Skip to content

ive changed…

January 3, 2010

…the way i pray.

i was recently praying for a job opportunity for a good friend of mine. knowing this person only wants to make the best decision and work in and at the best place so that they can serve the Lord most effectively. so i prayed things like…“Lord, bring the right job. – Make it apparent. – Show them where, when, how, etc…”

then it occurred to me… of course the Lord will do all those things. He already knows the job theyre getting. He knows where. He knows why. He knows how. all those things are already taken care of.

so, is it wrong for me to pray those things? well, no. but i do think the focus is a bit off. and i am glad to have seen this.

what i should be praying is…

Lord, thank you for knowing the things we do not. knowing that You are aware and in complete control gives us peace. thank you. Thank you Lord for already providing the best job for my friend in this season. You are a perfect provider. i pray not that You, Lord, work and move…You already have…but that my friend will work and move. that they will be ultra sensitive and attentive to Your voice and guidance. i pray they will know Your peace and crawl in the calm of your lap as they seek You and follow Your lead to the place and opportunity You have provided and have waiting for them.

i guess what im saying is…i find myself praying for the Lord to do, do, do. He already has. my prayers need to be for us to acknowledge and trust. to move in and on faith and believe, even when we are in doubt. i believe more often than not…the action lies in our court.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 5:02 pm

    Hello! I think what you’ve said is very insightful.

    At times we seem to make God out to be our errand boy?

    John 6:29
    Jesus answered and said unto them, This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent.

    Only believe…

    • January 3, 2010 7:49 pm

      “errand boy” is such a perfect way to describe what i was trying to say. youre right on.

  2. January 3, 2010 5:18 pm

    Couldn’t agree with you more… my mom and I talked about this earlier in the year and have both been trying to concentrate on praying that He helps us change our will to match His, and we’ve both been the better for it. Love your heart… and that you realized this when praying for someone else… you’re a generous soul, friend!

    • January 3, 2010 7:52 pm

      i think its natural, normal, whatever…for us to pray and ask for a way out. to be self-focused. but that really goes against what a relationship with Christ is all about.

      isnt it funny (im thinkin out loud as i talk to myself via replying to you πŸ˜‰ ) how we know all these things already. its in our brains. just not in our actions. we dont purpose to live out what we “know”.

      im rambling.
      im tired.
      i want an oreo.

      • January 3, 2010 9:03 pm

        I totally understood your rambling πŸ™‚ I always have that “I could’ve had a V-8” moment when I realize what I know is the opposite of what I’ve been doing. I look at myself and think, “Really? It took you 36 years to figure this out?!?!?”

        Guess that’s why we’re human and He’s God πŸ™‚

        btw… I want an oreo, too. But my freezer is a whole room away and I don’t wanna get up. Could you send Kota over to fetch it for me?

      • January 3, 2010 11:29 pm

        You actually want a Tim Tam. You’re welcome.

        • January 4, 2010 12:53 pm

          oh you had to go and bring those up now, didnt ya?

          πŸ˜•

        • January 4, 2010 7:25 pm

          I’ve never had a tim tam. I’ll have to take your word for it [odds are I’d be allergic anyway :)]

  3. January 3, 2010 5:24 pm

    LOVE the 1st commenter. “At times we seem to make God out to be our errand boy?”. Wow! Combined with what you said hit a switch with me. When I was a young, college-age Christian, I did pray that way, Tam. Grateful to God for what was to come, not pushy about MY agenda, MY desires, MY requests!! Where did I lose that simplicity? Over some 30 years my walk with God has ebbed & flowed. Since stepping out of addiction and into recovery though, I am relearning the principles I need to live by. Relearning how to pray. And amazed at the number of people who have no clue on how to pray!! I took it for granted that everyone knew how to pray! I’m glad to say that staying open-minded helps. Learning from others & with others, I grow in my faith. I grow in how I pray. I need to get back to basics & quit making it so complicated! Great reminder. Thanks.

    • January 3, 2010 7:54 pm

      ” I need to get back to basics & quit making it so complicated! ”

      i love that. we definitely over complicate things. i couldnt agree more.

      and i dont think ive said this yet, but…i am so proud of you, and thrilled, that you are in recovery!

  4. January 3, 2010 5:39 pm

    I love this post and I love your heart. So glad to have a good friend who prays for her friends so passionatly. xoxo

    • January 3, 2010 7:55 pm

      love praying for my friends. its the best way to connect.

      hi. πŸ˜‰

  5. Heidi permalink
    January 3, 2010 5:58 pm

    I found out something in the latter part of 2009. (crystal clear)

    Believe is a verb not a noun.

    It takes action,hope, non-begging,and it takes time. But God is in control TOTAL control. We can over spiritualize it and say we are praying in their new job… Or we can stand with them when that job doesn’t just appear, pray and fast for that friend, listen too them, and most of all GIVE THEM HOPE.. Then when God looks over their resume..

    I love that you pray for your friends. I try too also. Cuz, I think it’s more powerful to be a faith-beliving prayer friend than being who just says they do…

    Love you Tam!!! Thanks for these MIGHTY words…

    • January 3, 2010 7:56 pm

      you are my prayer warrior. in fact…its in large part because of you that i am compelled to pray more for my friends. so thank you, heidi!

      love you!

      • Heidi permalink
        January 4, 2010 10:10 am

        It’s so easy… cuz God just puts you RIGHT there on my heart.
        He knows what you need, I can’t be there cuz of the 869 stinkin miles.
        But He knows.

        Loving you deeply!

  6. Heidi permalink
    January 3, 2010 6:00 pm

    oops!! Typing too fast

    I love that you pray for your friends. I try too also. Cuz, I think it’s more powerful to be a faith-beliving prayer warrior friend than being the one who just says they do…

  7. January 3, 2010 7:18 pm

    I had to let you know that I loved this:) AND I think God is spreading that message a lot lately:)
    I just posted ” the perplexity of perspective” and SO TRUE.
    I want that to be how I live this year. I think even the way I pray, thank you miss tam for this post:) xoxo! ang

    • January 3, 2010 7:57 pm

      lets make it a goal this year then. wait…i dont do “goals”…i mean…a “plan”…a definite plan! πŸ˜‰

  8. January 3, 2010 8:09 pm

    SOUNDS GOOD:) I’m in:)

  9. January 3, 2010 9:24 pm

    So I haven’t been around in awhile but perfect timing. God has been speaking to me about my prayer life. I just attended a conference and the speaker Rev. Sunder Krishnan spoke about Praying Big and Bold and how we shouldn’t talk about the “problem” in our prayers but call the future into being because “intercessors have the power to believe things into being”. So this was a reminder of that Word and I wanted to affirm you in the prayer change because that is what it’s about belief in what God has done, and is doing and will do and not merely making requests of Him. πŸ™‚

    • January 4, 2010 12:55 pm

      hi ashley!! so good to see you again. and thank you for your words of affirmation!

      this has my prayer life a lot different…more, meaningful.

  10. Gretch-A-Sketch permalink
    January 3, 2010 10:10 pm

    No matter how many times through the years I have come back to this blog, you always amaze me with your love for God and understanding of Him. This is a wonderful reminder Tam, of the ways we should be praying. God does already know and praying for your friend to hear His voice, His guidance, is probably the best way to pray for her.

    Love ya!! Great to read your wise words once again!!
    Gretchin

    • January 4, 2010 12:56 pm

      GRETCH!!!!! how. are. you???

      wow…i miss you girl!

  11. January 3, 2010 11:33 pm

    I love how, even with all the clues Jesus and the apostles gave us on how to pray, we still go with our instincts (that natural, normal stuff) rather than what He/they told us.

    Actually, I don’t love it…that was a lie. Forgive me, for I have sinned…only once…this minute.

    • January 4, 2010 1:03 pm

      i bet that was a tough minute, david πŸ˜‰

      if i could just keep it simple…”Lord, let Your will be done”. but…noooooooo…..

  12. January 4, 2010 12:00 am

    Praying helps you stregthen your connection to your God. A group of people praying together helps bond them into a community.

    Praying is also an act of love. Circumstance can prevent you from trying to help someone in any other way except through prayer.

    • January 4, 2010 1:04 pm

      ed – your last sentence was almost the exact thing i was gonna put in this post. and i SO love that i can always do something for a friend. ed, ive prayed for you many times as well. and i always consider it a privilege to do so.

  13. January 4, 2010 9:56 am

    Yes! So often my prayers devolve into the same “God, give me what I want right now.” Gotta break that habit. God’s power is so much more apparant when we start remembering who He is and what he has already done!

    • January 4, 2010 1:06 pm

      i also used to pray for God to “be with” so and so…totally forgetting that He is omnipresent…everywhere….at all times.

      what a journey of living, learning and discovery we;re all on. i sure love that He is so gracious!

  14. January 4, 2010 11:26 am

    I love love love the way you pray and the pureness behind every word.

    • January 4, 2010 1:07 pm

      kristi – i wish i could explain why your comment brought tears to my eyes.

      i miss you.

  15. January 4, 2010 12:30 pm

    i so appreciate this! prayer is an area that i really struggle with. i love talking with God but when it comes to asking for something i really struggle with what my role is. is it okay to “ask”f for things? as you said God already knows what’s going to happen. the plan is set in place. i love the prayer at the end…thanks again! i am growing in this area and this post is a major encouragement!

    • January 4, 2010 1:09 pm

      i do think its ok to ask for things. (not like he’s a genie or sumpin)..but its more important, i believe, to set those wants at His feet and trust Him with them while knowing that everything we NEED is already provided for. i think that helps our will blend with His…to eventually make it all about His will for us.

      having said all of that…im still a huge work in progress in that area. ive much to learn and grow.

  16. January 4, 2010 1:28 pm

    “having said all of that…im still a huge work in progress in that area. ive much to learn and grow.”

    – catchy name for a blog…in progress. πŸ™‚

    Happy New Year from the far east to the far west!

  17. January 4, 2010 1:33 pm

    It seems as I become more aware of situations that seem unchangeable in the lives of people I love and care for, I am praying less for provision or even peace, and more for His Presence that covers it all!

    I just saw a YouTube video this AM, and think it beautifully describes how God’s presence can bring the strength needed to overcome whatever life brings. Whether He gives or takes away, He is still to be praised (Job 1:21).
    Here’s the video link. It’s almost ten minutes, but the most relevant part is from 7:44 on:

    http://www.youtube.com:80/watch?v=U3HnUfqCBfc

    D-

  18. January 4, 2010 1:41 pm

    ah! just what i need to be reminded of in this season.

  19. bahava permalink
    January 4, 2010 8:41 pm

    love this line of thought and love that it completely challenges me to keep catching even more glimpses into He really is and not making Him small and remembering that I don’t have Him figured out. So reminds me of what the song “What do I know of Holy” and how that challenges me in the same way. thanks for bringing this up and asking me to look at my own prayer life…

Leave a Reply

