Skip to content

a community journal

April 22, 2010

i have several prayer journals tucked away that ive not written in for quite awhile. [not to be read asΒ i havent prayed in awhile] but at some point i stopped writing it all out.

so…i dug one of my journals out and have dedicated it to you. this community of friends. the ones who come here faithfully and read my nonsense, who cry with me, laugh with me, who ask and answer the tough questions. this is your prayer journal. i want to bathe it in requests and praises.

and this would be an honor for me.

if you would like… leave your prayer request in the comments. if it is something youd rather not share openly then please email me your request at tinprogress@gmail.com

47 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 10:46 pm

    Hi. I used to be here all the time. You may remember me. Perhaps.

    πŸ˜€

    I think you and the entire planet already know our prayer requests right now : transitioning from Australia to Northern Ireland, diving into the ministry God has laid out there for us (uncomfortable as we know that is going to be more often than not), and being a source of “stuff” that’s beneficial & constructive to those in our lives now and to come.

    More immediately, prayers for our cat Maebh, who’s not coping with the delayed emigration stress overly well, would also be appreciated. I know that’s always a touchy subject – praying for pets, especially cats – but that’s our request.

    And thank you for being a constant in our lives this past 18 months or so. See you next month…………… 😯

    • April 23, 2010 9:02 am

      As someone who is owned by their dog, I know that praying for my pet is, in essence, praying for me. Just as praying for my sister would be praying for me. Because we are connected and that bond being severed would leave me in despair.

      I’m praying for all of you, David. Including the cat. Especially the cat. Because her being well will help you be well. That, and I like Maebh. [says the non-cat lover.]

      • April 23, 2010 2:06 pm

        Thank you for praying AND articulating the pet prayer thing so beautifully Sara!

        And Maebh seems to have that effect on non-cat lovers. Including me πŸ™‚

  2. April 23, 2010 2:51 am

    Wow… I love u Tammy.

    Thank you for this.

    Email on the way….

  3. April 23, 2010 2:51 am

    we are seeking God’s direction for our life…specifically in the direction the hubs should take in ministry. please pray for sensitive, open and trusting hearts.
    thank you tam!
    you are awesome and i just love love love your site.

  4. April 23, 2010 5:24 am

    After outing my family’s closet of secrets I found a peace and freedom from the weight of carrying those secrets for so (too) long. So that’s my praise and thanks. My siblings, however, are furious and hold me in contempt. I don’t want to ask for prayers that “fix” them because that would presume I am right and my motives are pure. I just want to feel love and compassion for them while being held in contempt by them. I can’t do this on my own (I’ve tried) so that is my request.

  5. April 23, 2010 6:29 am

    You know, everything… so I’ll let the Holy Spirit lead you, and thank you for your prayers for me.

  6. April 23, 2010 6:34 am

    I pray to find a stronger faith, more trust and a better understanding of who and what I should be. I pray that one day, even those of us who have never met, can one day sit down, get to know each other, and call each other friend.

  7. April 23, 2010 7:05 am

    I need to love God more.

    More than family or friends.

  8. April 23, 2010 7:38 am

    I LOVE this… πŸ™‚ yayness!

    prayer: for our Burundi trip may 1-15(I’ll be training); and for my husband and my marriage (we’re still working thru the first year) πŸ™‚

  9. April 23, 2010 7:55 am

    I’m fighting feelings of insignificance and worthlessness right now. I could use prayer for that. I know that’s selfish.

    • April 23, 2010 7:59 am

      Jason, that’s not selfish. It’s honest. Praying for you…

  10. April 23, 2010 8:08 am

    Jason- I pray today that you would get a glimpse of how Jesus see’s you… I pray that the Holy Spirit would come, renew your mind, and bring peace that you are okay, you are God’s favorite……

    I am in a place of waiting, and learning and although I want to sit and be STILL I am not that good at it, I feel strongly that I am to wait and allow God to move on my behalf…. but my character is to be in charge and to do things….
    My job is changing May 18th, I am either being transferred to Boise and would commute home on the weekends, to Cdalene again commuting home on weekends or to remain here in Lew. (remaining her would be my miracle)
    Mike broke his leg/dislocated his ankle and is healing, during this healing time, God is really working, his mind is much more at rest, he quit smoking Monday, and hasn’t been suicidual in sometime. (THANK YOU JESUS) I also own my own business which is in limbo with my job relocation,
    So… do I pray for rest and the ability to just chill and let God work?
    do I pray for my miracle to remain here in lewiston and have my awesome job…. and my store to prosper…. and my husband to be delivered? or…. I just don’t know.

  11. April 23, 2010 9:08 am

    Right now, I am exhausted in every possible way – mentally, emotionally, physically.

    And overwhelmed. Really, overwhelmed. There are so many things on my to-do list (yes, I actually have a real list) that aren’t getting done because I just don’t have the energy.

    Today is the 12th straight day I have been at work. I am working on several high-profile projects with nearly impossible deadlines and no margin for error. This on top of my regular support tasks. There were times I enjoyed this job. Now is not one of those times.

    And no rest in sight. That’s really all I want, is some rest. To be able to rest and not to feel guilty about what I’m not doing.

  12. April 23, 2010 9:28 am

    Prayers for steady income would be greatly appreciated. We’ve been barely surviving for 3 years now and it feels like we’re never going to get past that and into “thriving.” Thankfully we are debt free apart from our house, but every month is a crap shoot. I know without a doubt that God is faithful, but I’m so eager to see some breakthrough in this area.

  13. April 23, 2010 9:52 am

    you know mine. it pretty much is consuming my every thought, my every breath.

  14. April 23, 2010 11:00 am

    Our youth group is leaving tonight on a spring retreat. We are expecting some severe weather tonight and tomorrow in the area — large hail, 70+ mph winds, tornados. This mother’s heart is very anxious. And I must admit it will be difficult to put her on the church van. Please pray for their safety. (@inprogress, it’s my daughter @vball199).

  15. April 23, 2010 11:00 am

    wow. this is awesome. can’t wait to meet you and your fam … and the church soon. I gotta find a way down there.

    Anyone read this from Seattle that wants to road trip down there for a Sunday service?

    email is on the way.

    thanks tam.

  16. ristowswife permalink
    April 23, 2010 12:38 pm

    My mom had 3-5 months to live. April is month 5.
    Last night I got “the” phone call from my dad. The one I’ve been dreading but knowing would come all along. Sometimes I wonder if expecting it made it happen… like I didn’t have enough faith…
    But… he said that it’s time for me to come home and spend time with my mom. To say what I need to say to her, to do what I need to do, so that there’s no regrets.
    So… God has not had the final say yet. She is still alive. But it would be foolish of me to not recognize the signs.
    So… sometime in the next few days I will be leaving for Redding.

    • April 23, 2010 3:04 pm

      ristowswife: I went through this last year, June 7th, I will be praying for you.

    • April 23, 2010 3:42 pm

      I went through this with my estranged mother when she suffered a massive stroke on March 10. I got from Central WA to TX on Day 2. She could not speak, but she was alert & cried & laughed. Mmm-hmm & huh-uh to questions. So much pain in her eyes. And I’m sure in mine. I told her I loved her. That I had never stopped loving her. Although she couldn’t speak, what I saw in her eyes worked for me. Sadness. Sorrow at time lost. Pain. It could have been so different, but I have grown during our distance. In my faith. In my relationships. I don’t like broken relationships. Treasure every last second. We brought her home to hospice care. It was too hard on my Dad (80) to go back & forth to the hospital an hour away. It’s what she wanted. We were all there when she took her last breath. Those last 12 hours were oh-so-hard. She slipped into a coma. But, I had 2 1/2 good days with her. I will treasure that. Now I can rebuild a relationship with my Dad. Even with 2000 miles between us.

      Cherish those last hours. They will last you a lifetime.

    • April 23, 2010 6:12 pm

      praying for you.

      • ristowswife permalink
        April 24, 2010 9:51 am

        thankyou everyone. my greatest prayer is for my little sisters. they are 12 and 14. i am really hoping that my mom will be willing to write them letters this week while i am there. she has refused because it is too painful… but i think a written legacy can be so priceless to young girls who may lose their mother.

    • April 25, 2010 10:07 am

      Man. I got emotional just reading this. I’d imagine the anticipation, in an anxiety-inducing way, is so stark for you right now.

      I will be praying.

  17. April 23, 2010 2:30 pm

    Wow! The comment section forgot me today!

    I really need to get back to work, but the reciprocity fees to transfer my license are several hundred dollars. Our financial situation is desperate. I try not to take the blame. But, if I had become addicted to drugs, I wouldn’t have lost 2 jobs I loved. Not feeling like I have contributed is so heavy on my shoulders. I don’t know why I hang on to the misery of it all. I’m tired of being on my knees. Really. I have learned humility over these past 3 or 4 years. I have sold many treasures (I know, material crap). I have many others packed away in a storage unit back in TX. Some days (like yesterday & today) have been pity party days. The guilt & shame sometimes overwhelm me. I know it’s stupid! But, I need some direction. I don’t know if I’m not listening or if God just hasn’t answered me yet.

    Thanks, Tam. And Brent. I love this internet community. You both touch so many lives. So simply. Like Jesus did. What awesome discipleship!

  18. April 23, 2010 6:16 pm

    I love your heart.

    I’d ask for prayers for my parents. They are going through a lot of transitions and uncertainty, and I pray that their hearts be strengthened and so full of faith that there is no room for fear.

    For me… so hard to know what to ask for. Just pray for my heart, that it never grows weary.

  19. April 23, 2010 6:16 pm

    What is your prayer request, friend? So we can return the favor…

  20. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:13 pm

    A community prayer journal?

    Man, where do I start…?

    The flood? Friend’s surgery? Local kid who got shot two days ago in Afghanistan? My brother, the alcoholic and the addict? My aunt who lost another husband earlier this year? Everyone still recovering/suffering from the flood? Me…?

    Or how about this: I want to do another Storm Stories series — with one significant difference: I want the contributions published in a book (you know, made with paper) so that the royalties can be donated to Thrive Africa and so I can encourage other believers through their own storms. I tried to send “Madam President” a msg about this recently, but I guess she’s busy touring to raise funds for the very same thing.

    But, Yeah, that would be on my list for your journal: that I can find contributors and a publisher and somehow work this out…figure I might as well give the gifts God has given me.

    So. That’s my request/list.

  21. April 24, 2010 6:06 am

    What a wonderful idea! I too have several prayer journals tucked away. I’m still praying, but just not writing it out. I need to get back into it though. I find my prayer life much richer when I’m writing it down. Thanks for the reminder and blessings to you as you live out the 2nd commandment in your journal!

  22. April 24, 2010 8:32 am

    you are all in my journal and lifted in prayer!

    thank you for allowing me, and others here, to be a part of your life in this way. it truly is special…and a gift.

  23. April 24, 2010 8:37 am

    as for prayers for me…

    my ministry right now is to my family. its like we’re in the final stretch. kass being 16…kota goin on 14. all my heart wants to do is to do right. what i pour into them now…they will pour out later.

    to be a blessing as a helpmate to brent and in ministry at TRF together.

    for continued guidance and fresh wonders and ideas re: the book. someday im gonna throw out a proposal and look for an agent and such…kinda clueless there πŸ˜•

    • April 24, 2010 9:49 am

      I meant to comment the other day on the parenting question. Seems to me, after just a few months, that you are both all about God, your family, and your friends. I see parents who absolutely would do anything for their kids. Both spiritually & materially (to a point). I also see parents who have boundaries to keep the kids from becoming “those” kids. It is a fine line. We never gave Amanda a curfew, but I always had a sense she knew what time we wanted her home. She surrounded herself with 5 girls in the middle school youth group that she still cherishes some 12 years later. The “six pack” as the boys in that group called them. I could not be more proud of the young woman she is becoming. Being 2000 miles apart is oh-so-hard. I miss her terribly. We talk sometimes 5 or 6 times a day. While she’s shopping at Target or just needs to share some little piece of her day. I cherish those calls even more today. I thank God every day that even in my active addiction He protected Amanda. She stayed strong even when I was not. Maybe because I was not. Wow! Never really thought of that until just now! Just one more thing to praise God for. Keep putting 1 foot in front of the other & God will bless you with the wisdom you need for each time you let them fly a little farther.

      I love your heart.

  24. April 24, 2010 9:31 am

    Would love for you to pray for me: For God to provide a leadership mentor in my life.

  25. April 24, 2010 2:06 pm

    We’re getting ready to move to southern Oregon and I’m actually… terrified. I won’t know anyone outside of my husband’s job, we’re living away from town to be closer to work for him, and I’m pretty scared of the loneliness that seems inevitable. And with a 6 month old, it’s all kinda overwhelming πŸ™‚ But, I’m trying to take joy in the fact that I’ll be living ON the Rogue, in a beautiful area, with my husband doing what he really loves.

  26. April 25, 2010 8:07 am

    Thanks for doing this..for this is truly what it’s about, covering eachother in prayer! I will be praying for you and your RAD family! You are a great mom/wife pouring into your family..it’s evident just on your blog! But I get what you are saying…I SO GET it!! Which leads me into my prayer request….Our son is graduating from high school in 6 weeks~! (our firstborn, it’s surreal) We need prayer for direction for the future, on many aspects, my job, my husband’s job, ministry, a possible move, my son’s college…HUGE decisions that need to be made ASAP!!! HUGE!

    Thanks sweet girl, for having a heart for Jesus and sharing it with the world!! BLESSINGS!

  27. April 25, 2010 12:37 pm

    Russ still hasn’t found a job – he has (again) a few leads but nothing concrete. Each week I pray for God’s wisdom and that “this week” would be THE week…but it hasn’t happened yet. :/ We know He’s sovereign, and we know He has a place for Russ – it’s just the trust. πŸ™‚
    I also submitted an application to a local education agency specializing in service learning. This of course would be an incredible opportunity for me to a) be local and b) pursue something I love – inspiring other teachers to be their best.
    We have been placed on hold with foster care and adoption training because we can’t submit a home study until we have a larger house (we live in a one bedroom apartment) and we can’t get a rent home until we (either Russ or me) get a job. We’re definitely in a state of limbo right now – especially because our lease ends in a month and a week and we don’t feel led to extend it, but we don’t necessarily have the money to pay 200 more dollars a month for month-to-month.
    lol. Just typing this out kind of leaves me stressed…but we’re holding tight to His promises. More than anything, we want to be where He leads. So yes, we’re praying for job opportunities, but more importantly – we’re praying His will.
    Thanks Tam! Love you πŸ™‚

  28. April 26, 2010 7:58 pm

    Wow, I don’t normally write down people’s prayer requests but after reading through these I just knew that I had to so I could remember them all. You guys amaze me, really! I am so thankful that I found this community.

    My prayer request would be this – I am struggling with a depression right now, I am used to the up and down cycles for the most part but it has hit me hard this time and I don’t have the energy or desire to do anything other than sleep and I can’t do that because it is the last week of the semester and I have so much work to do. Please pray that I would find the energy and inspiration to finish these last two weeks of the semester strong and that I come out of my current depression.

    Love you all and will be praying for you.
    G

  29. brandon buchanan permalink
    May 14, 2010 5:06 am

    This is rad Tammy, you truly are an amazing woman of God.

    For me… well there is only one thing that comes to mind this morning and that’s school. I have 2 years left and at this point I feel like I can’t do it. I feel like it is robbing me of everything I want to be as a dad and as a husband and it frustrates me so much. I feel like because my mind is wrapped up so much in school that I can’t give Kristen what she needs as my wife and that my kids are sketchy on what’s going on with Dad lately, wondering who I am… And on top of it all, no time for one of the things I love the most, leading worship, which I feel is lacking because of my busy schedule too.

    This could all be just dumb feelings that I am feeling and maybe my wife and kids and church aren’t feeling the same way (which would be great)… but either way I would COVET the prayers… wait, I’m not supposed to covet… o well, I covet them anyway!

    Your family has been a huge source of encouragement for me through this already, whether you know it or not, so thank you. The occasional weekend away from all the school stress has been nice. πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I’ll stop rambling and just leave it at that. Thank you!

    • May 16, 2010 9:26 pm

      i’ll add you to the journal, friend.

      you are such a devoted husband and father, brandon.

      • brandon buchanan permalink
        June 3, 2010 4:10 am

        Thanks for the kind words, Tam!

Trackbacks

  1. Recognizing something and changing something are not the same thing « GothiqueFae's Weblog

Leave a Reply

