Skip to content

existence

April 11, 2010

what’s the purpose of your existence?

not just existence, but your existence?

but really think about it. im gonna spend the day thinking about it as well. ive already been considering it and, honestly, its been hard for me to come up with an answer. its not that there isnt one…i just need to formulate my thoughts and accept reality of what is and what should be.

alright, that was kinda deep for something that may be very easy for some of you to answer, but…i m just being honest.

ok.

go…

32 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 10:15 pm

    Great question Tam,
    The answer to this question has changed over the years in my eyes, but not in the eyes of our maker. When I was in my 20’s, it was all about me, that was my purpose, although i would have said God was big in my life, He wasn’t. My 30’s it was all about the kids, with a dash of me, and a scoche of God. My 40’s have been about finding the truth, and it has been found. The truth is, it isn’t about me, or my kids, or my wife, it’s simply about God.

    The purpose of my existance is very simple now, I exist to be a deciple of the Lord. His word is living water to the lost, and I am the vessel it resides in. Love is the mug from which they drink. Mark 16:15 15He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.

    I love reading your blog, you make it fun, yet you lace it with enough of the serious to keep it thought provoking. This was a VERY serious question and I hope it causes many people to evaluate why they are here. It wasn’t an accident! God Bless
    Jim

  2. April 12, 2010 1:19 am

    Right now I “feel” that everything about me is going towards growing this baby. Everything I think about, do, eat, act/react to. I feel like my whole life is now about who I need to be – to love and raise this baby in a Godly manor. Being a wife and a mom has never been more on the front of my heart/mind and I love it.

  3. April 12, 2010 5:24 am

    …thinking…

  4. April 12, 2010 5:34 am

    for me, the question goes deeper in to am i living out what i am supposed to, to fulfill my existence, and is that possible? I believe I am here to honor and glorify God, but most days that is not what it looks like..or is it supposed to…hope i am not confusing anyone…but i have been thinking about this alot lately. (haven’t forgotten the email i promised, i just need to sit down and do it..love ya)

  5. April 12, 2010 6:35 am

    I have no idea the purpose for my existence. I’ve been searching for it and the more I look the more frustrated and depressed I get about it.

  6. April 12, 2010 8:00 am

    To bring him glory. Of course, actually doing that is another thing altogether.

    I think pithy comments on blogs are part of it.

  7. April 12, 2010 9:06 am

    Honestly, right now, I can’t answer this question.

    A couple of years ago, I thought I knew.

    Recently, I’m not so sure. Much of my life right now is trying to find the answer to this very question.

  8. April 12, 2010 1:30 pm

    MY existence….

    …to be a godly wife (so hard for me to do somedays!)
    …to be a mother who teaches her kids first and foremost about God in every way possible, and raise them to (hopefullY) make that choice for their lives.
    …to do everything I do in a way that brings glory back to God…whether that be in my mothering, in my role as a wife, as a friend, daughter, sister,etc.

    My existence right now more specifically and maybe in a “less deep” sort of way is to raise three boys and keep them alive. Basically. 😯 Everything I do revolves around my mom status these days…even my role as a witness for Christ… since I tend to be mostly around mothers, those are the women I am hoping to reach.

    I know this existence will change as my life changes (I think everyones does) but the core of my driving force will always be doign things in such a way as to always point back to God. This has been hugely impressed on me lately, the last few months, and I can’t help but always acknowledge that….even though it sounds very “christianese” 😯

    • April 12, 2010 1:31 pm

      and you can clearly tell I’ve stopped reading my comments for errors BEFORE I hit submit. I’m trying not to be as anal. Which clearly isn’t working. dangit.

  9. April 12, 2010 1:55 pm

    To bring glory to God in ALL I do.

    The good and the bad. To show the world what it is to live a life for Christ. To give Him praise when I’m doing well, and not so well. He is the only One worthy of praise. It’s not about me being worthy. I’m not. That’s why He came.

    He can enable me to walk worthy, but only because He lives through me. As I keep in step with His Spirit…He is glorified best. When I don’t keep in step…and fall down…flat out…in front of all the watching world…do I get back up and let my Advocate speak for me? Yes. And then I speak from that place. Once I’ve learned what to say.

    Art, music, writing, teaching…these are the gifts He’s given me…but the gifts are secondary. Living for Him is first.

  10. Randi permalink
    April 12, 2010 5:46 pm

    You too?

    I think it’s something that everyone struggles with.

    You do like choosing the hard topics don’t you Tam.

    You hit the nail on the head when you said “not just existence, but your existence?”
    “Just existance”? We are created with purpose (Ephesians 2:1), created for God’s pleasure (Revelation 4:11), to be dependent on Him (Acts 17:28), to glorify Him (Psalm 86:9), and to tell others about Him (Matthew 28:19-20). This is the purpose of all existance. But it’s a general purpose – everyone’s purpose.

    But “your existance”? My existance? How the “general purpose” of our existance is lived out in our individual lives?

    The question seems then to be “how does Christ want me to glorify Him in every daily activity? Everything I do. Everything I say. How does He want me to fulfill my purpose of pleasing and glorifying Him?”

    I think it’s unique to the person. A plumber? An accountant? A counsellor? A stay-at-home mom? A pastor? And couldn’t it change throughout one’s life as they grow and develop as an individual? Maybe it all comes down to answering the questions: are you using your giftings to the best of your ability? Are you glorifying God is ALL aspects of what you find yourself doing? I suppose the answer could be different for everyone.

    It’s something that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately as well. And I honestly have no idea how to truthfully answer the question. Because, as you said, “what is and what should be” … well, it just doesn’t line up right now.

    Continuing to wrestle…..

  11. April 12, 2010 6:29 pm

    i have enjoyed every single answer here. and feel that i can relate to all of them.

    its still hard to come up with a good answer just for me though.

    right now…the purpose of my existence is to know, fully, that i exist for a purpose….on purpose.

    what i mean is…i forget that God knew i was gonna be here. He knew id be me. and He created me exactly with everything He desired for me…for Him.

    i forget that the gifts i stifle, or do not explore enough, is a step back.

    i forget the times when i know that i know that i know He has called me to do something that He means business.

    i forget that i am able because HE IS ABLE.

    i forget that its ok to wonder and question.

    i forget that while im wondering and questioning i should still be moving…

    but in all of this…i know He will not give up on me. in all of this He is sculpting me into perfect existence.

    and the purpose of MY existence…is to know i exist because He wanted me to. and when i fully embrace and receive that – i will live with intention and faithfulness in all He has asked of me.

  12. April 12, 2010 6:37 pm

    this has been making my brain cramp all day… waaaah… and i still don’t have an answer… oye.

    these are the things i’ve been thinking about…

    to love God
    to love others through encouragement
    to love others by helping them dig out the gifts inside of themselves and helping them believe in themselves
    to teach God’s word in relevant ways
    to share my story
    to attempt to be authentic
    to attempt to accept and love others just as I have been accepted in Christ
    to allow Christ’s love to compel me (2 Cor 5.14)

    And … to be a supporter… to come alongside of others and help them succeed, reach their dreams… i love to do this.. like really love it… it is exciting 🙂

    • April 12, 2010 6:39 pm

      ooooo one more – I thought about this as I hit send..

      To be a tugboat… and do what tugboats do… help encourage the ship in front to move safely forward…

    • April 12, 2010 7:29 pm

      I like that…attempt to be authentic. It’s seems easier to be fake, but it’s more work to keep up appearances.

  13. Randi permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:38 pm

    That last paragraph Tam. Wow. Great perspective. Thank you for sharing your heart girl

  14. April 12, 2010 7:01 pm

    gosh…what a doozy of a question…i don’t know and i need to figure this out for more than just sounding smart & together…i really do want to have a purposeful existence. but right now, i don’t quite know.

  15. April 12, 2010 7:20 pm

    Tam-

    The easy answer would be to say, ” We were created to worship God.”- and that is true, but maybe getting down deep further into us, we might say that we even take our very breath, to worship Him.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about it lately. And He comes first in everything. He has to. He has every right to be the Master over our lives.

    Lately, I’ve seen how much He asks of me as far as obidience goes, We are as people a paradise won and lost daily, and we just couldn’t exist without Him. He knows we are going to stumble and fall a billion times a week.

    I exist to be an example of Jesus. I exist to show others who He is. I have never been one to say that so boldly, but its the truth. We have no other reason to live…if not for Him.

    He is our first love.

    John 4:23
    Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.

  16. April 12, 2010 7:36 pm

    For me my first response was “to live for God, glorifying Him”. Which is true, but it goes much deeper. God placed us in the city, relational circles, in the exact day, month, year we were born for a purpose. Enabling us with different gifts and strengths.

  17. April 12, 2010 7:41 pm

    one thing i can not say in all honesty is that i live solely for God.

    this i know, but have never spoken.

    id be lying if i claimed this tho. i dont live only for Him. and i cant even say i always want to. (ooo, thinkin this should be a blog post….)

    yup.

    never mind…as you were….

    🙂

    • Randi permalink
      April 12, 2010 7:45 pm

      Thankful tht He knows the heart.

      Even when I don’t want to. He knows that deep inside (somewhere?) I desperately want to want…..

      Dang

      • April 12, 2010 7:46 pm

        i often pray….

        Lord, make me wiling to be willing….

        • kub3294 permalink
          April 15, 2010 3:14 pm

          I’m a little behind on reading blogs!

          A simple prayer I use, is from my 12 step program. “Take my will & my life, show me how to live”. Simple. Says a lot!

    • April 13, 2010 7:03 am

      I would venture to guess that is an internal struggle that every Christian has. If a person said they lived there whole life solely for God I’d probably call them a liar to their face. We still deal with sin and our flesh. There’s only been one person that lived solely for God and that was Jesus and even He was tempted.

  18. April 12, 2010 7:49 pm

    Tam-

    I totally understand what you mean. But I think at the same time, its a question of ” HOW” much we live for God. Yes, ultimately I would say God has my day, but its about how much time we really give Him. How much time that’s possible do we give Him?

    I also know that it takes us stepping out to be there for others in major prayer, not everyday if its not possible, but really spending a time during the week praying for others. God created us to worship Him, but also to live to share about Him, and His love. So the question is, are we doing that? Are we waking up in the morning with tears in our eyes to pray, or are we turning on the tv, and then somehow fitting God in later?

    He deserves more. But also knows us. and HE waits:)

    • April 12, 2010 7:53 pm

      i dont disagree. at all.

      i can only speak for me tho, and in all honesty, i just cant say that He, or even others, are in the forefront of my mind at all times.

      its an ugly truth. but its truth.

      i so love your passion, girl!

    • April 12, 2010 7:53 pm

      and i love your avi too.

  19. April 12, 2010 8:02 pm

    and love your honest heart:)

    I guess for me, I just feel that pull of , ” Okay, whatever you are doing, I need you to stop.”
    and I’m learning to give into it more than I used to. I actually got to experience an insane answer to prayer a few weeks ago with someone who was dying, that made me be so much more in tune to praying for others since then. and believe me…He has given much oppurtunity, and it doesn’t overwhelm me much like I thought it would…I realize that God totally has a handle over these people’s lives, but He wants to hear from ME too.
    I don’t know…it’s such a cool relationship.

    Loving everyone’s thoughts on all this BTW:)

    be blessed y’all!

  20. kub3294 permalink
    April 15, 2010 3:24 pm

    My 2 fav comments? blesseddad really said it all. And joshua! You crack me up! God is in my waffle? Really?! I guess He really is! From blessing the farmer who planted the crop of wheat to the truck that brings the mix to my grocery store.

    I hate it when I feel I’m only thinking of God when I really need Him to fix something in my life! He thinks about me. All day. All night. When I’m stupid. When I’m smart. When I’m forgetful. When I’m not. And He still loves me. Wow.

Leave a Reply

