Skip to content

he sleep walks.

March 16, 2010

i married a sleep walker.

i married a sleep talker.

i married a snorer.

one day im gonna have to do a video for you all describing some of the things brent has done in his sleep.

unbelievable.

from night to night i never know whats in store.

last night, he bolted out of bed and exclaimed… “OH NO! i just bounced Jinky off!”

πŸ˜•

i lie motionless in bed with one eye open for several minutes watching brent fumble around the room looking for Jinky, then seemingly find ‘it’, pick it up and cradle it.

the next morning brent tells me he thought he kicked the dog out of the bed and was afraid Duke was injured and dying somewhere in a corner.

but all i wanta know is… who is Jinky?

your turn…do you have any sleep walking/talking stories?

42 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 10:47 pm

    oh my dang, that’s hilarious!

    my best friend is notorious for her sleep-talking antics. her roommate has woken up to find tracee looking for snakes under her bed or hiding in her closet from spiders.

    but i don’t do anything crazy in my sleep.

    i swear.

  2. March 16, 2010 10:49 pm

    I am a sleep laugher. The first time my wife told me about it I didn’t believe her, so she filmed me. Not little chuckles, but deep belly laughs, uncontrollable giggling (so embarrasing) and I respond to nothing, in my own world completely unreachable. themn when I finally settled down for no apparent reason (after 20 min.)I started quietly snickering, hehehe. Next day, no memory. Oh well, thats my story.
    Take care
    Jim

  3. March 16, 2010 11:54 pm

    Oh, that makes me *so* happy. My mom and my older brother are both sleep talkers and sleep walkers. The famous story in my family is the time my mom jumped out of bed and started slamming the chest of drawers open and shut. Open and shut. My dad asked her what she was doing and she said, “I’m doing the filing!” πŸ™‚

  4. Randi permalink
    March 16, 2010 11:55 pm

    That’s too funny. =)

    From what I’ve been told, I get violent in my sleep. Started out in my early teens. I blame it on the dreams.

    Either case, when I get married, I’ll forewarn him…. he may end up sleeping with one eye open, or wearing boxing gloves. =)

  5. March 17, 2010 1:23 am

    I should leave this for Diane to complete on my behalf…

  6. March 17, 2010 1:38 am

    I’m not sure where to start…

    How about a sleep thrasher (why I wake up with bruises!), someone who’s dreams seem to be more fantastic than the Lord of the Rings trilogy and involve Mel Gibson, scrolls, searching for the meaning of the universe, words that talk, whimpering, and believing you’re Homer Simpson getting chased by a giant doughnut, or Father Ted being chased by a giant peanut.

    Welcome to my wifely experience. πŸ™‚

    • March 17, 2010 2:48 pm

      you were very kind and gracious in your expose of my sleepthrashing, darling. πŸ˜€

  7. March 17, 2010 2:30 am

    Ha ha! Got a good laugh. Thanks for sharing.

    My husband, who is quiet and introverted while awake, becomes a mighty conqueror or flying super hero in his sleep. He often talks and acts out his dreams. He occasionally has to rid our sheets of all kinds of vermin, too.

    Me – I’m a light sleeper. Great combination.

  8. March 17, 2010 3:40 am

    Jinky? BWAHAHAHAHA I had a good laugh at that one!

    Ria talks in her sleep ALL THE TIME! If I’m in a conscious state, I will carry on a conversation with her. I’ve recorded several of them, but I’m afraid I might have divorce papers waiting on me the next day if I were to put them on the internet.

  9. March 17, 2010 4:50 am

    Our eight year old sleepwalks sometimes, we think. It’s hard to tell.

  10. Heidi permalink
    March 17, 2010 5:09 am

    jinky, that’s hilarious.

    I am a sleep talker and walker. I will have full conversations with you.

    Funniest story, just after we were married, my husband whom didn’t know of my tales and adventures while I sleep. Got one. ya know you are freshly married, maybe sleep in bum. Well in the bum I decided to go grocery shopping. I was deseperate to get milk. I grabbed my keys, list, checked the fridge and bolted to the door. My husband in horror, caught me before I made it all the way. He tells everyone this story BTW.

    Have you heard of Bizkit…. here you

    • March 17, 2010 7:29 am

      i LOVE this video!!!! no matter how many times i watch it, i still die with laughter!

  11. March 17, 2010 5:14 am

    Well, I seem to be in good company so… πŸ˜† I did when I was younger, I will still occasionally wake up standing on the bed… or in a different room. I think the funniest one that my family still talks about is when I woke up at 2:30 AM in the chicken yard “washing chickens”…. unfortunately my Dad got doused when he tried to wake me up… πŸ™‚

  12. March 17, 2010 5:27 am

    HAHAHAHA!! My older sister was a sleep walker. Sometimes it was creepy but this time…
    I shared a room with my two older sisters K & B. Well, K used to sleep nude. One night, K (who worked for a property manager at the time) got out of bed(naked), walked across the room to B’s bed and stood over it repeating, “I need the Briarwood file”. B practically popped straight onto the ceiling like a cat. Scared her to death! Fun for the rest of the family though. Its a classic story we share over and over again!!

  13. March 17, 2010 5:33 am

    This is hilarious. I had no idea that people had so much going on in the bedroom.

  14. Melissa permalink
    March 17, 2010 5:55 am

    When my younger brother was 5 he was a horrible sleep walker! The funniest story though is the time he thought he was in the restroom and ran into our mother’s bedroom door..dropped them and emptied his ENTIRE little bladder! The whole family is was up EXTREMELY late that night trying to clean up the mess. Of course it took very much longer than it should have because we were dying laughing!

  15. March 17, 2010 6:24 am

    My husband is for sure a sleep walker. One time he woke up and crawled to the end of the bed then he slid off the side of the bed and then scooted to the top of the bed like he was scaling the edge of a building. When he got to the headboard, he grabbed and said “MADE IT! What do I do now?” I said, lay down and go to sleep. And he did. SO hilarious. He thought he was on a building.

    Other times, he sits straight up in bed and looks into the dark. He always thinks he sees people. One time he thought he saw our daughter sitting on our tall dresser. Other times he mistakes clothes hanging in the room for people.

    You just never know! Usually if I turn a light on or talk to him he slowly wakes out of it.

  16. March 17, 2010 7:25 am

    we would be here all day if I told you all of Jake’s sleeping antics. πŸ˜•

    One time in particular I was actually quite afraid for my safety. I was pregnant with Owen. Jake had bolted upright in bed and started hitting the bed trying to kill something under the sheets. PUNCHING the bed would be more like it. The his arm became a machine gun and his hand was in a fist and he was pointing it like a gun, he looked like the freaking terminator sitting there next to me in the middle of the night. He started “scanning” the room and then shooting at things…. always aliens, always. I slowly put his arm down and laid him back down, then rolled him over to the edge of the bed and got him calmed down back to sleep. Just as I got comfortable again he bolted up again, so did I, and he was STARING at me with his “arm gun” pointing straight at me. I totally thought he was going to punch me in his sleep. I pushed his arm away slowly and just kept saying “lay down” over and over. Finally he did, but I tell you I did NOT sleep the rest of night. I clung to the edge of the bed and didn’t ever fully go back to sleep. haha! While the imagery of this is funny, you should have heard him yelling and talking throughout it all. hahaha!

    One night for me, before we had kids, I woke up totally naked. I knew I went to bed with clothes on, but woke up without them. TOTALLY FREAKED me out. I looked all over and found them at my bedroom window on the floor. THEN I suddenly remembered getting up in the middle of the night to look outside, not sure why. Apparently while there I stripped down. What makes this even more awful is we were on base and all of our backyards faced eachother with no fences…. I just prayed no one was up and noticed the show I apparently put on. 😐

    • March 17, 2010 7:58 am

      Both of those are hilarious. At least you didn’t go for a walk after stripping.

  17. March 17, 2010 7:37 am

    SO funny!

    i always walked/talked in my sleep as a youngster. all the way up through college. it happens a little less now.

    i’ve tried to climb out my bedroom window. i’ve jolted straight up in bed to give a standing ovation (probably to myself haha). i’ve been woken up by my roommate for making so much commotion…and i’ve woken up girls several rooms down in our dorm by being so loud. oops!

    once in college, while my roommate and a friend of mine talked until about 3am (this wimp had been asleep for hours), i kicked my legs out of the blankets, and yelled “IF YOU AIM THAT THING AT ME ONE MORE TIME, I’LL SCRATCH YOUR EYES OUT!!!!!!!” :blush: i was, like, the most gentle girl in real life (baha)… i do remember that dream though. and in it i was holding a plastic spoon. the “scratching” tool, i guess. i swear i’m not an angry person. πŸ˜€

  18. March 17, 2010 7:52 am

    I’m just weird when it comes to sleep. My husband and I joke that I should be on a spit so i can toss and turn all night more easily.

    Stories:
    Shawn and I didn’t live together or stay the night together before we got married. The night before our wedding my friends that were in our wedding and I stayed in a hotel room together for continuity and sleeping arrangements. In the middle of the night some time in those occasional moments of conscious and unconscious all at the same time. I got out of bed and was like Shaaawwwnnn. My best friend was like umm Prudence. I came to and went back to bed.

    After we were married we had an occasion where I attempted to get out of bed via Shawn’s side of the bed, over the foot board during the middle of the night when we were both asleep. We had a canopy frame bed and I woke up standing on the bed holding onto the frame trying to figure out how to get out of bed.

    I’m a talker too, though unsure what I’ve done recently.

  19. March 17, 2010 8:10 am

    what a great way to start out my day!

    these stories are hilarious!!!

    can you imagine sharing a cabin together on a blogger retreat?

    ohmydanger.

    • Heidi permalink
      March 17, 2010 9:47 am

      I’ll make sure to bring pj’s..

      • March 17, 2010 9:54 am

        apparently pj’s wouldn’t matter in my case. πŸ˜•

  20. March 17, 2010 8:30 am

    My brother Jim was the sleepwalker in our family. One morning I got up and everyone was around the kitchen table discussing the fact that they had searched the whole house and couldn’t find the sheets that had been on Jim’s bed. He woke up in the morning and his bed had been stripped but they couldn’t figure out what he’d done.

    I was so used to him walking around that I said, “Oh, he walked into my room in the middle of the night and tossed his sheets on top of me. I just threw them on the floor on the other side of my bed and told him to go back to sleep.”

    Apparently, instead of going back to bed, he went out to the barn in his underwear to start doing chores, but Dad caught him before he got too far. After that, we all made sure he actually MADE it back to bed instead of just telling him to go there.

  21. March 17, 2010 8:40 am

    My dad used to be a sleepwalker. My favorite story: one night when he was 16 or 17, my grandma woke up in the middle of the night to find him peeing in the refrigerator! By the time she got there, it was way too late haha.

  22. March 17, 2010 9:04 am

    my son sleep walks. o_O

    just the other night he woke up … sleep walked and peed on his doggy’s food & water bowl. i could hear something splitsplattering all over the bowl and the floor so i woke up… proceeded to wake him up and tell him to wipe the mess he made

    the dog was more than happy to sniff and drink his new “lemonade juice”…so i had to walk away and clean the doggys food bowl ASAP… when i got back…i saw him standing there, in the middle of his pee…. sleeping, with paper towels on hand.

  23. March 17, 2010 9:16 am

    well… as a two year old, my uncle who lived with us at the time caught me walking out the back door at about 4am. That’s a strange as it gets for me personally. However my grandfather once jumped out of the second story window of his home. ( did not get hurt) Another time, my grand mother woke to find him running around the house crushing all of the light bulbs with his bare hands. Another time she found him in the living room having pushed all the furniture from all over the downstairs into the middle of the living room. Oh and my personally favorite, he took a brand new pocket watch apart and had laid all the different pieces out neatly on the ironboard and when he woke up the next day, he had NO idea how to put it back together!! πŸ˜‰

  24. ristowswife permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:03 am

    I sleep walk all the time. Unfortunately, I always wake up in the middle of it. Nick is usually awake still watching TV and I find myself standing in the living room saying or doing something really weird. I can always tell that I’ve been sleep walking because of the look on Nick’s face. He’s used to it now and just stays quiet until he watches the recognition dawn on my face. Then I usually blush with embarrassment. He says, “You awake now?” I nod and shuffle back to bed.
    One time I woke up wearing a really nice button down shirt, and my closet was messy. There were no witnesses to that, though.

  25. ristowswife permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:10 am

    Nick’s college roommate peed on the refrigerator. But the best part of that story is that another roommate was awake and watched the whole thing, and didn’t do a thing about it. When they all woke up in the morning, trying to figure out what the awful stench was, the awake roommate (who was still awake at the computer) looked over his shoulder and said casually, “Oh, Saul just pissed on the fridge.”

    • March 17, 2010 10:15 am

      ohmyword…that really need to be written into sitcom!

    • March 17, 2010 9:18 pm

      My brother did that!! We had just moved interstate.. he was 9… and mum and dad watched him take the exact movements to the toilet IN THE OLD HOUSE and subsequently pee on the washing machine πŸ™‚

  26. Hannah permalink
    March 17, 2010 12:27 pm

    My precious husband is at times a sleep walker. One night he tried to use the bathroom…in the closet. THANKFULLY I woke up to, uh, steer him in the right direction.

    Bless his heart.

  27. March 17, 2010 4:52 pm

    I am laughing out loud right now…by myself.

    I used to be a big sleep talker but not anymore..my wife however…

    I travel a ton…many nights return late from a flight.

    One night I came in the bedroom about midnight, quiet as can be, while my wife quickly sat up in the bed and started throwing pillows at me.

    Once she was finished I asked, “Did you get him?” She said yes, picked up the pillows, went back to bed and asleep in seconds.

    I learned that night that pillows probably would not hurt a robber.

  28. March 17, 2010 6:21 pm

    This makes today’s comments on my blog today even funnier.

  29. March 17, 2010 9:20 pm

    I have a girlfriend who told me amid a fit of laughter that her husband casts out demons in his sleep. πŸ™‚ Prays in tongues, the whole kit and kaboodle.

    While it was hillarious to think of him doing it, I couldn’t help but think “that’s AWESOME.”

  30. March 17, 2010 11:22 pm

    I tell jokes. Apparently.
    I’m told I am quite good, and have a whole routine, including audience interaction.

    Plus I fight in my sleep. I never wake up when my sheets and blankets haven’t been thrown off and twisted up. People who have shared rooms with me say I can be quite the fighter in my sleep.

    <

  31. March 18, 2010 8:32 am

    hahaha!!! oh brent. man, that’s funny.

    remind me to name my next pet Jinky.

  32. March 18, 2010 9:49 am

    My wife and my youngest son are both sleep talkers. I just wish I could remember some of the ridiculous things that they say.

    My stepdaughter was a sleepwalker until she was around 8 or so. I suppose she grew out of it.

  33. March 18, 2010 10:23 am

    LOL! ok soooo funny πŸ™‚

    so i rolled over one night about three weeks ago and opened one eye, saw my husband, and screamed.

    he slept right through it.

  34. March 30, 2010 12:03 pm

    I have been known to talk in my sleep. My brother has been known to walk in his sleep.

    However, if you can stand some R-rated humor, check out sleeptalkinman.blogspot.com. HIlarious.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

