking stuff) and Without A Trace boxset! Woo! Oh, and a can of Buck’s Fizz…classy.

    Fave moment – seeing friends old and new at Watchnight Service on Christmas Eve/Day…

    Did not travel to see family. my sister travelled, and ended up entering some singing competition thing in LGW airport!

    Fave Christmas traditions….I guess going to the Watchnight service with my Mum, only time she comes to church with me.

    As for HOGMANAY – I have no idea what I’m doing yet. Don’t think I’m doing any ceilidh dancing this year though.

  17. December 28, 2009 6:56 pm

    what did you get for Christmas? I got a son.

    what was your favorite moment? The moment he arrived.

    did you travel to see family? No, family came to me.

    favorite family quotes? When asked if he liked our traditional Christmas coffee cake, Teddy responded (with a mouth full of cake) “It’s the bestest cake in the whole world!”

    favorite Christmas traditions? Sour Cream Coffee Cake….it’s just not Christmas without out it!

    what are your new years eve plans?

  18. December 29, 2009 8:41 am

    I got one thing:

    A book, Words of Life by Timothy Ward

    You know why this was so special? Not because someone surprised me and I end up liking it. Not that I mentioned it in passing and someone got it for me.

    None of those reasons.

    This is my favorite gift because someone got it for me off of my Amazon Wish List.

    If it ain’t on there, I don’t want it.

  19. December 29, 2009 7:21 pm

    i just have to know….

    what did you get for Christmas? i got a little cash, a candle thingy, a shirt and a ring.

    what was your favorite moment? watching kass and kota walk out to their big gifts displayed for them in the living room. we’ve never done that before so it was fantastic!

    did you travel to see family? brents family all lives here in town, so now travel. my fam is in missouri. havent had a christmas with them in years. and that never gets easy…

    favorite family quotes? my 3 yr old niece introducing herself to her great, great, great aunt vera, 102 y/o, “Merry Christmas! I’m Princess Aurora!”

    favorite Christmas traditions? baking a b-day cake for Jesus on christmas eve and eating it for breakfast Christmas morning 🙂

    what are your new years eve plans? my kids’ band is playing for TRF’s youth group on new years eve. we’ll be there gettin our rock on! we’re gonna try to record it too!

    • December 29, 2009 10:33 pm

      I’d like to see a picture of the ring, please…

  20. Bill Todd permalink
    December 29, 2009 7:46 pm

    what did you get for Christmas? I got a great hoodie sweatshirt of my old highschool. Big thanks to my mom for that one.

    what was your favorite moment? Two – my six year old going bonkers for his Razr Spark Scooter, and my daughters doing the same for their tickets to see Muse in March.

    did you travel to see family? Not over the holiday, but my in-laws are here as I type this. It’s great to see them.

    favorite family quotes? “Santa prefers beer to milk. Yes, I do know this to be a fact.”

    favorite Christmas traditions? Our tradition is to have friends over in the afternoon and evening of Christmas. We did it in Missouri, and have brought the tradition to Tennessee with us.

    what are your new years eve plans? A quiet night at home.

Leave a Reply

