Skip to content

sex. again.

March 14, 2010

last month brent and i were privileged to have been invited to new song church’s caliente valentines banquet to speak on keeping passion alive in your marriage. in preparing for the talk, we ran across some very interesting things.

did you know…

A man’s beard grows fastest when anticipating sex

um. i cant even begin to wrap my head around how ‘they’ figured this one out.

85% of men who die of a heart attack during intercourse, are found to have been cheating on their wives

hmmm. stress? guilt?

Sex is the safest tranquilizer in the world. 10x more effective than Valium

good night.

not everyone here is married. but everyone thinks about sex, right?

tell me…what is the biggest myth youve heard about sex? and if you had to pick one word about how you feel society defines sex – what would that word be?

39 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 10:50 pm

    The biggest myth would have to be some of the old ones from forever ago… “If you don’t let me, my penis will fall off/explode/die”, etc etc. What gets me about those, is that girls actually FELL FOR IT. I’m hoping they don’t still.

    The one word about societies views on sex? CHEAP.

    • March 14, 2010 10:51 pm

      Wrong societies. Oops.

      *whispers* Don’t tell Gitz. Maybe she won’t notice.

      • March 15, 2010 7:53 am

        I was going to let it go… I just figured you were all flustered with the sex talk that you forgot how to spell πŸ™‚

    • March 15, 2010 6:57 pm

      β€œIf you don’t let me, my penis will fall off/explode/die”

      really? i never heard that one before. thats hilarious! i wouldve had lots of fun with that one.

      wait…no i wouldnt have. i was an angel.

      wait….you all know my story.

      dang.

      πŸ˜‰

  2. March 14, 2010 11:53 pm

    The biggest myth….once you get married, you’ll NEVER have sex. That’s either a myth or I got lucky :-). I knew there was a reason I married a girl 9 years younger!

    One word: “Irrelevant”

  3. March 15, 2010 5:42 am

    I know this isn’t even what you’re asking for, but I’ve gotta say that your post title CRACKED me up!

    • March 15, 2010 6:57 pm

      i dont get it.

      πŸ˜•

      • March 16, 2010 6:09 am

        really? you don’t? AT ALL?

        It sounds like when you’re beckoned for the 4th time that week and you respond with “SEX?! AGAIN?!”

        Not that I’ve ever been in that situation at all or anything like that.

        Have I mentioned Jake’s beard?? πŸ˜†

  4. March 15, 2010 7:07 am

    I’d say the biggest myth I heard growing up is that guys had no emotional attachment to the women they’d sleep with…as if they could have one night stand after one night stand and they’d never think about those women again.

    • March 15, 2010 6:58 pm

      i think that was a myth cuz most boys would act so shady afterwards. but im sure they all had their own drama going on in their minds too.

      • March 16, 2010 6:09 am

        I know there are still times almost 20 years later that I think of a girl I had a one night stand with in college. I wonder where she is, what she’s doing, if she’s happy. Not all guys are able to divorce sex from feelings.

  5. March 15, 2010 7:13 am

    Not sure on myth, but how society views sex: Free or without consequence.

    • March 15, 2010 7:16 pm

      oh yes…i definitely see that. so sad, the lies we buy into.

  6. March 15, 2010 7:37 am

    I’m with Mandy… your title sounds funny. Like the next word should be criminellie.

    • March 15, 2010 7:17 pm

      you and mandy have thoroughly confused me. not that thats not easy to do…so i’ll give you that.

      • March 16, 2010 5:22 am

        I read (in my reader): “sex.again.”
        I hear (in my head): “b?sex?again?criminellie!”
        I chuckle.

  7. March 15, 2010 9:15 am

    how you feel society defines sex – instant gratification. relationships are disposable.

  8. Heather Koehler permalink
    March 15, 2010 9:41 am

    We just listened to Mark Gungor (a brilliant, Godly and hysterical man!!!) I LOVED his point that one of the hugest myths of sex in marriage is that you have to be panting and sweating just in ANTICIPATION of sex, to justify doing it. He says it’s insane to think “It would not be genuine to have sex with my spouse, unless I really, REALLY want it.” After all, we exercise & eat right even if we are not “in the mood” because it is good for us & we know we need to be healthy. A healthy sex life is a part of a healthy marriage. Sometimes its crazy circus sex and sometimes its a little blah… but that’s O.K.!!! We must be deliberate and take care of the health of our marriage!

    • March 15, 2010 7:26 pm

      i love that, heather!!

      ” Sometimes its crazy circus sex and sometimes its a little blah”

      yup.

      i mean… what?

      πŸ™‚

  9. March 15, 2010 9:48 am

    Jake can virtually grow a beard overnight…. should I be worried? 😯

    How I think most of society views sex: dirty

    The biggest myth I have heard about sex? Hmmm, I don’t really know…. I guess that it was dirty would be one? πŸ˜†

  10. ristowswife permalink
    March 15, 2010 10:28 am

    Myth: That we cannot control ourselves.
    Word: worthless

    • March 15, 2010 7:28 pm

      that is the biggest myth we feed our youth today. drives me nuts when i hear adults, in referring to their own kiddos, that theyre gonna do “it” cuz they wont be able to stop themselves.

      i want to send them to a time out. the parents…not the kids!

  11. March 15, 2010 1:43 pm

    that would explain why chads beard grew so much before our wedding! ha!! jk…kinda.

    how the world sees it…. dirty and common.

  12. March 15, 2010 2:10 pm

    Can I add another? I think another myth is that it needs to look like the movies every.single.time. You know… always deeply passionate and beautiful… not to mention fairly neat and tidy. And without stupid faces. Or laughter, aparently.

    I think alot of people feel that unless sex is this stunningly orchestrated and coreographed event that goes for hours, then it’s not good sex.

    • March 15, 2010 7:31 pm

      i agree! i think that puts so much pressure on women. makes me nutty!

  13. March 15, 2010 3:56 pm

    One myth that I believed was that it wouldn’t be so much work if ya waited til you’re married to do it…the best marriages that have very fulfilled sex lives take work..(work that pays off πŸ˜‰

    one word = inconsequential

    • March 15, 2010 7:32 pm

      and sometimes…”work” can be super duper fun! πŸ˜‰

  14. March 16, 2010 5:04 pm

    not touching it..I mean this…dang…

    simply just leaving this one alone πŸ™‚

  15. March 18, 2010 7:17 pm

    Beard? Wow!

  16. natenims permalink
    March 23, 2010 6:51 pm

    Beard growth is associated with higher testosterone levels that take place both before and after sex. What’s really interesting is that testosterone levels don’t change with masturbation. But perhaps I’ve said too much.

    I think the biggest myths about sex aren’t perpetuated by our society but by our churches. We’ve said the same thing for years, decades and centuries: any sex outside of marriage is an affront to God and you should feel like filth for even considering to view sex as something liberating and fulfilling.

    Sure, the pop thing to do in churches today is to tell married couples to have sex, often, but we in the church still have a lot of mythological guilt surrounding sex and sexuality.

    • March 26, 2010 9:21 am

      That fact finally explains why my attempts at a beard in college were so dismally pathetic.

      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

