Skip to content

laugh and live!

March 24, 2010

yesterdays post was all about updating my blogroll and getting to know some of you more. i SO enjoyed reading through your comments!

some of you mentioned that there is a good balance of serious and funny here. i was so glad to read that. thank you so much for sharing that with me.

i know it probably sounds like that shouldnt be a big deal…but, to me, it is. although, i feel i lean more toward the goofy. and i guess thats ok. im a goofy, God loving, committed wife and fierce mama bear kinda chick. im cool with that.

ive always leaned toward the funny side of life. that is my comfort zone, i guess. i respond well to that. i gravitate to funny people. i love a good sense of humor. dry, blatant, doesnt matter…make me think – make me laugh.

i also love a good deep conversation. although, politics make me wanta peel that super thin layer off the top of my eyeballs.

if i were to be stranded on an island and had to be ‘stuck’ with one thing/person…i would hope it would be someone who has a mean sense of humor.

studies have shown that laughter is healing. in fact, i remember reading once a man who was given two months to live. he went home and was determined to defy that diagnosis. he had no family left and few friends. so…he rented months worth of comedy movies. he watched them, one after another. months and months went by and he was still alive and kicking. at the time i read this story, it had been two years since his 2 month death sentence. as far as i know…he’s still alive and kicking.

yes, laughter is good medicine. there is no denying that.

what is one thing, that is for sure – every time, certain to make you laugh?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 10:00 pm

    The movie, “Dumb and Dumber”, really really will laugh into exhaustion on that one. Mars Attacks is a close second.

    • March 24, 2010 10:07 pm

      one of our favorite movies right there!

      i also enjoy anchor man. i know. 😕

      planes, trains and automobiles is a classic for me as well.

    • March 26, 2010 7:51 am

      i’m a dumb and dumber laugher, too.

  2. TheNorEaster permalink
    March 24, 2010 10:41 pm

    When I was a kid, my mother got furious if-make that “when”-me and my brother laughed at the table.

    Well, one Saturday morning, we were at it big time. Just laughing and having a grand ol’ time. Needless to say, my mother put us both on restriction for the rest of our natural-born lives. (I got a little leniency in college, but not much.) Anyway, my mother scolded us something fierce. And my brother had this triple dog dare drop dead serious look on his face. But then he put a spoonful of Cheerios in his mouth and laughed so dang hard HE SPIT HIS CHEERIOS UP ALL OVER THE TABLE!!!

    And, man, that was it. I spent the three weeks laughing over the whole thing. The look on his face was absolutely priceless. And to this day still is. I still don’t think he is allowed to legally watch TV, according to my mother of course.

    But, yeah, that one always gets me.

    And I have to go now before my Mom finds out I have a Blackberry… 😯

    • March 26, 2010 3:06 pm

      Your mom sounds like me! 😯 While I love my kids laughter…. at the table it bothers me a lot because it’s usually over some nasty bodily functions I’d rather not be talked about at the table…. and it keeps them from eating their food. And of course,there’s the whole “spitting it out due to laughing so hard” issue. Makes me cringe! 😆

  3. March 24, 2010 10:43 pm

    “Tuts Ma Burreh”

  4. March 25, 2010 12:49 am

    My kids laughing

  5. March 25, 2010 3:14 am

    You

  6. March 25, 2010 3:20 am

    I instantly thought of this:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHqNk8_rOHk&feature=player_embedded (clip of Everybody Loves Raymond)

    Hysterical laughter everytime. You can’t NOT laugh when watching it!

    Same with this one:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ON4ECUkK_xI&feature=related (Ross and the leather pants!)

    Both videos leave me in tears!

    Also, Jake is almost always sure to make me laugh. 😉

  7. March 25, 2010 3:21 am

    I went to spam. Dangit. Stinking LINKS!

  8. March 25, 2010 3:41 am

    someone tripping, wiping out, falling down. gets me every time. i am mean like that!

  9. Heidi permalink
    March 25, 2010 5:41 am

    My favorite was this woman…(this soooo dates me) Cancer took her too early… But she was amazing…. I saw her live in Portland, oh my gosh I needed diapers then and I was a young teen.

    Comedy is very controlling — you are making people laugh. It is there in the phrase “making people laugh.” You feel completely in control when you hear a wave of laughter coming back at you that you have caused.
    – Gilda Radner

  10. March 25, 2010 5:52 am

    I laugh at things I shouldn’t… Like have you seen the newscast about the Leprechaun in Mobile? Or Bub Rubb and Lil Sis and the Whistler Tips? They get me everytime, mostly because they are not intended to be funny.

  11. March 25, 2010 9:06 am

    I love British humor, good irony and double meaning, Arrested Development, and Jim Gaffigan.

  12. March 25, 2010 9:53 am

    my friend Susie and I laugh at really inappropriate times. Like church. And funerals. It’s awful because once we start we can’t stop…

    • March 25, 2010 5:12 pm

      I made an inappropriate joke in bible study this week and giggled MUCH to loudly…. only to 10 seconds later find out that what I made a referrence to in the joke was not actually accurate…if that makes sense. I made a joke thinking I knew what the next sentence was that someone was going to say…. only it was quite the opposite. And still, I laughed. 😕

    • March 26, 2010 7:50 am

      I. am. so. like. this!!!!!!

  13. March 25, 2010 10:28 am

    Without a doubt, Magical Trevor:

    http://www.weebls-stuff.com/songs/magical+trevor/

  14. Grant permalink
    March 25, 2010 2:02 pm

    Any episode of The Office or 30 Rock. Pick one, any one. 🙂 Other than that, I tend to be able to amuse myself pretty easily and have been known to just start laughing at random times.

  15. March 25, 2010 3:04 pm

    Terry Pratchett – any of his Discworld books. Or the book he did with Neil Gaimen, Good Omens, which if you enjoy end-of-the-world, apocalyptic hilarity that’s the one to pick up 😀

    Also my brother. 🙂
    G

  16. March 25, 2010 7:35 pm

    “what is one thing, that is for sure – every time, certain to make you laugh?”

    When I look in the mirror right before I jump in the shower…. every. time. Oh, and any time it is quiet, and inappropriate, can so relate to the gals up there ^^^^^ 😆

  17. March 26, 2010 7:40 am

    My husband. He is crazy. Sometimes it’s the shake your head and laugh and other times it’s just laugh, but he keeps me laughing and having fun. Cause sometimes I think I have a fun disorder. I am random…but tend to stay on the serious and deep side of life. But I don’t think he has a serious bone in his body. And it balances me.

    Oh and you and Jenni and matthew and a lot ofnother people on twitter keep me laughing.

  18. March 26, 2010 7:50 am

    the word fartknocker.
    lol.
    terribly immature, i know. but it’s true.

    there are other things, of course. but this popped in my head first.

  19. March 26, 2010 10:10 am

    An insistent 5lb chihuahua standing my my face trying to give me kisses while he wags so ferociously you think his bum will fall off.

    Comedian Brian Regan.

    My husband and is amazingly dry/british style humor.

  20. March 30, 2010 11:43 am

    Someone imitating me. 😀 (Hiya!)

Leave a Reply

