Skip to content

2009 best posts – a re-post: i dont play around

December 31, 2009

i love love stories. so please share yours!

************************************************************

it was late and he was driving me home. i loved this part of our day together. when there was no one else around. just us. it was quiet and we could focus only on each other.

we pull up, in his lowered red nissan mini truck, and walk into my little apt. in southern california. he sat on the couch, i climbed on his lap and asked…

“so….when are you gonna ask me to marry you?”

“uuhhh. now?” – he replied.

😀

this was october 10, 1990 – our proposal story.

got a love story you wanna share?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 3:24 pm

    I have nothing better to do, so I think I’ll just read everything Tam puts up today & then comment on it!! Being unemployed for over a year sucks, but I have “met” some great online support. God is awesome like that! Face to face or not (I know Brent prefers face to face to develop a true bond & I agree mostly), I have been sooo lonely since moving here. Anyway, on to my love story.

    Way back in 1985 I was a RPh at a hospital & the hospital hired this consulting firm to come in & do a time/motion type study. Find the flaws in the workflow & fix them for efficiency. Several guys were a part of the group. They liked to play raquetball. I liked to play raquetball. Went to watch them play. Had my eye on this cute one. After they finished, I was heading toward the entrance when I ran into a doctor friend of mine. As we stood there visiting, this guy came up & asked me if I’d like to grab something to eat. My doctor friend later told me that my mouth dropped to the floor. Especially because it wasn’t even the guy I had my eye on!! I was 28. He was a much older 35! In the middle of a divorce. Had 2 girls (17 & 18) he had adopted in the 70’s when he married their mother.

    As “luck” would have it, we hit it off. I got pregnant & we married the next June when I was 6 1/2 months pregnant. My mother, to this day, does not really like him. She barely tolerates him. I have a sad, dysfunctional family. Oh, well! There was no real proposal. Just an agreement to get married. I am so blessed! This man is my best friend. But, he isn’t a Christian. A good Polish, Catholic. But, I love him & can’t imagine my life the past 24 years without him!! I can’t change his thinking, but I know through my actions, he can change his thinking.

    Looking back at the original comments was fun, too.

  2. December 31, 2009 6:34 pm

    My, now husband, and I had agreed to get married. We went to look at rings one Saturday (after I had an unusual high maintenance breakdown in which I kinda demanded an engagement ring – WOW). I found one I loved and the jeweler was going to set the diamond we’d been given by my husband’s grandma and size to fit me. We left and I didn’t think too much about it. The next day after church we had lunch and I decided to take a nap while he did whatever. For some odd reason he wanted to take me to a nice dinner that night (I didn’t get it) which was unusual for a Sunday night. We had California Pizza Kitchen and went to the top of a parking garage that we used to go sit on and hang out at nearly every Saturday night when we had started dating. I turned to look at the view and comment on how we had thrown black jelly beans over the side and when I turned back he was on one knee. I laughed and cried all at the same time.

  3. December 31, 2009 11:19 pm

    Guy version of my proposal story:he’She was expecting a proposal on the 14th of February.

    She thought I was at my parents’ house 5 hours away on February 13th.

    I may have led her to believe that.

    But I wasn’t.

    I was outside her 2nd story window (ground level) with a rose and a ring.

    I was only 1 day away from her expected proposal, but she had NO clue!

    Funny thing is, I caught her in jeans and a tee and literally with hair color in her hair. She was primping for that Vday proposal that never happened!

  4. January 1, 2010 7:44 am

    This one time my three fabulous friends flew in from all over the country to tell me and each other how much they love. Yup – I love how much love means – to all of us.

    You have been on my heart and mind lately and I am so thankful.

Leave a Reply

