Skip to content

sure didnt expect this

April 6, 2010

i had no idea my confession post would get the response it did.

i sincerely never thought so many would confess to the same fear of dying.

i actually assumed id get more comments telling me i have nothing to fear. believers shouldnt fear death.

then…your confessions began broadening. expanding into an area of bravery that just stopped me in my tracks.

the conversations that went on were amazing! i am so proud of all of you for sharing all that you did. thank you for trusting each other with your confessions.

thank you for respecting one another.

this confession post deeply impressed on my heart the need we all have to release our hidden heaviness. there are many things we dont share because we think we cant, or we shouldnt, or no one would understand.

well, tuesday proved me wrong for thinking that about my fear of dying.

we’re all much more alike than we think, it seems.

so…you’ll be seeing the occasional confessions posts here from now on. they wont always be serious. sometimes ive just gotta be goofy, as you all know 😀

but i witnessed so much value in the discussion here about death. the wisdom that was shared is invaluable. we truly need each other. we can learn much and be sharpened greatly when we confess and share life.

i’ll call the posts Community Confessions

and like the dying confession post, this will be a place where we can share openly and honestly in a safe environment.

now…to lighten it up a bit today…

if you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional. with whom would it be?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 12:51 am

    Anyone with more chocolate than me.

    Other than that, I’m happy where I am. 🙂

  2. April 7, 2010 5:00 am

    Hmmm. That’s a tough one. Maybe one of the countless, untouchable, unloveable people that Mother Teresa cared for. Wouldn’t it be amazing to be the recipient of God’s love and care through someone like her?

  3. April 7, 2010 5:04 am

    A medical helicopter pilot or a news helicopter pilot. Shoot, any helicopter pilot. A really good one. Wouldn’t wanna crash during my “swap”. And we’d need to carefully schedule the “return to real life” so that it didn’t occur while “I” was flying.

  4. April 7, 2010 5:48 am

    This may sound ridiculous…. but I would trade places with a woman in my Bible Study. She is the most Christ-centered person I have ever met, and she not only loves everyone as Christ loves (or at least from what I can see!) but everyone sees that love and loves her right back. She is compassionate and patient and caring and kind to her husband and takes every opportunity to share the gospel, whether through actions or words. It’s beautiful, and I want to know what’s it’s like to feel like that — what thoughts go through her head and how she stays so prayerful and patient and caring.
    I fail at that so often.

    • April 7, 2010 8:08 pm

      that is amazing.

      does she know you feel this way?

      • April 8, 2010 6:01 am

        I think so… she knows I care about her and that I admire her love for Christ. I want to ask her to be my mentor or to disciple me. I don’t know if that would be weird for the other women in my Bible Study, since I technically “lead” it (although really, we are all very very much equals in it, and teach each other something new every week).

  5. April 7, 2010 6:21 am

    I would switch places with Robert Ludlum so I could learn the craft of writing the way he did it.

  6. April 7, 2010 6:31 am

    I always wanted to be James Bond but look like a Bond Girl. You know be the great secret agent/spy but have the great, thin body. I need a lipstick camera.

  7. April 7, 2010 6:53 am

    chowder…dkw…he popped in my head..love the bright colored world he lives in…and well he is so free in his skin…lol i could be anaylzed for this!

  8. April 7, 2010 8:04 am

    I’d switch with Jane Austen or one of her characters. YES!

    • April 7, 2010 8:35 am

      That was my exact thought, Brandy!!

      And then I thought I’d be a bit more “spiritual” and remembered…Mother Theresa…to help people, to give completely for the “untouchables”, and to have the energy to do it…wow.

  9. Heidi permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:38 am

    Ruth Bell Graham:

    This quote I have tucked in my bible for years now

    “Dear God, I prayed, all unafraid
    (as we’re inclined to do),
    I do not need a handsome man
    but let him be like You;
    I do not need one big and strong
    nor yet so very tall,
    nor need he be some genius,
    or wealthy, Lord, at all;
    but let his head be high, dear God,
    and let his eye be clear,
    his shoulders straight, whate’er his state,
    whate’er his earthly sphere;
    and let his face have character,
    a ruggedness if soul,
    and let his whole life show, dear God,
    a singleness of goal;
    then when he comes
    (as he will come)
    with quiet eyes aglow,
    I’ll understand that he’s the man
    I prayed for long ago.”
    — Ruth Bell Graham

    I’ve always always admired her and her strength

  10. April 7, 2010 9:58 am

    what Michelle said… Mother Teresa… so i could understand her motivation to help others that was unceasing

    ***
    on another note i love that you are doing the confessional posts! i agree with your comment: “the need we all have to release our hidden heaviness”… as i have watched some of my blogger friends share their hearts… it has given me courage to share mine too, which has impacted others to do the same.

    it is community-building too – when we can share who we authentically with others. there is something about knowing someone else is in your shoes too that engenders courage to face scary things.

    that’s the coolness.

  11. April 7, 2010 11:25 am

    hmmm…Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. that is my all time favourite movie and i always dreamed of being her as a child. and now that i am a christian and there is symbolism there i would love it even more.

  12. Nicole Wick permalink
    April 7, 2010 4:28 pm

    Bono. It would be very cool to be a rock star and a humanitarian both in the same day.

  13. April 7, 2010 4:48 pm

    I would swap with Wayne Elsey from my church who started Soles4Souls.

    I would love to live in his shoes (no pun intended) to see the amazing things God is doing in his life of giving.

  14. April 7, 2010 8:18 pm

    I’d swap with Renee Fleming.
    And I’d sing her roles (using her vocal cords, of course), and I’d prance around in my bad-out soprano-diva attire, and check my soprano-diva schedule and eat my soprano-diva food.

    Oh, and I’d tell everyone about this pretty little Texas girl I know who is THE up-and-coming soprano-diva. Or soon shall be.

    😀

  15. Nathan permalink
    April 8, 2010 12:47 pm

    I would love to not trade with anyone, just want be in Mexico deep in ministry, and fluent beyond belief.

Leave a Reply

