Skip to content

the “real me”

January 11, 2010

ok. so the people of the second chance , POTSC, has started this new trend of posting pictures of the real us. the ones where we’re not posing, touched up by the photographers magic wand. its a mission to become real again, perhaps…permission to become real again. i think its eas’ier’ for people to put up the “other” pics of themselves when theyre a bit more comfortable in their skin. well, at least i can say that for me. i mean, 5 years ago…i wouldve never put this pic up for anyone to see! nu-uh-no-way!

just me and some Oreo goodness

but i do have to say this… all the other pics youve ever seen of me, and the videos, that is the real me. the real me is concerned with hygiene and is clean. the real me really does do her hair every day and put on make-up. the real me dresses respectfully and wears perfume. the real me is quite comfy without doing any of that too.

the real ‘inner’ me…now thats another story. thats the easy part to hide from others. putting make-up on and smiling that practiced smile alters my outer appearance but does nothing to the inside.

so…what if i let that part of me show? what if we all did? would i look different on the outside? would you?

im just throwing questions out there. i have no answers. im just thinking ‘out loud’.

so what about you? you game? you think you can share the “other” pics youd normally never let anyone see of you?

these are my own thoughts on this – for a better explanation of the #realme, from the man himself, go here.

i’ll be posting different pics of me throughout the week on twitter. my apologies in advance 😕

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 8:05 pm

    recently i have realized that i care waaaaay too much what others think about me. i posted on it today http://www.lynseleanne.com/blog/2010/01/11/fitting-in-the-real-me/

    chad and i were talking tonight and he lovingly told me that i was a snob and most of the time a bitch to people i dont think can help me….OUCH! But thinking about it he is right. i am so caught up in my image i overlook others around me because i am scared they will make me look a way i dont want to look. shallow. its a good season…but very very painful.

  2. heidi permalink
    January 11, 2010 8:58 pm

    I always have struggled in being real…
    Alot of that stems from my life circumstances…

    But my greatness and realness is NOT defined by my circumstance.
    It’s given as a gift, that I can steward By an Amazing God.

    Grace,Hope, and real

  3. January 12, 2010 6:14 am

    you so shexy.

  4. January 12, 2010 8:55 pm

    mmm… oreos.

Trackbacks

  1. People of the Second Chance
  2. The Real Me | jenniclayville.com

Leave a Reply

