Skip to content

Lindsey Nobles: On Books

February 9, 2010

ok friends, im in nashville right now and i have met some fantastic people. one being lindsey nobles, our guest poster today. i knew from minute one i was going to like this woman. she is confident, beautiful, smart and easy going. oh, and she’s a hoot too! yes, i said hoot. im in the south y’all! im fixin to say ‘might could‘ too 😉

Lindsey Nobles: On Books

When you work for a publishing company (like I do) or for a large bookstore chain (like I did), you always get asked two questions. Like clock work.

What books do you recommend? What are you reading now?

(Actually now that I think about it, there is a third question. How do I get published? But I will leave that one for Michael Hyatt to answer.)

I guess people automatically assume because you work with books, that you love books? I’m not sure it always rings true. But in my case, it most certainly does.

So I thought for my inaugural guest post (like @inprogress will ever ask me back), I would save you the trouble of asking and answer them. Brilliant, huh? (And please note that several of the books listed are not published by my employer. I am not just trying to pimp our product.)

What Books Do I Recommend?

These are the books that I just can’t stop talking about.

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life
– Don Miller’s recent book about the process of making his New York Times bestseller
Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality into a motion picture. And how the concept of story applies to life. This book changed the way I think. No lie

Chasing Francis: A Pilgrim’s Tale
– Ian Cron’s extraordinary tale about an evangelical priest who is forced into a sabbatical of sorts and finds himself on a pilgrimage chasing Saint Francis. Chasing Francis is beautifully written. I promise, learning about a saint has never been so fun.

The Hole in Our Gospel: What does God expect of Us? The Answer that Changed my Life and Might Just Change the World
– Richard Stearns left a high-powered job as the CEO of a Fortune 500 company to work for one of the world’s largest relief organizations. A striking and often-painful read, this book will rock your world. But it should not be missed.

Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God
As Christians we know that we are called to love God. But Francis Chan examines what love could should look like.

Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together
The incredible story of Ron and Debbie Hall and their unusual new friend Denver who becomes an integral part of their lives. Read with a box of Kleenex handy.

What Am I Reading?

My reading list is a little totally out of control right now. I need to go on a trip so I can get caught up.

Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn’t Show Up the Way You Thought He Would?
by Pete Wilson – Note: This book does not release until May. No copies are available at this time. I know…the perks of working for a publisher.

Linchpin: Are You Indispensable?
by Seth Godin My boss Michael Hyatt offered a copy to every Thomas Nelson employee. I can’t wait to dig in and learn more about how to be indispensable.

Sex, Lies & Religion
by Randy Elrod – This book releases on February 14. I can’t wait to read what Randy has to say about things many find unmentionable.

Twentysomething: Surviving and Thriving in the Real World
by Margaret Feinberg – A friend gave me a copy of this book. At 33, I am still struggling to figure all this stuff out.

The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini – I know. I know. I am way behind. Everyone has read this book. That is everyone, except me.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 10:33 pm

    “This book changed the way I think. No lie”

    Yep, me too. And I’m finding that a month after finishing it, I’m noticing more and more ways it’s changed how I think.

    And I’m looking fwd to Randy Elrod’s new book too. The reviews I’ve read so far have me hooked.

  2. February 9, 2010 11:15 pm

    I haven’t read a book in AGES. And you aren’t the only one Lindsey, I have a copy of the Kite Runner, but still haven’t got around to reading it.

    My blog friend Rebecca read Same Kind of Different As Me – first ‘Christian’ book she has ever read, and said she really loved it. 🙂

    • February 10, 2010 5:50 am

      @koalainscotland, Same Kind of Different as Me is so good. Start with that one. You will blow through it. Kinda cool random fact…I graduated from high school with the author’s son Carson.

  3. Lisa Robertson permalink
    February 10, 2010 7:05 am

    Same Kind of Different As Me — LOVED IT!! Thanks for all the great recommendations.

  4. February 10, 2010 7:08 am

    Love your list, Lindsey. You’ve inspired me to read many of these.

    Tam – thanks for asking Linds to guest post. I think she’s pretty cool too!

  5. February 10, 2010 7:30 am

    Just ordered Crazy Love after you suggested it at Blissdom!

  6. February 10, 2010 8:04 am

    This is the fourth time in 2 days someone has recommended Don Miller’s book as a must read. I’m definitely gonna have to pick it up. I’m doing Margaret Feinberg’s reading challenge, so this list is gonna help me get to my goal. Thanks for the great recommendations!

  7. February 10, 2010 8:16 am

    Looks like my “books to read stack” is about to get taller.

  8. February 10, 2010 2:14 pm

    Great list. Trying to get my hands on Chasing Francis right now. Tough to find.

    I would add “Forgotten God” by Francis Chan to your “Want To” list…if there is such a thing.

  9. February 10, 2010 3:50 pm

    I LOVED Same Kind of Different As Me. I need to go visit the Union Rescue Mission and Ron Hall is speaking in March in Keller. Think I might invite a few people to go with me.

    I have heard What Difference Do It Make is supposed to be good. That will be next on my reading list. If you want to laugh all the way through the book you should read Matthew Turner’s book Hear No Evil.

    And anyway my small group could do a test run on Plan B? Then we could give our feedback on how it worked in a small group 🙂

  10. Marcie permalink
    February 10, 2010 4:44 pm

    Loved. loved, loved A Million Miles and Chasing Francis. Both have me still thinking about them months after reading them! Kite Runner and Same Kind of Different As Me are also incredible.

    Currently reading Hole in the Gospel and Crazy Love–convicting and challenging!

    I also recommend on the non-faith front Olive Kitteredge(won the Pulitzer last year for fiction) and old Olive in her grouchy glory gets to you and the Lacuna, Barbara Kingsolver’s newest book.

    • February 10, 2010 5:45 pm

      someone was just telling me about Olive Kittredge. Adding that one too. Thanks Marc!

      Also, I have ordered Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff and Thin Places by Mary DeMuth. Told you the list is getting out of control.

  11. February 10, 2010 5:27 pm

    I’m seriously so excited that I’ve only read two of these books… love new book suggestions!!! Now, how do I get published?

    JUST KIDDING!!! 🙂

  12. February 12, 2010 12:14 am

    There’s quite a few on your lists that I’ve been intrigued by. And now I’m gonna officially add them to my wish list. I can’t wait to get Pete’s. Seems like it would be really applicable right now.

    And I enjoyed Kite Runner. But I liked the author’s next book even better. A Thousand Splendid Suns – I can’t remember if that’s the exact title… Anyway, I think you’d really like that one.

Leave a Reply

