Skip to content

just thinking…

July 6, 2009

i think its time we, i, stop asking God to do or be something He already is…

and start believing and receiving Him for what He already is?

k, that is all.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 11:59 am

    AMEN!!! Sister AMEN!!!

    Peace and Love

  2. July 6, 2009 1:09 pm

    Yep, what ^he said!

  3. July 6, 2009 1:21 pm

    Amen, girl!

  4. July 6, 2009 1:21 pm

    So true! A great reminder 🙂

  5. July 6, 2009 3:25 pm

    Yup…then hang on…. 🙂

  6. July 6, 2009 4:15 pm

    i just dont think we really “get” Him. then, how can we? being human and sinful and all 😕

    God bless you all!

    • July 6, 2009 6:12 pm

      I think we can get Him, as much as we seek, as much as He allows… all of Him? Not in this lifetime, but walking in our redeemed state is key to me. Mistakes? Everyday….but, if He remembers my sins no more, why should I view myself that way? or anyone else? Why live in a “I’m full of sin so I can only go so far” instead of “I’ve been redeemed by Your blood, I want all of You and go as far as You’ll take me?” He said we would do greater things…why don’t we? Just thoughts, things I ask/tell myself and pray about daily, I hope it comes across ok… 🙂

  7. July 6, 2009 4:25 pm

    wow…that was short, sweet and to the point…

  8. July 6, 2009 5:31 pm

    Well said!

  9. July 6, 2009 6:16 pm

    i am all about the believing God and recieving HIM..we all need some work in this area..

  10. July 6, 2009 8:12 pm

    i think OUR problem with God is this:

    God is SO MUCH – and we are so little.

    He is MORE than able to be everything to us and more.. so whatever we think He is – He is! – and much much more besides!

    So when we think God is A, B and C and another one of us thinks God is D, E, F and G and yet another thinks He is H and J and somone else thinks God is just ‘R’, ALL of us are ‘right’ and all of us fall far short of what God can be to any one of us and to all of us.

    None of us can ever get Him completely ‘right’ and when we change our view of Him He is still just what we see of Him.

    WE need to realise God is in Everything – including part of Him is in ‘us’.

    it is us who needs to be ’emptied’ of ‘me’ so we can fit nothing but Him inside of the empty shell.

    being sin’full’ to me simply means we are full of things that make us turn away form Him as our source of everything and try to make it more about ‘me’.

    We need to ’empty’ ourself of all those things and just let Him be our Will and the Way.

    Each of us needs to find the ‘way’ to do that that works best for us.. Jesus sort of showed how we might do that.

    And to refocus something Deb said above… Jesus said YOU are to do greater miracles than these – not Him for you. John 14:12

    Christ had a vision for you who believe on Him – to do greater things than Christ did on earth before He rose to go back to sit by His Father’s side.. Do you share His Faith and belief in you?

    Or will you let your doubt and negativity and little faith (sin) keep you from doing as He foretold?

    What a true shame that will be.

    <B

    • July 6, 2009 11:18 pm

      point taken. very clearly.

    • July 7, 2009 12:52 am

      “Jesus said YOU are to do greater miracles than these – not Him for you. John 14:12”

      Right He said WE are to do greater miracles than these, but it will only happen with Him THROUGH us…not us alone…sorry, I may have mis-read that, but it’s very important to me that HE receive ALL the glory for anything that He works in and through my life. 🙂 I can do all things through Him who strengthens me, I am nothing without Him…

      • July 7, 2009 12:57 am

        “but it’s very important to me that HE receive ALL the glory for anything that He works in and through my life.”

        mmmm…true. right on, sis!

        love you!!!

        dont lose me at the beach today 😯

        • July 7, 2009 6:03 pm

          Tam, you had a blast at the beach and boardwalk!!! Not sure why you wanted to bury yourself in the sand, but we helped…LOL See ya soon! Love you 😉

  11. July 7, 2009 12:41 am

    love you! i didn’t answer right..dang! i read it wrong.. just love me! cya soon at the beach! yay!!!

    • July 7, 2009 12:56 am

      there was no right or wrong answer, girly. what you said is truth! so, amen! this is your home too, say what you wish…any time.

      love you!

    • July 7, 2009 1:23 am

      i certainly don’t think you gave anything like a ‘wrong’ Answer the first time D. 🙂

      we most definitely do ALL need some work in that particular area – if only more had your ‘talent’ 🙂

      while still being a ‘Right’ answer (even though as Tam said there is no right/worng here) 😉 yours was by no means the ‘only’ right answer.

      God is really ‘cool’ that way … 8) He can provide each of us with the ‘right’ answer at any moment and they can all ‘agree’ even if, to some, they ‘look’ like different answers.

      Life is kind of a multiple answer ‘test’ – not a multiple ‘choice’ 🙂

      That doesn’t mean that ALL answers are actually ‘right’ in His sight though, just that He can see more ways to be right than most of us ever can down here on our ‘own’.

      We really do need to be more like (receiving) Him – and less like ‘me’.

      <B

  12. July 7, 2009 1:15 am

    Right! i was NOT saying we can grab any glory for us… rather that it IS up to each one of us who professes faith in Him to get off our ‘buts’ (yeah, but…) and actually LIVE like we believe what He has said/taught us all to DO.

    God can only work THROUGH us when we let Him, and don’t get in His Way, but WORK with Him.

    Of course sometimes that means learning what we THOUGHT we ‘knew’ all over again completely from scratch. Learning how to have more Faith in Him than doubts or negativity (negative, stifling thoughts) about our ‘ability’.

    <B

    We are to perform miracles when we truly believe we (He) can, through the 'vessel' we carry with us always.

    • July 8, 2009 8:46 am

      reminds me of a statement ive heard before that said…we spend much of our lives “unlearning”.

      in other words, having to unlearn bad habits, theology, rules – things that keep us from truth and God.

  13. July 7, 2009 6:59 am

    What amazes me about God is He sent His Son to die for me while I was a sinner.
    He loves us so – I need to trust Him more and not try to make my agenda fit His.

    • July 7, 2009 7:09 am

      “I need to trust Him more and not try to make my agenda fit His”

      Yes! And the more we do this, we realise that our agenda IS His as we go through that constant renewal. Love talked about that already in his comments up there though, so I won’t rehash it here.

    • July 8, 2009 8:47 am

      and that He loves me even though i am STILL a sinner.

      some things i just cant wrap my head around.

  14. July 14, 2009 7:39 am

    AGREED.

  15. July 18, 2009 1:16 pm

    workin’ on it.

Leave a comment