Skip to content

Randomness

January 3, 2008

perspective.jpgMy husband snores. BAD! I thought about video taping him last night as I lay next to him contemplating on whether or not I should kick him…again! I find myself watching T.V. way into the late night hours to try to drown out the offensive noise that exit such a lovely man. I’ve become a volume control expert on my television. On a Brent free night I can watch T.V. at a #2 volume. On the nights that I am blessed by his presence (which are about 362 days a year…yipee!) I have to ride the volume with his snoring. Usually from a level 2 to an 8, or more. So the screen volume display looks like this…

||…||||||||…||….|||||||||||||…|…|||||||||||||……….||..|||||||…||..||||||||||||||||

Ya get the picture? The last few nights have been slightly worse with us all having colds and trouble breathing. But that doesn’t mean I don’t wanta just pummel him! In Jesus name ๐Ÿ˜€ So I’ve been making my rounds sleeping in different rooms in the house trying to get far enough away from the sound of my groom. This isn’t easy folks! Any suggestions???

I was showering this morning, scorching my skin under the blazing hot water…ahhhhh….and realized that I shave nearly half my body! I’m 5’8″ with very long arms and legs – that’s a lot of area to cover and it could take quite awhile too. I noticed that I am an aggressive shaver. I approach my legs like they’ve done something wrong! I’m amazed I don’t require stitches after each shave! I just wanta get it over with I suppose!

I’m staring at my Christmas tree deciding if I want to take it down today. Last year it was up until 3 days before Valentines Day. I considered leaving it and decorating it with conversation hearts and pink ribbons!

My man has a funny post today on Monkey Love Evolution. A study suggesting they were the first prostitutes or something like that. I get really tired of being compared to monkeys folks. They fling their poo for crying out loud!!!

That’s just about all the randomness I have for now. Must. Go. Shopping.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2008 2:05 pm

    Tonia says I grind my teeth like crazy, and Tanner has been grinding his teeth since he’s had them.

  2. January 3, 2008 2:28 pm

    I do love your randomness. And I am the snoree in this house. I hate it when I get shoved or poked in order to make me stop. It seems so intrusive after enduring sleep deprivation with four children. But that’s from a woman’s perspective. Other than that, no solutions here.

    And get that tree down, for crying out loud. Mine is down as soon as possible. I need the space.

  3. January 3, 2008 2:29 pm

    Scott snores too..but not always usually when he gets a cold…and of course he says i do too, but I wouldn’t know only heard him ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love your randomness…and will have to visit brents as I read that article today too about monkeys…hahahaha…i don’t know why it cracks me up but itreally does!

  4. January 3, 2008 2:54 pm

    My husband is a LOUD snorer also and I’m looking for solutions as well. Someone suggested I wear ear plugs, but don’t want to do that because my husband is hearing impaired and doesn’t seem wise to make us both hearing impaired at night. I try to use a sound machine, but it doesn’t cover the chainsaw next to me…

  5. HeatherBlankenship permalink
    January 3, 2008 7:12 pm

    Oh, man, my hubby snores like a bear! He went to the doc. about a year ago, he has sleep apnea. They put him on a cpap machine and it saved my sanity! Now, if I could just get him to wear it EVERY night! lol
    This blog made me smile! I love the randomness!

  6. January 3, 2008 8:19 pm

    Okay Tam, Definitely a fun post. I can also be a great example of ‘turn about is fair play”! I have always been the snorer in the family. Nice, deep, kinda rattle the shingle, does Fred Flintstone live here kind of snores. Now my wife is pregnant, the woman that always had a cute little purring snore now chases me out of our bedroom if she falls asleep before I do. That woman has developed some lungs! So now I know how she has always felt! Ha, ha!

    Sean

  7. January 3, 2008 9:06 pm

    Mud, get a mouth guard. Maybe that’ll help?

    Carrie, tree is still up! I know…bad Tam!

    Darla, we just need to fall asleep first….maybe with a little sleep assistance…Advil PM anyone???

    Robin, that is hysterical! No, you definitely do not need TWO hearing impaired sleepers int he house. Do you have a dog that can take that shift possibly? Nice to meet you!

    Heather, Hey girl! A cpap machine? Never heard of it! I vote for a special snoring room addition to our home! Ricky and lucy rooms – Oh Yah!!

    Sean, what comes around goes around, eh? Sorry for your misfortune. At least yours is temporary ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I bet your wife is loving the payback tho!

  8. January 4, 2008 4:27 am

    Snoring is exacerbated by several factors including drinking alcohol and eating fatty foods or dairy. Also sleep position is a factor. Try rolling him over slightly. If that fails then you could always muffle the sounds of snoring with a pillow. If you hold it over his face for long enough you’ll never need worry about snoring again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    The tree comes down on New Year’s day in our house. If it doesn’t then it stays up till the following year. Do you have a real tree? If so it makes a fine home for wildlife if you chop it up and leave it in your garden to rot.

    Why do you dislike being compared to monkeys? Monkeys are cute.

  9. January 4, 2008 8:05 am

    My husband is a snorer. Sometimes it’s so loud you can hear it through two stories (not exaggerating.) He is now trained to roll over at my slightest shove and we bought a humidifier which has seemed to help too.

  10. krislinatin permalink
    January 4, 2008 8:47 am

    wait, you said you shave half your body, do you shave your arms, too?
    Your legs can’t be half your body, can they?
    i never shave the top of my legs in the winter, ya know, gotta keep warm. but yesterday i shaved them and dulled the razor!
    yeah I know, too much info. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. January 4, 2008 8:57 am

    I have those nights where his snoring causes me to roam the house in order to avoid doing physical damage to an otherwise perfect man.
    Normally, I’m fine if I fall asleep first.
    Otherwise, I get online till I’m so exhausted that I pass out when my head hits the pillow.

    *sigh*

  12. January 4, 2008 9:24 am

    tam: i’d move out of the house….

  13. January 4, 2008 10:28 am

    yes I do believe are tree stood tall until the end of january last year. keep it up and use it to hang clothes from.

  14. January 4, 2008 1:33 pm

    Gee…this is a nice post ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. January 4, 2008 1:50 pm

    Okay just responded to your husband’s funny post. And as far as snorting…try the blue foam EarO’s ear plugs. They help a lot. They’re squishy, which means you squeeze those babies as hard as you can. Once you’ve gotten them as small as humanly possible, insert them in the side of the offender (snorer) and let it expand. It drowns out a lot. Then the sound of your own breathing is louder and you can concentrate on it, which helps put you to sleep. It’s dual purpose…killing the noise and allowing a little meditation. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope this helps!

  16. January 4, 2008 1:52 pm

    Oooops didn’t mean snorting….meant snoring! HHHHahahaha! :0

  17. January 4, 2008 2:03 pm

    Question? How come the offended has to do all the work?

    1-Move out of the house.
    2-Sleep on the couch
    3-Put a humidifier in the room and get all sticky
    4-Ear Plugs

    Honestly, I’ll just keep shaking the bed abruptly and kicking him…it’s much more gratifying ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. January 4, 2008 2:37 pm

    You could let everyone know that I slept on the couch last night…

  19. January 4, 2008 2:42 pm

    he slept on the couch last night

  20. January 5, 2008 9:56 am

    My love snores, too, occasionally … which prompts me to nudge him and say sweetly, “Honey, you’re snoring” and he’ll shift positions and *we hope* start breathing normally again. Sorry, though; it would be hard if he did it all the time! Have you tried earplugs?
    I’m 5’7″ … and I know what you mean about shaving! Don’t you wonder why God didn’t just kindly bless us with hair-free legs (since most Americans seem to think women aren’t *supposed* to have hairy legs!).
    Our tree is still up. It’s a real tree … and getting pretty dried out. When we returned from our 6-day holiday trip, I noticed the ornaments didn’t look as nicely spaced as they had when we’d left … and realized it was because many of the little branches had started to sag under the weight. Sad. I guess we should take it down soon, but I always hate un-decorating.
    And I also hate being compared to monkeys. Blech.

  21. January 6, 2008 7:50 am

    Oh man, my husband can snore…. The joke with us is that if happen to sleep in the next room, hold on to dear life, because he will suck you right in……

    I do the bedroom rounds, or I will go and fall asleep before he does, if not, I will not be able to sleep.

    My bad is that my daughter snore as well. Is incredible that so much noise comes out of that little body!

    Take care.

  22. January 6, 2008 12:31 pm

    Hi! We’re back and exhausted but full to the brim….We’re ready to fly through hell with a water pistol I’ll tell ya!!!! I have much to write about, gonna go snuggle with my ever lovin hubby and will post tomorrow! What a mighty God we serve…smoochies!

  23. jennyhope permalink
    January 6, 2008 9:44 pm

    Well, you already know how I feel about this!! I cant STAND the snoring! I kick…punch, shake, yell and pray to the Lord for Rod to make it STOP!!!!

  24. January 7, 2008 8:41 pm

    Seriously, ear plugs short-term. Long-term? Sleep study. Not kidding. Doug is a DEAFENING snorer. Saw a doctor who ordered a sleep study. He has sleep apnea which means he stops breathing 30 times an hour. His body wakes him up enough to restart the breathing which means he only gets 2 minutes of sleep at a time. My brother-in-law’s is so bad, his heart stops periodically. They both have a prescription for a CPAP(Continuous Positive Air Pressure) machine–Heather is right on. He doesn’t snore at all now and he actually gets a good night’s sleep. As do I. If left unchecked, it could be dangerous.

  25. Angela permalink
    January 9, 2008 10:42 am

    My husband snores too! So, I can empathize! I have a matress under my daughters bed that I pull out on nights that it’s especially bad (the snoring) and sleep on my daughter’s floor!

    Ugggh!

    angela ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. June 25, 2013 4:07 pm

    My brother recommended I might like this website. He was once entirely
    right. This put up actually made my day. You cann’t believe simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

Leave a comment