Skip to content

big hair, gold pants = retina transplant

January 5, 2010

let me start out by saying this post is the #1,083rd reason why i am glad my kids are no longer toddlers.

kristen and brandon buchanan stayed the weekend with us and helped brent and me lead worship at TRF. with them, they brought their 3 kiddos, all under the age of 6. with that…comes the reintroduction to kid shows.

ive definitely had my share of barney the dinosaur and sesame street in my day. i never ever allowed teletubbies in our home. those things creeped me out!

but kristen introduced me to a new show, new to me, that pretty much topped them all.

yo gabba gabba.

really, im not sure what to conclude. its not a bad show, its just…i dont know, way over the top. one character on the show, in particular, i am thoroughly mesmerized by. its leslie hall. she is definitely…happy to be doing her job.

heres a little peak at her for you…

but my favorite one can be found HERE. prepare to be blown away.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Larissa permalink
    January 5, 2010 7:57 pm

    oh, man… that show is worse than Barney and Teletubbies combined. My daughter watched it once, and I demanded that it be turned off and Nick Jr. never turned on in our house again. Every once in a while she still pops off with “there’s a party in my tummy…” It’s just wrong, I tell you… wrong!!

  2. January 5, 2010 8:05 pm

    Oh dear…

    Um, she IS from Iowa. Maybe that explains it.

    Gitz, does that explain it??

  3. January 5, 2010 8:45 pm

    I bet she has a cat in her house.

  4. Melissa permalink
    January 5, 2010 9:27 pm

    I just don’t understand how people come up with things like this! I mean, REALLY?!?!?!?!

  5. January 6, 2010 1:30 am

    Teletubbies. Oh how I still remember all my expert knowledge. My brother was 3 when that first came out. We had to buy tubby custard (actually yoghurt…) and for a very long time we didn’t have a vacuum cleaner. Oh no. We had a ‘Noo Noo’. We had all the dolls. The mug. Posters. Books. Videos. I can still sing the theme tune.

    I think I’m now going to be going ‘GLITTER HANDS!!!!’ for the rest of the day.

    Um….this is like Magic Roundabout meets Sesame Street meets The Tweenies meets The Jetsons.

    a show my godson (21 mths old) is in to ‘In the Night garden’ – it’s a little weird, but doesn’t give you a headache like this Yo Gabba Gabba thing does!!

  6. January 6, 2010 4:56 am

    Isn’t it crazy how kids are attracted to the MOST off the wall shows? This is my three year old’s favorite show! I still don’t understand why, but I am seriously thankful it is NOT Teletubies! While this show is dorky in so many ways, their songs have actually helped us a lot with Katie. Like “Don’t bite your friends” and “Inside voice quiet”. She’ll tell you now that she can’t bite her friends, but she can chomp her veggies! lol! I just wish someone would shorten Brobee’s arms, they drive me crazy hanging down like that! And DJ Lance….I don’t even want to know about that guy…. :O There’s another show called Fresh Beat Band….I’m pretty certain in the Barney kids all grown up with their own dance show now….ugh!

  7. January 6, 2010 5:53 am

    Yo Gabba Gabba is the greatest kids show ever.

    they pretty much gave some washed up 80’s rappers a budget and a studio and let the genius flow! Break beats make learning fun!!!

  8. Mel permalink
    January 6, 2010 6:18 am

    I don’t have young kids… so that clip was my first experience with Yo Gabba Gabba.. BUT I am familiar with Leslie Hall and her music video on YouTube..

    You’ll hate me if you watch it.. cause it’s a darn catchy tune! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8WoyPEVRFo

  9. January 6, 2010 7:21 am

    wow….

  10. January 6, 2010 7:44 am

    my two year old LOVES yo gabba gabba! it is a TRIPPY show! i put up with it because it does teach good things…amidst the creepy weird, LSD trip stuff!

    this clip tho….W H O A !!!! i don’t know who Leslie is, but after seeing that, i don’t think i want to!! LOL that clip pretty much takes the cake! LOL 🙂

  11. Ty Young permalink
    January 6, 2010 7:44 am

    That show frightens me in a big way.

  12. January 6, 2010 1:52 pm

    All I have to say is that it certainly takes one very brave woman to wear those gold pants! YIKES! I am glad my kids are out of that stage too!

    Michele

  13. January 6, 2010 4:32 pm

    Yo Gabba Gabba always makes me sing “there’s a party in my tummy” 😐

    I have many more things I could say about a few of those characters, but they aren’t family friendly. 😆 WEIRD!

  14. January 6, 2010 8:03 pm

    Well. I’m thinking I’m glad I don’t have toddlers. I don’t know if I would let them watch it….only because I’m not a fan of TV for toddlers in the first place…BUT

    That being said, for those who are ok with it, and for those who can tolerate it, I’m sure this show has some good points.

    Um, yeah. I’m glad I don’t have toddlers…

  15. January 7, 2010 9:40 pm

    Who couldn’t use a little razzle dazzle from time to time??

  16. January 7, 2010 9:49 pm

    i have that gold outfit. and i look just as good in it.

  17. January 7, 2010 10:03 pm

    i’m pretty sure there was some inappropriate pelvic thrusting going on. this one ranks with teletubbies in creepiness, fo sho.

  18. January 7, 2010 10:32 pm

    i watched this again tonight.

    i like self torture.

Leave a Reply

