Skip to content

faithbook of jesus

March 31, 2010
i have a new friend! i know…i love friends. i have more now than ive had my entire life. her name is renee johnson and she is a spit fire little lady with energy and passion that ive not seen in someone in a very long time.
renee has recently published her first book. a devotional geared toward 20 somethings. but, y’all, im reading this devotional and it is applicable to even us 40 pushers! yes, thats me and most of you so stop snickering 😉
i have the privilege of being involved in renee’s faithbook of jesus blog tour.
below is a brief little interview with my new friend. get to know her. ask her some questions. and definitely get this book! it is worth it!
you can find renee on facebooktwitter and of course her blog
1) when did you know you were going to write this book? and did you know right away it would be a devotional for twenty somethings?
When I couldn’t stop writing devotionals while I was at work. That’s all I cared about. I put all my emotion and passion into my writing because of the trials I was experiencing. I even listened to podcasts while I was processing payments and doing data entry. I think I got up to like 7 sermons in one week /every week. It was a time for learning and growing for me. That was back in 2006 and I had already been blogging devo’s since 2004!

I didn’t. I just wanted to encourage EVERYONE, but my mentor encouraged me to find my target audience. Once I did the research I realized that there weren’t many, if any-devotionals for 20-somethings.

2) what, in your opinion, is the biggest obstacle/struggle, facing twenty somethings today?
Sex before marriage. I cannot tell you how many unplanned pregnancies and STD’s there are in the CHRISTIAN community. It breaks my heart, but not in a way that’s like “you’ll never recover” kind of despair, more of a fire in my bones to make sure that all 20-somethings can have such a vibrant relationship with Jesus to help them make better choices.
3) my, almost 16 yr old, daughter is going to read this book. do you recommend it for people of all ages?
Yes. Scripture is still relevant for all ages, and even though I put a 20’s spin on it, I’ve been receiving all kinds of emails, Tweets, and FB messages from those in their 30’s, 40’s and even 50s who love it 🙂
4) how does this book differ from other devotional books available?
I surveyed over 300+ people, ages 18-35 to make sure that this book represented the heart of my generation and not just myself and my love for the Word. Plus there’s an online component http://faithbookofjesus.ning.com and on my blog http://www.devodiva.com. So for those who cannot always read it every day they can catch up on the blog or dialogue further if there’s a pressing matter that the devotional left in their hearts!
There’s not a whole lot out there with so much to give behind it. This is not just a book, it’s my life poured out as a drink offering. God’s opening up the skies and blessing my socks off and I want everyone to be a part of his blessings (Deut. 28:1).

You can purchase Faithbook of Jesus: Connecting with Jesus Daily, at Amazon

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 12:43 pm

    Thanks Tam… will be checking it out….

  2. Heidi permalink
    March 31, 2010 1:55 pm

    I’ve actually heard about Renee in the local circles, she lives only about 40 minutes away from where I live. This book looks incredible. My daughter who is turning 19 in a few weeks would absolutely love this!!

    Thanks sis for introducing and making me to look harder at Renee’s ministry. Love it!! …… love ya!

  3. April 1, 2010 8:05 am

    …and even 50s who love it 🙂

    Hey, did she just call me old?

    Another blogger I subscribe to, Jeff Goins, also just posted an interview with Renee Johnson.

    http://jeffgoins.myadventures.org/?filename=interview-with-renee-johnson-faithbook-of-jesus-author

    Tam, thanks for this take on Faithbook and Renee.

Trackbacks

  1. Faithbook of Jesus Blog Tour » Devotional Diva®

Leave a Reply

