Skip to content

What’s The Point?

January 27, 2010

a note from brent

This week, I have watched as Tammy has written down aspects of her story. Ive been married to Tammy for 18 years. I know her. I know what sparks her passion. I know what disappoints her. I know what concerns her.

Politics mean nothing to Tammy. Why do I say this? I say this, because abortion has been made into a political agenda. Abortion is NOT about democrat or republican. Abortion is NOT about liberal or conservative. Abortion is NOT about womens rights.

Abortion is a condition of the heart. Pure and simple. Abortion takes place, because one life is exalted as greater or more important than another. This is not said to place guilt on anyone. It’s just reality. Everyday, we choose whether to sacrifice or to consume. The problem with abortion, is that it has lowered the value of life to a selfish choice. It has become…a choice.

As a man, I have no idea what a woman feels or goes through as she walks through pregnancy. I don’t have a clue about what a woman experiences when it comes to the excitement or fear of finding out that they are expecting. As a man, I have no clue about the pressure a woman feels when she decides to abort or to keep a baby. What I do know is that a woman goes through tremendous amounts of stress, concern, pain and life-change.

Why do I say this? I say this, because when the day is done, abortion can become about healing, about renewal, about grace. Our God desires that all be well. Physically, emotionally, mentally. When someone goes through abortion, I believe wholeheartedly, that a life has been destroyed. not just the life of a baby, but the life of the future mother as well. BUT, I believe, wholeheartedly, that God intends to heal and renew that life. God intends that the lady, young or old, becomes a new creation and a healthy creation. Everyone who chooses abortion, has the chance to be healed, renewed, loved…forgiven.

My hope and prayer, is that abortion ceases to be, merely a political agenda. Instead, that abortion becomes a beginning. A chance for all of us to extend love and grace to a woman that is looking for approval, allowance, and grace.

How can you, today, help this healing begin?…

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 12:15 am

    Well said Brent! Sometimes we feel helpless cuz “what can I do, really, to help?”. I believe that thought discounts the power of prayer. With that said, I will pray, having faith someone is being healed right now.

  2. lindseyreadenobles permalink
    January 28, 2010 6:59 am

    I have been really moved by Tam’s posts. Friends and family members have questioned my interest. Because I am not a political person. At all. And candidly I HATE the abortion conversation in the political arena. I just don’t think it belongs there. It might have at one time. But not now.

    But am I for abortion? Heck no! I am for life.

    And the abortion conversation needs to happen. But instead of a bunch of dudes talking about it. We need to hear real stories of lives destroyed and redeemed. Stories that have power to influence young women who have a choice ahead of them. Stories that have power to help women to not bury decisions made regretably (not sure that is a word but we’ll go with it anyway ;).

    Thanks to both of you for having the conversation!

  3. January 28, 2010 8:45 am

    It’s been a strong, powerful week and it’s great to see the way both of you tackle this head on.

  4. January 28, 2010 9:13 am

    good words. i’m thankful for people like you and your wife who lovingly deal with the tough issues because they matter.

  5. January 28, 2010 9:54 am

    Brent and Tam…I just wanted to thank you both for your willingness to open up and share this journey. I found out in June that my mom got pregnant with me when she was 17. My father didn’t want me and brought my mom an abortion pill that was for horses. He told her to cut it in half and take it. My mom refused, so my biological dad gave up all rights to me. I was adopted when I was three by my dad. (ALL of this was new information). Your story hits very close to home for me, personally.

    I say all of that to say how thankful I am first to be alive. I am also thankful for the redemptive work you guys are allowing God to do in the lives of the people who will read your story. I know from experience it can be heavy and overwhelming to share, but the truth of what God can do in a human heart shines through you both.

    Thank you for giving hope to people who are desperate for it!

    Justin

  6. January 28, 2010 10:38 am

    I love your heart so much, Brent. This line: “Everyday, we choose whether to sacrifice or to consume.” in relation to abortion… taking it down to the core of every choice… is how my heart has felt but my mind had not been able to put into words. I’m so incredibly proud of Tam and who she is, and I’m incredibly proud of you for walking in this life with her in the loving and respectful way you do.

  7. January 28, 2010 10:45 am

    you are an anazing couple. i just wanted you both to know that.

  8. January 28, 2010 10:46 am

    *i meant AMAZING.

  9. Jenn Palmer permalink
    January 28, 2010 11:00 am

    Great comments!

  10. January 28, 2010 3:57 pm

    This morning our guest speaker for MOPS spoke on forgiveness and she said “through sin comes the chance to forgive and heal. sin is the beginning of healing and forgivess” and it made me think of this post.

    love you both!

  11. January 28, 2010 4:28 pm

    this is where i start…

    “My hope and prayer, is that abortion ceases to be, merely a political agenda. Instead, that abortion becomes a beginning. A chance for all of us to extend love and grace to a woman that is looking for approval, allowance, and grace.”

    presently reaching out to anyone i can, thank you for this post, its right on…there is always a reason for our unhealthy choices of selfishness..even if its just the pride and selfishness that drives us…

  12. January 28, 2010 5:58 pm

    Fantastic post Brent…

  13. January 28, 2010 10:07 pm

    Beautifully said. And bless you for your courage to say what people need to hear. That is truly loving others, as God calls us to do. Sugar-coating sin is just destructive. The truth, however, has the ability to set us all free.

  14. February 1, 2010 1:42 pm

    i love your heart, brent. thank you for speaking up.

  15. PALMA POOCHIGIAN permalink
    February 4, 2010 3:51 pm

    Thanks for all,

    God says you are made in my image. I am so upset that this issue is
    even happeneing 3000 a day aborted. They are selling body parts. Have to stop this. It reduces life down to matter material.It has to be an issue of discussion.We cannot ignore it. Love is the answer. I agree. A mother is a mother and there is no way we will change that.
    I know there are all answers for pregnant woman. Love them so they do not get abortions. Show they are special in Gods eyes. There the most important cause there carrying life. LIFE LIFE LIFE here on earth.
    We need them to give life so we can love them both.

    Amen

Leave a Reply

