Skip to content

what a day

March 18, 2010

thursday was a day of heavy prayer and a burdened heart for an anguished soul who commented here on one of my abortion posts. so many of you responded to her. and you all did it with class and respect. the grace and love that colored your words were so bright and vibrant.

thank you.

im so thankful for the friendships here. for this amazing community. the amount of love and respect i have for you is immeasurable.

again…

thank you!

so…tonight was a perfect night. it was just what my soul needed. we, as a family, went to our local theater, the ginger rogers craterian theater, to see the

HARLEM GOSPEL CHOIR!!!!

people! they were amazing!

it was fun. soothing. entertaining. worshipful. tender. funny. energetic. it was simply…spectacular!

there was a moment when they brought a bunch of the audience up on stage just to dance with them.

oh how i love to see a crowd of white folk dancing!

one of the beautiful and talented women in the choir sang amazing grace. i do think every cell in me wept for those few minutes. as i listened to those words i reflected on my entire life and i sat there in, well, amazement. Grace has amazed me, indeed…

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear.
And Grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that Grace appear
The hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
‘Tis Grace that brought me safe thus far
and Grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me.
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
And mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess within the veil,
A life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been here ten thousand years
Bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Than when we’ve first begun.

amen.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 2:08 am

    “He will my shield and portion be, as long as life endures.”

    My favourite lines in the WHOLE song. Such comfort and secure rest.

    Selah

    *deep sigh*

  2. March 19, 2010 4:26 am

    Amen… agreed.

    Thank God for his grace – AMAZING….

  3. Heidi permalink
    March 19, 2010 5:17 am

    “How precious did that Grace appear
    The hour I first believed.”

    I needed these words this morning, more than you know…
    More than ya know

    Amen

  4. March 19, 2010 5:43 am

    I was on the phone with my mom last night and she said “ugh, Brent and them are getting to go see the Harlem Gospel Choir!” I said “you must be on FB huh?” haha! She LOVES Gospel music. 😉

    I was reading through that other comment thread yesterday, and I woke up thinking about that this morning….how everyone handled HER with such grace and how their words were so perfect. I read it and felt at a loss for words…. mostly because my gut instinct reaction to what she said would not have been as refined as others. I am glad I said nothing because I’m sure it would have only added fuel to her fire. My heart though, my heart agreed with what everyone else posted.

    I would like to say it should be easy to let a comment like that roll off your back when it’s someone you don’t know, but words like that hurt and Satan can use them to cause doubt in us.

    Amazing Grace indeed time Tam, which I think you modeled very well yesterday.

    Love you.

    • March 19, 2010 5:44 am

      wait a sec…. “Amazing Grace indeed TIME Tam….” WHA?! 😯 I don’t know how that word got in there. At all. Would it benefit me to say I’m still half asleep? 😆

  5. March 19, 2010 7:53 am

    dude. so fun!!!

  6. March 19, 2010 10:10 am

    I always dreamed of singing bass in a gospel choir….still waiting on my voice to drop 98 octaves lower. 🙂

  7. March 19, 2010 1:22 pm

    Tam,
    You are a warrior for Christ, and I enjoy the encouragement I gain from your blog daily. I am so glad you turn to God in times of need, that shows your maturity in Christ. God Bless and keep you and yours-always
    Jim

  8. March 19, 2010 5:32 pm

    Bran said it best here, her loss for words “mostly because my gut instinct reaction to what she said would not have been as refined as others. I am glad I said nothing because I’m sure it would have only added fuel to her fire. My heart though, my heart agreed with what everyone else posted.”

    Ok, probably not a loss for words, I thought of plenty actually but, I’m not there yet…. I know I’m not there yet, which is why I have been silent, and why I will remain silent as I watch and learn from these other wonderful brothers and sisters on how to handle it when things like this happen…..

    BUT, I’m thrilled that you and the fam got to see such a wonderful group! Love stuff like that 🙂

  9. March 19, 2010 7:55 pm

    ” Amazing Grace” and ” Footprints” are my two favorite things in the world:)

  10. March 19, 2010 7:58 pm

    and I don’t know if y’all have seen this 200billiontrillionth times but I love it.

    • March 20, 2010 7:07 am

      i actually hadn’t seen that until now. i LOVED it. it gave me chills. i just love how God can completely turn something (someone) around and use it all for His glory and to show love to those He created. so glad you posted that!

Leave a Reply

