Skip to content

i held a pen today. and wrote with it.

March 15, 2010

i finally did it. after months and months of neglect. week after week after week of turning my face away from it.

i balanced our check book.

and…i did it the old fashioned way. with my hands. holding a pen. using the check register. and a calculator.

it was actually…fun.

im not using quicken, mint or any other online tool. im going old school here, people.

for the first time since last fall i know how much is in our acct.

i know. terrible. no wonder ive been dealing with anxiety lately.

but i think im gonna stick with this method. its comfortable for me. and, i kinda miss actually writing things down on paper.

this does not mean i will be buying patterns to make my family clothes.

are there things you still do old school?

44 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 9:48 pm

    to-do lists.
    they simply MUST be written.

    also, dancing. tootsie roll anyone? πŸ˜‰

    • March 16, 2010 2:17 am

      Agreed. I love my to-do lists.

    • March 16, 2010 10:09 pm

      i am finding this to be true with me too. ive tried apps on my phone and computer, and it just doesnt work. i love my paper lists folded in half everywhere in the house!

  2. March 16, 2010 12:13 am

    I like to read my Bible old school…ya know….from the Book? I know, I know…what a rebel!

    As for check registers, we haven’t had one since 2002, nor have I balanced a check book in that long :D. We know “about” what is there and just live…..I used to be a “down to the dime” kinda guy, but that ate at me. And that was back when we made lots of money….now we make nearly nuthin in comparison, don’t keep track and probably live 10 times better than we did then.

    God……Is……Good!

    • March 16, 2010 10:11 pm

      i use my bible app when i have to. otherwise…its all the real deal for me. i have to hold the paper, the book in my hands. i have to be able to jot something down in my bible. its a must!

  3. March 16, 2010 1:56 am

    I don’t do too many things old school, but I do like to send handwritten notes to people πŸ™‚ Its just fun!

    • March 16, 2010 10:12 pm

      i do think there are only a few of you left. gitz is so good with sending notes too. me…im terrible. ive always wanted to be good at it, but, am not. so…hats off to you. i know for certain that your notes bless others.

  4. March 16, 2010 2:21 am

    I still find it amazing that you uguys use personal checks over there. They’ve been pretty well obsolete here for a decade and then some. We are SOOOOOO more advanced than you. OBVIOUSLY. πŸ˜‰

    I still scribble in my Bible. I don’t have it on an ipod or whatever (though I do use biblegateway.com when looking for things I can’t find “the long way”)

    Ummm… I also don’t own a dishwasher, so they are done old school.

    • March 16, 2010 10:14 pm

      i dont write many checks. but i am using the register that goes with the checkbook. some of our bills we cant pay on line-so i pay those by check. like, 3 a month. oh…and when we get paid on a monday and we reeeeally need groceries on the friday before that monday…i’ll write a check πŸ˜‰

  5. March 16, 2010 4:28 am

    I’m hating more and more newschool things. Twitter has almost faded from my routine. Facebook is a once or twice a week thing instead of twenty times a day. I’m trying to use more cash and fewer credit cards.

    Definitely prefer to read books on paper by a LONG shot.

    I’m even trying to actually spend more time with my kids instead of talking about them online.

    I love the web but I’m a bit tired of its dominance of my life.

    So, yeah, I’m creeping back toward old school.

    • March 16, 2010 10:16 pm

      your just a couple horses and a buggy away from changing your name to charles ingles. i love it!

      and yay for more cash and less credit cards! way to go!

  6. March 16, 2010 5:37 am

    I absolutely do NOT keep a digital calendar. Not one on a phone OR the computer. I can’t stand it. I need to the “old fashioned” teacher type desk top calendars… the honkin ones. I’ve tried to keep a planner too… daily, weekly, monthly… can’t do it. Need a huge calendar. It was on my fridge but that became annoying so I nailed it to the wall. πŸ˜†

    I don’t however balance our account. Our bank does that automatically for us and I LOVE IT! Every purchase is immediately registered and deducted from our acct so anytime I log on to check, I know it’s balanced. SWEET HUH?!

    • March 16, 2010 5:38 am

      oh,and to piggy back something that’s already been said…. I’ll never own a kindle or read books online. HAS TO BE A REAL BOOK! You can’t mimick the smell or the feel of a real book!

      • Hannah permalink
        March 16, 2010 2:16 pm

        Girl, we are one in the same! I CANNOT stand Kindles or e-readers and have a planner that goes EVERYWHERE with me.

        My husband makes fun of me about the books. He says I form a relationship with each book I read and he’s right. I love how a new book smells and how it feels to crack the cover for the first time. πŸ™‚ I think I need to go buy a new one now…

        And as far as the planner goes, that’s all about my OCD! I have to put pencil to paper and be able to “control” my day by erasing and rewriting as things change.

        SO glad to know I’m not alone. πŸ™‚

      • March 16, 2010 8:49 pm

        AMEN, sister!

    • March 16, 2010 10:17 pm

      im fixin to bust out a real old school calendar too. yup. we all have our google calendars here and brent is the only one who uses it. i need the constant visual.

      bran-muffin…you have inspired me. yet again.

  7. March 16, 2010 5:46 am

    I think the biggest thing I still love old school is the barter system. Everyone has gifts and talents to share and swapping to meet someone else’s need beats money exchange any day in my book.

    • March 16, 2010 11:52 am

      mmm, I second that. I hate paying for something when I know we could easily trade instead. I have a neighbor that has this same policy so we get along quite well! We never worry about “paying the other back” either because we know it will all even itself out since we ask eachother for help or whatever it is before we ask anyone else… mostly because we both operate this way. Everyone else we know operates on the “pay me back” system, which is frustrating when all you need to borrow is a can of cream of chicken! πŸ˜†

      • March 16, 2010 5:24 pm

        Completely agree Brandy!…. It just makes alot more sense to try to outgive eachother πŸ™‚ Wonder what it would take to get on of Tam’s Oreo’s???? πŸ˜†

    • March 16, 2010 10:17 pm

      i think i like this. um…how about..you paint my nails – i make you laugh.

      πŸ˜€

  8. March 16, 2010 7:31 am

    Write out my to-do lists. This is mostly more so now because in my adding years my brain has decided it doesn’t like to remember as well anymore.

    Reading book. The paper kind. I don’t think I could ever read on a Kindle or Nook. There is something to be said for holding a book.

    Send birthday cards (usually homemade). I haven’t sent an eCard in years.

    • March 16, 2010 10:19 pm

      i am the worst with birthday cards. i am SO not proud of that.

      i think that is one of the greatest things to get in the mail. im so glad you do that!

  9. March 16, 2010 9:50 am

    I love having a hand-written to-do list. I will actually scribble down everything I can think of, organize it and re-write it. Yes, I know I have a sickness.

    And I balance our checkbook with the check register, my online statement, a calculator and a pen. It’s the only way that has ever worked for me!

    • March 16, 2010 10:20 pm

      ha! i re-write too!!! we are kindred my friend.

      and i am so happy that i found my little pocket calculator today. my financial world is at peace.

  10. March 16, 2010 9:52 am

    I gotta quit reading all these ladyblogs. No offense, y’all. Glad Toby’s here. Daggone. Feels like I’m in a Piece Goods Shop.

    • Heidi permalink
      March 16, 2010 11:54 am

      Thanks for coming and reading mine today. I was so thrilled to see you there!!

      • March 17, 2010 4:37 am

        Heidi – You’re welcome πŸ™‚ I actually read your stuff every time you post something because I get the email version, but I know that’s often distant and impersonal.

    • March 16, 2010 10:21 pm

      NO!!!! we love you around here!!

      i gotta post something more manly this week.

      i will make that happen!

      • March 17, 2010 4:38 am

        Tam – The content was manly enough, don’t worry. Just kinda felt like I was at a Beth Moore show – not the ONLY guy, but definitely a minority πŸ™‚ You just keep doing what you do and don’t worry ’bout me!

  11. March 16, 2010 10:18 am

    I thought I was old school for using Excel and Notepad to keep track of everything. No, I think that just makes me nerd school.

  12. Heidi permalink
    March 16, 2010 11:55 am

    I do dishes…
    I write letters….

    and journal… oh my .99 spiral journals… LOVE LOVE them

    • March 16, 2010 10:22 pm

      i wrote a letter last year. my hand hurt for two days.

      i am not kidding!

  13. March 16, 2010 4:57 pm

    Thank you notes…still do all of them old school

    • March 16, 2010 10:23 pm

      dang. its gotta be a gift. one i do not have.

      dang.

  14. March 16, 2010 5:21 pm

    i must have subconsciously rubbed off on you while you were here… i love my old register, pen and calculator! i find comfort in the ole fashioned way.

    • March 16, 2010 10:25 pm

      ok, seriously…when i saw you balancing your checkbook one morning it truly did inspire me. im not kidding. i thought to myself, “thats what i did for years! register, pen, scratch paper. why dont i just go back to it.”

      so yes, i must credit you, my friend!

      πŸ™‚

  15. March 16, 2010 5:35 pm

    Oh! My shopping lists… usually written on the back of a bill envelope or something.

    • March 16, 2010 10:26 pm

      i just bought one of those magnet list/pads thingy for my fridge today.

      ahhhh…im feeling so organized.

  16. March 17, 2010 3:28 pm

    Apart from a post-it addiction which my staff will miss when I have to transfer even those to digital since I’ll be in a different country an’ all that, I think the only thing I really do old school is sign my name.

    But even then, only if I have to…the jpeg of my signature gets inserted into documents very frequently.

    Oh, I do still sing using my voice. That’s pretty old school. Sometimes I even leave it relatively unprocessed. Radical huh.

    Still…the concept of needing to balance your “check book” (such quaint spelling…haha) is so old school I don’t think we could do there here if we tried. Online, realtime processing and non-acceptance of cheques FTW!

  17. March 17, 2010 11:14 pm

    I read and write in the real world.

    If I find a long story or article on the net, I will print it out and read it on paper.

    And all my poems and stories are written with black pen. Over the last three years I have written two entire novels with a paper and pen. (Talk about going old-school!)

  18. March 18, 2010 7:15 pm

    I know the feeling, a few months back I got to use a pen for an extended period of time and I could clearly see that my writing had been a little affected by the lack of use of my hands.

    I even wrote a post about it called Atrophy: http://www.randrambles.com/atrophy/

Leave a Reply

