Skip to content

computer-type-things confession

March 17, 2010

when i write out a comment/reply, i read through it before i post it.

but then i have to re-read it again after i post it.

also…when typing and i misspell a word, i have to go back and correct it right away. i cant wait till the end. and if the misspelled word is 4 words back, i’ll delete all the words til i get to it.

your turn…

29 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 10:30 pm

    oh my dang. i do all those same things.

    (destiny.)

  2. March 17, 2010 10:50 pm

    If I have less than 10 browser tabs open, I wonder why I’ve only got that few tabs open and what have I forgotten.

    So much so, that just in case my browser “reopen previously open tabs” setting dies for some reason, I have all my usually open sites listed in a Google To-Do list so I can just reopen them from there.

    And that list is backed up in Google Docs too.

    :/

  3. March 17, 2010 10:52 pm

    You’re all insane, and trying to steal my magic bag!

  4. March 17, 2010 11:30 pm

    finally thought of some (i have such bad instant-recall for stuff like this) —

    i never have less than 6 tabs open. never.

    i check things compulsively: my email, certain blogs i follow, the thrive store admin site (to see if new orders have come in), twitter…

    i “appear offline” on every chat program i have about 99% of the time.

    i take way too long to write a single blog post. way. too. long.

    no matter what i’m working on, if a new email comes in i have to stop what i’m doing to check it. when i’m really good about trying to focus, i will close my email, twitter, FB, everything to limit the distractions.

    i watch mindless tv on hulu just about every night until i fall asleep. (yay insomnia!)

    i still have a PC. (GASP!) can’t wait till i can get a mac!

    i’m scared to change to a mac.

    iTunes gets me to drop money faster than almost anything else.

    i have a love/hate relationship with email. i love getting emails but feel overwhelmed by how many i have to answer (for work and personal). i hate how long it takes me to write people back.

    my google reader has a category called “blogligations”. you’re not in it.

    since the creation of biblegateway.com, my scripture reference recall has rapidly declined.

    i right now have 59 posts in my wordpress drafts folder. most are just one-line ideas.

    • March 18, 2010 6:35 am

      I’m jealous of all of your draft folder ideas… mine contains zero. But to all these things, I say “ME, TOO!”

      ::

      i check things compulsively: my email, certain blogs i follow, the thrive store admin site (to see if new orders have come in), twitter…

      i “appear offline” on every chat program i have about 99% of the time.

      no matter what i’m working on, if a new email comes in i have to stop what i’m doing to check it. when i’m really good about trying to focus, i will close my email, twitter, FB, everything to limit the distractions.

      i still have a PC. (GASP!) can’t wait till i can get a mac!

      i’m scared to change to a mac.

      i have a love/hate relationship with email. i love getting emails but feel overwhelmed by how many i have to answer (for work and personal). i hate how long it takes me to write people back.

    • March 18, 2010 7:03 am

      blogligations…seriously? that’s hysterical. but i bet it is painful to read through. can’t you just delete them? and pop over every once in awhile? or not?

      • March 18, 2010 8:24 am

        one of my blog post drafts is about blogligations in fact. but i’m nervous that if i post it everyone will wonder if their blog is on that list.

        but i have a feeling we all have a few blogligations — blogs we read because we feel we “have” to but wouldn’t choose to otherwise.

        • March 18, 2010 8:34 am

          know what? i kinda don’t. i either feel like reading your blog, or i don’t! the only “blogligation” i’ve felt is in the comments section. but even then, i either comment cuz i want to, or i just leave it alone.

          that sounds so humanistic, but time is a precious commodity. 😉

          • March 18, 2010 10:36 am

            “your” in the general sense, by the way. not “your” as in you, alece.
            just thought i’d clarify. kbye.

          • March 18, 2010 12:08 pm

            i need to get better at cutting all manner of unwanted obligations out of my life…

  5. March 18, 2010 5:22 am

    I do the exact same things. I go back and correct a misspelling immediately. I’m too likely to forget that it needs correcting by the time I finish writing. And then if I publish it on my blog my mother will always call to tell me I’ve misspelled something.

  6. March 18, 2010 5:51 am

    I always click to close a tab when I want to click to bring it to the front.

    I never save drafts…I always write by the seat of my ample pants.

  7. March 18, 2010 6:03 am

    With you on the editing bit…I love it when you can actually edit a comment after its been published. What a great feature!

    Confessions: I live dysfunctional people, they make me feel normal.

    It’s 9:00 AM and I’m already thinking about lunch. And dinner.

    I start things – like cleaning my room, tweaking my blog, a long run, and I want to quit half way through but it would be too difficult.

    When I have computer issues (like right now), I want to scream cuss words but I can’t because if I did my boss would probably think I’d lost it. “Maybe I have lost it?”

    • March 18, 2010 6:32 am

      not being able to scream cuss words because of a boss makes me glad i don’t have a boss 🙂

    • March 18, 2010 7:23 am

      CRAP! Live should be love. Really wishing I could edit my comment.

  8. March 18, 2010 7:11 am

    Yee, I go back and delete words to fix a misspelling. Gotten better at just going to the source though and cutting out the time in between.

    I can’t stand (my one OCD thing) to see that I have unread anything. That little lit up email notification makes me go crazy until I can clear it. I will actually mark an email read and then unread again just to clear it.

    I have to always have my first tab in FireFox be my homepage.

    I also will read a comment I’ve just posted just to read my own comment. (wow that’s self centered!!!)

    When posting a blog I will repeatedly go to preview it to make sure it looks right and pretty.

  9. March 18, 2010 7:14 am

    wow. i roll with an interesting bunch.

    😀

  10. March 18, 2010 7:28 am

    I’m a compulsive internet checker…. email. blog. other blogs. email. facebook (lent has been great for this!). email. websites. other email. email. It’s ridiculous some days. 😕

    I am the same about mispelled words…. I’ll delete an entire sentence just to fix one wrong letter. This sentence for instance, I backspaced about four times.

    If I type up a post, I’ll reread it so many times that I have it just about memorized before I post it. Even then, I still find mispelled words or words left out. I think I edit each post at least twice. At least.

    Leaving comments stresses me out sometimes. They are my words that will be written out for everyone and I don’t always want to leave a “snap comment” like I would make a snap comment in real life. I like to think on it first.

    • March 18, 2010 10:54 am

      ugh, I did not get to finish earlier! 😆 Someone was at my door. 😛

      About the tabs open thing…. y’all are stressing me out! If I have more than two up I try to finish up what I need on the others and close them out quickly! I don’t like a lot of tabs open…. confuses me.

      If I can’t find a way to waste my time online due to NO ONE ELSE being online, you can usually find me camped out at Amazon.com browsing books. Amazon is my iTunes. 😯

      There are some places I’ve lurked at for a long time, and never make myself known, never comment, and probably never will.

      Part of me wants to reign in my blog friendships because I love the ones I already have so dearly and feel like I already drop the ball a lot in keeping up with those. More would be too much! So I lurk quietly.

      I don’t watch tv shows online even though we don’t have television anymore. I thought I would, but I coudn’t bring myself to do it. And surprisingly, I have no desire anymore at all to watch them or catch up. Just Netflix movies. Oh I love thee netflix.

      • March 18, 2010 12:33 pm

        i love, Love, LOVE netflix!!!!!
        and this is sad…but if our in-laws didn’t practically force us to bum off their satellite, we wouldn’t even have that (they even gave us the TV when they found out we didn’t have one…kinda wish they hadn’t)!

  11. March 18, 2010 8:19 am

    I have been known to check my email via my iPhone while the gmail window is open on my laptop, which sits open on my lap.
    I need help.

  12. March 18, 2010 8:23 am

    • i also delete everything in my path to get to what i need to correct.
    • i currently have 13 tabs open.
    • i have used (and appreciated) macs for years. yet i own a pc laptop. and i am unashamed.
    • i compulsively check my facebook, twitter, gmail and wordpress accounts like, six times a day….at the least.
    • when i proof-read a post, i HAVE to do it in the preview part, rather than in the text box. i just can’t see it the same way if i don’t.
    • i forget to proof-read my comments sometimes, and i’ve really embarrassed myself that way. but i almost ALWAYS forget.
    • i don’t write posts often because i’m a perfectionist and it takes me way too long.
    • every post i’ve written since starting grad school has been imperfect and lacking in my opinion, but i’d never get it done if i didn’t just suck it up and click the publish button.
    • i really like bullets.
    • that’s all.

  13. March 18, 2010 11:18 am

    i check email, twitter and facebook ALL. THE. TIME.

    When i write posts or drafts 99% of them start with “so.” I am trying to work on that. I just went back and read some of my posts…and its true…and hilarious.

    i write comments for almost every blog post i read and then delete them. a very small amount actually get submitted. ha!

    I quit using google reader so much and i just check up on the blogs that i enjoy daily…well, on the days i open my computer.

    i use evernote to draft and write posts because i can get to them on my phone too…i have since the last count 89 concepts or 93% finished posts that have yet to see the glow of the computer screen.

    i feel like i am alot funnier online and twitter than in real life…so sorry!

    that was fun!

  14. March 18, 2010 11:25 am

    I’m OCD about my Google Reader. An unread item in my Google Reader is like a must-do for me. I follow about 100 bloggers in Reader. And news feeds on top of that. This is after I trimmed my subscriptions down.

    I’m almost as bad about my twitter time line. (Thank goodness for lists).

    If I write anything longer than two sentences (email, comment, reply), I usually end up re-writing it at least twice. (This comment for instance).

    I never have less than six browser tabs open.

    I send emails to myself to remind me to do things. My version of a to-do list.

  15. Heidi permalink
    March 18, 2010 11:39 am

    Wow… I agree with all the commenters in at least one way.

    I’m horribly compulsive about misspelled words, with my mind the way it is (after my stroke), I sometimes makes some eroneous errors and I forget to profread, then I hit post, see the error, and have a fit!! I don’t return to that blog for quite awhile. horrible I know.

    I go to only 3-4 blogs to comment anymore (friends)
    I lurk on some others. (leadership)
    I am thinking about closing mine now.
    I am a PC’r not a MAC gal.
    twitter sometimes
    FB a little more.
    I have no google reader no more, I email subscribe now… Only a few as I said.
    (Okay, I have checked for misspells already)

  16. Heidi permalink
    March 18, 2010 11:40 am

    see: makes/make …… grrrr….

  17. March 20, 2010 4:36 pm

    this is kind of weird but i dont have more than three tags opened at the same time. I cant handle it.

  18. April 1, 2010 7:16 pm

    Hi there! this place is the best show case of a fine wordpress theme right? seems all so organized that makes me think its more than perfect! keep it going.

Leave a Reply

