Skip to content

114 years and 294 days

March 9, 2010

the oldest person in the united states died on sunday.

mary joesphine ray was 114 years and 294 days old.

wow!

im one of the few who want to live a very long life. most people i talk to just wanta get this over and get to heaven. but i see this place as such a fantastic journey. theres so much beauty and wonder in His creation. i really am in no hurry to leave it.

that doesnt mean i dont want to be in Heaven. i know i’ll be there some day. and then i’ll be there forever. whereas my temporary home now is just a blip. i think ive much to do here and i wanta utilize every year, even if they go into the 100’s, and make it count before i have to go.

before i leave this earth i want to have had an impact on women who’ve had abortions. i have a lot of work to do…because i dont think that journey will ever end.

i will also want to have raised respectful, productive children who use their life, their gift of life and talents, as a gift back to God while serving and ministering to everyone they come in contact with.

what are two things you hope to be remembered by after youre gone?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 1:14 pm

    That I made a difference in the life of others, that I didn’t just sit on my butt while people died without Jesus.

    That I loved my husband (and any child(ren) God blesses us with and was a faithful, submissive wife.

  2. March 9, 2010 1:31 pm

    that i loved God passionately and was serious about fulfilling the great commission

    and that i was the best mom to my child and to my future adopted children.

  3. March 9, 2010 1:32 pm

    Great post – I have similar feelings about wanting to live out a long, full life here.

    Two things to be remembered for?

    1. Putting God first in my life – loving, serving, obeying Him.
    2. Always putting my family right after God.

  4. March 9, 2010 1:36 pm

    I want to have my kids say “I work to tell others about Jesus because my dad taught me that…”

    and

    He made the lives of everyone around him a little better.

  5. March 9, 2010 1:38 pm

    The thing I want to be remembered for most – paraphrase of Acts 13:36

    “”For when [ROBERT] had served God’s purpose in his own generation, he fell asleep; he was buried with his fathers and his body decayed.

    I so want to serve God’s purpose in my own generation…. I would like people to really say that I have achieved this….

    I want people to remember the compassion of Jesus that I try to show to all, according to my mandate in life (Isa 61:1-3)

    1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
    because the LORD has anointed me
    to preach good news to the poor.
    He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim freedom for the captives
    and release from darkness for the prisoners, [a]
    2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
    and the day of vengeance of our God,
    to comfort all who mourn,

    3 and provide for those who grieve in Zionβ€”
    to bestow on them a crown of beauty
    instead of ashes,
    the oil of gladness
    instead of mourning,
    and a garment of praise
    instead of a spirit of despair.
    They will be called oaks of righteousness,
    a planting of the LORD
    for the display of his splendor.

  6. March 9, 2010 1:49 pm

    Hey … just realized I forgot to turn off the bold tag … it was supposed to be off after “he fell asleep” lol oh well πŸ™‚

  7. March 9, 2010 1:56 pm

    1. being a good mom/wife/taking care of my family well. I think those all fall under the same thing.

    2. always being on fire for God. I always feel like I’ve succeeded when some people have said “I know I can talk openly with Brandy about God and she will be able to have a good deep conversation about that….” (someone said this to me a few weeks ago and I thought, “oh I’m so glad that shows because I sometimes wonder). There are other times though when I’ve remained TOO silent and people later are surprised when I show any sort of zealousness or devotion. Those times make me sad with myself. I hope to have fewer of those times as I get older.

    And I’m SO WITH YOU on not being in any hurry to leave this world. I am always in awe when people say they would go TODAY, THIS SECOND, if given the chance. I am not that person. Not that I would choose to never go to Heaven, I just really do enjoy my time here….. and plus you know I’m sorta freaked by the unknown, even if it is Heaven. 😐

  8. March 9, 2010 2:01 pm

    That I loved well.

    That I made a difference.

    How’s that for two broad statements?

  9. March 9, 2010 2:33 pm

    Hi! Great blog. Found you a couple of days ago.

    1. That I loved Him with all my heart, mind, soul, and strength.

    2. That I became the servant of all.

    Yeah….I think I’ll need all the years I can get to accomplish either one of those.

  10. March 9, 2010 3:33 pm

    I’m one of those folks who can’t wait for the finish line – although I occasionally awake at night and am terrified at the thought that someday I will stop breathing…

    I want most to know that I’ve been heard; that what I’ve said and done makes sense to someone and they “get it.” I want them to know that somebody gives a damn – that somebody cares.

    I too, want to pass a legacy on to my children. I want them to live outside of themselves, and the society/circumstances in which they find themselves. I want them to SEE the needs of others, and do something about it.

  11. Heidi permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:46 pm

    ***YOU Tammy Hodge IMPACT women who didn’t even have an abortion.(although I know that is your heart & calling) but I am one of those women that didn’t have one, the impact you have on my life is immeasurable……. BEYOND my words tonight.**

    me?

    I want to be known for my fierceness in love for my family & friends
    I want to be known for my ability to forge on.
    I want to be known that I love God unleashed and all for His glory.

  12. Melissa permalink
    March 9, 2010 4:50 pm

    I love this post!

    I’m curious of where your passion for women who’ve had abortions comes from.

    I want to raise children that are genuinely loving & kind because they see mommy serving a loving & kind savior.

    I want to leave this world a mild loving woman. I come from a long line of angry people and I often battle my temprament and bitter nature. I hope one day I can say it’s ovecome:):)

  13. ristowswife permalink
    March 9, 2010 8:25 pm

    When I think about my family after I’m gone, I don’t think about what they will say about me. I think about how THEY will live their lives. I want my kids to live a life devoted to the Faithful One. I want them to love Him above all else. I want them to seek Him first.
    I want my legacy to be written out in their lives. The breaking of generational bondage and the birthing of new life, freedom in Christ, not eating what the world is offering, but taking every bit of what Christ gives!
    Yes! Yes! Yes! Amen! Let it be so, Lord!

  14. March 9, 2010 9:36 pm

    Hi Tam,
    You are half way to the grave then, because you have impacted women about abortion. You do that with every word you write about it, count the comments on your posts, you are doing it! I love your passion to serve, and I have a similar passion, and I don’t want to be a wet blanket, butttttt.
    I was told a long time ago, If you work hard, love everyone, live as you should, and you want to know how long you will be missed, fill a bucket with water, and plunge your fist to the bottom, then withdarw your hand. The hole you leave represents the hole you will leave behind when you go. Man, I didn’t want to hear that. I wanted to leave a legacy. Then, I realized how fickle people are, They forget or just plain don’t care, and how faithful and true God is, and at that point, I decided all I care about hearing is “well done, faithful servant”. If you hear that, you done good! Please don’t take this as negativity. I tune into your blog every day because I desire encouragement, and I write a blog daily because I desire to encourage. You have a living legacy, Now!

  15. TheNorEaster permalink
    March 10, 2010 7:05 am

    1. My writing.

    2. My writing.

    And I hope I am here long enough to actually write something worth remembering…

  16. March 10, 2010 9:36 am

    i love all your comments!!!

  17. March 10, 2010 6:12 pm

    I don’t think I have a specific accomplishment that I want to be remembered by… I guess I just want that when people remember me they feel loved and then have the desire to love others in turn.

Leave a Reply

