Skip to content

thematical: day 1

March 29, 2010

i said it a few times yesterday and i’ll say it again…random picker hates me. i agreed on yesterdays post to write about anything one of you suggests for me to write on if your comment was chosen by random picker.

well, of course, mandy would see this as an opportunity to irritate the living good out of me by leaving a couple over the top comments with a thousand themes to choose from. her first one was picked.

but…instead of just choosing one of her suggestions from the list…im tackling all of them! ive broke them up into four parts. and here are todays…

hiccups. soup. george clooney. nightmares. barbara streisand.

can you imagine having hiccups for 68 years?  for nearly 68 years, charles osborne suffered from, roughly, 430 million hiccups. hiccups are sudden, involuntary contractions of the diaphragm muscle. i dont get them often, but i dread it each time i do. the only thing that has ever helped me get rid of them is someone else asking me to hiccup. once someone requires it of me, i cant.

other ways to get rod of hiccups…

hold your breath. drink a glass of water quickly. become frightened (seriously, do you actually plan this?). use smelling salts. pull hard on your tongue (or let me do that for you).

i have never made soup from scratch. i envy those who do. but its just not in my dna. when i think of soup making i, for some reason, equate it to being old fashioned. and, i guess im right. its thought that soups origin is connected with the invention of pottery around 5,000 b.c.. id prefer to make pottery than soup.

George Clooney yum. i mean, um… i’ll let him speak for himself.

ive had one nightmare my whole life. actually, i dont think it was technically a nightmare, because, typically, people wake from them thoroughly frightened and out of sorts. i didnt wake up from mine, but i was shaken when i got up that morning.

the scene: a busy street in the middle of day. there were hundreds of people running and screaming. in the midst of the crowd were men wearing all black and carrying semi-automatics. brent, kass, kota and i were running close together as fast as we could. kota was about 2 years old in this dream and his little legs just couldnt keep up. i stopped to swoop him up, brent and kass turned around to wait. people were shoving them trying to get to…wherever we were all rushing to. i yelled at them to keep going. id grab kota and would be right behind them. brent and kass went on. i swooped kota onto my hip and started running like a mad woman. suddenly i felt a huge amount of pressure in my chest and a paralyzing shock go throughout my body. i fell to the ground. kota sat beside me. i had been shot. brent and kass ran back. my family all sat beside me without words. i knew i was done, brents face confirmed it. i told the kids i loved them, brent kissed my forehead, he picked up kota, grabbed kassidi’s hand and they all ran away. i fell asleep…

and….speaking of nightmares…

barbara streisand

36 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 10:59 pm

    Clooney is yum, i mean um, indeed!

  2. Melissa permalink
    March 29, 2010 11:26 pm

    I just love that you got one of Mandy’s crazy lists!!!

  3. March 29, 2010 11:28 pm

    clooney swooney 😉 and i found a cure for hiccups by the way..if anyone wants to know…go ahead and ask.

    • March 29, 2010 11:29 pm

      and yes it has something to do with drinking too. and sticking fingers in your ears. 😉

  4. March 30, 2010 1:24 am

    Nice segue between topics.

    But that nightmare is pretty freaky. Don’t think I would like that one very much, no indeed!

    • March 30, 2010 1:13 pm

      it still shakes me up a bit when i think about it. but interesting thing was…there was no pain from being shot (phew) and i wasnt afraid to die or sad that my family had to leave. that part was actually very comforting.

  5. March 30, 2010 3:14 am

    VERY well done!! scary nightmare, i’ve never made soup, clooney -yum, barbara – yikes and if anyone ever pulls on my tongue i am quite sure i would cuss.

    looking forward to tomorrow!

  6. March 30, 2010 3:27 am

    I’m so proud of you for tackling ALL of ’em in that list!!!! And one day soon I will have to explain to you how *I* thought you were going to use the random picker and comment thingy…

    I think I like YOUR way best, though.

    PS: You need to give Google or wiki some credit for the one on hiccups. 😉

    • March 30, 2010 1:14 pm

      what. i linked to the hiccups thingy. what?

      random picker picked yours first off. i tried to count around it.

      😕

  7. March 30, 2010 4:32 am

    impressive!

    Clooney is the hotness. That’s… um… yep, he’s the hotness.

    Barbara Streisand. Well, bless her heart…

    • March 30, 2010 1:15 pm

      “Barbara Streisand. Well, bless her heart…”

      SO funny!!!

      of course, i did search for just the perfect pic of her 😀

  8. March 30, 2010 4:53 am

    Hahaha for hiccups I have an infallible method.

    Wow, that nightmare is freaky. Like a movie. And the first one too. Wow. 🙂

  9. March 30, 2010 5:27 am

    re: George Clooney – yum, i mean um… so funny.

    • March 30, 2010 1:15 pm

      yes. my name is tam. i like george clooney and olives.

  10. March 30, 2010 5:34 am

    I think I might be the ONLY female on earth who does not think George Clooney is yumm, or ummm. 😕

    The soup one compells me to give you the easiest soup I’ve ever made. I know soup from scratch SOUNDS hard and old fashioned, but I swear it’s not! It’s now one of my favorite things to make!

    Try this one… I promise, it’s so easy!

    CREAMY WHITE CHILI:
    1 pound chicken, cubed, cooked. I cooked it in olive oil with salt/pepper (I only used 2 medium chicken breasts for this and it was enough)
    1 medium onion chopped (I only used about 1/4 of an onion… you can do it to taste)
    1-1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
    1 tablespoon vegetable oil (or olive)
    2 cans white beans (navy or great northern is fine)
    1 can chicken broth (14 1/2 ounces…. I use no sodium boullion packets and mix enough for 14 ounces)
    2 four ounce cans chopped green chilies (I only had one, and it was still good)
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon ground cumin
    1 teaspoon dried oregano
    1/2 teaspoon pepper
    1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
    1 cup sour cream
    1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

    (sounds like a lot of ingredients, but it’s not once you see it’s a lot of seasonings)

    In a large saucepan, saute chicken, onion and garlic powder in oil until chicken is no longer pink. Add the beans, broth, chilies, and seasonings. Bring to boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes (keep an eye on it though b/c mine didn’t simmer this long, only about 25 minutes). Remove from heat; stir in sour cream and whipping cream. Serve immediately.

    Oh it was heaven in a bowl!

    • March 30, 2010 1:16 pm

      um. no. you are not coming all the way out here to cook in my kitchen. i dont need soup that bad. but we can sit and chat for a bunch of hours! 🙂

      • March 30, 2010 2:07 pm

        well I’ll need a kitchen to cook in! My trailer kitchen is small! 😆

  11. March 30, 2010 5:37 am

    oh, and p.s. your nightmare is going to give ME nightmares. 😕 that is awful!

  12. March 30, 2010 6:13 am

    wow. that was some crazy nightmare!
    and your last line was hilarious!

  13. March 30, 2010 6:45 am

    Hiccups – I found peanut butter works. I get them often. Annoys my husband to no end.

    Soup – I’ve made it from scratch but they’ve only been cream based. I’ve made chili too. I can’t figure out stew. Every time I make it it’s nasty.

    George – We watched Up In the Air a couple weeks ago. I commented to a friend that he gets better looking as he gets older. Just one of those guys that does.

    Nightmares – Didn’t start having them till I was an adult. Always involves me running and someone chasing me trying to kill me.

    Barbara – Every now and then I still sing “Papa can you hear me? Papa can you see me?…..”

    • March 30, 2010 1:18 pm

      george get better looking and so does that older guy, has an accent, was james bond a long time ago? dang, whats his name??? hes easy on the eyes too, for an old fart.

      • March 30, 2010 2:20 pm

        Pierce Brosnan
        Sean O’Connery

        Harrison Ford did for a while, but lately he looks well….like an old archeologist. (Uhoh he doesn’t read your blog does he?)

  14. Katie Ristow permalink
    March 30, 2010 7:49 am

    Soups are easy. Fill a pot with boiling chicken broth. Add whatever you want to it. Beans, meat, pasta, carrots, celery. That’s it. It might be old fashioned, but when there’s nothing to eat in the house, I’ve always got a jar of frozen soup in the freezer. And it’s always yummy.

    • March 30, 2010 10:40 am

      mmmmm…. I did this the other day and it was marvelous!

    • March 30, 2010 1:19 pm

      y’all might make a convert out of me yet.

      easier still, is grabbing your can opener out of the drawer, a can of progresso chicken and wild rice soup and a handful of saltines.

      voila!

      😀

  15. March 30, 2010 9:18 am

    Wouldn’t you rather all these people giving you soup recipes would just MAKE IT for you and deliver it???

    Hee hee…

    • March 30, 2010 10:39 am

      That’s a great idea…. Tam, I’ll make it for you in May in your kitchen!! 😉

    • March 30, 2010 1:20 pm

      im all about delivery…yes!

      i DO love the smell of soup simmering on the stovetop. makes me want my mommy.

  16. Heidi permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:48 pm

    tomato soup and grilled cheese is my dinner tonight thanks to this blog…..

    clooney…. is hot!!! But he’s VERY arrogant…. so not so umm… just yummy to look at.

Leave a Reply

