Skip to content

the sovereignty of God – my thoughts

August 5, 2009

[i originally posted this on tyler brauns blog for his sovereignty series]

*****************************************************************************

sovereign…in control, authority, supreme, power, prerogative.

i think i am one of the few people who can honestly say this…but, i do not question God. i dont. i cant. i mean, i can – i am able, i just will not do it. in light of His sovereignty, being in control, having all authority in and of this universe, reigning supreme, all powerful with the prerogative to do as He sees fit cause He sees all…nope, i will not question that.

have there been times in my life when i could’ve questioned God? sure. i can think of several times. when i look down at my arm and my stomach and see the scars from beatings received from my mothers boyfriend – i could have questioned God. when i think of how my first marriage ended with a gun to my head then ultimately my husband taking his own life – i could have questioned God. when i think of the baby i miscarried – i could have questioned God. and i could go on and on and on.

but were any of those instances really Gods fault? the question i hear most from believers and unbelievers is “why would a sovereign God let this happen?” i guess im more of a simple thinker, i dont know, but i say we let this stuff happen. God didnt make that mean man beat me or molest me. although He knew it was going to happen and knew when it was happening, it wasnt Gods choice….it was the abusers choice. the abuser who exercised free will.

free will. a gift from God. a gift that is abused and can turn into a curse for others.

yet, He is still in control and sovereign. in the end…He wins. its the middle that concerns me. do we recognize His sovereignty in the darkest of times? looking back now on all those personal circumstances, and more, i see how God weaved and crafted everything together to get me here now. and He’s not done yet. is it a path i would’ve chosen? well, some of it i did choose. and God did allow that. and like the Gentleman He is, He didnt force me into something else. free will. but because He is in control He will allow these times to shape me, to grow me, to stretch and refine my character. and im quite fine with that. He’s working it together.

so, instead of questioning a sovereign God for the worlds injustices…i need to look inward, and at my fellow man, and question our own motives and defiant natures…not Gods Sovereignty.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 10:50 pm

    This is my first blog so bear with me please… i am preparing a website hopefully you will see it, and possibly share with someone desperate in spiritual warfare to help them. ok, in reply to this blog just sharing something 8 days ago that if….. i wouldnt be here blogging period. I just lost a trucking company of 12 years that was hard to let go of but seemingly ripped from my grasp due to the fall of the economy. Now i in a point of desperation on the earthly sense, but I dont blame GOD as He has led me through dark places, and though they have been utterly frightening, I am still here and; well, now im learning about webbuilding and blogging, and truly this is my first post to a real blog. I have posted on forums on a Israeli news site because of my interest in prophesy.
    Anyway the last 6 months I have been unemployed losing my business and have accepted the calling to create a website to help others in spiritual warfare, and as of 9 days ago i had no computer to get started with, although i have been fervently asking GOD to provide me one. Last tuesday i spent the day taking down an oak tree at my mothers building firewood supply for her for the coming winter. A lady that I grew up with was texting me as she is in a bad marriage (she says) and was tempting me with enticing and sexual notions which were quite tempting to a single man in mid forties with little social activity. Not saying that this was first time this has happened, but it was a tough time as i was feeling lowly that day anyway, so it was hard to ignore. Anyway to avoid getting caught up in my lonliness and falling into a trap of sin, I went to local lowes to look at log-splitter which i found out i couldnt even close to afford. Then i went to best buy in same shopping center to lust over the laptops which i certainly couldnt afford on my extremely limited position. After 45 minutes coveting the computers (haha) i proceeded to my car in parking lot. Reaching for my doorhandle, i noticed a friend Chele and her boss also a friend Marla in Cheles red subaru station wagon driving toward my car. They didnt see me yet but they pulled in one space away and noticed me entering the space. Seeing them i hadent got in my car yet and waited for them to stop for brief hello. Marla has a well known website which i wont mention without asking her first but it is a self-help where she helps women. Chele has been one confidant in my idea and I feel calling to publish biblical information (mostly applicable scripture) for different things people face and handling spiritual opposition, better equiping those when all he.. is breaking loose on an individual. Anyway as I was talking to them I naturally wanted to ask Marla questions to get started and everything I could to know what kind of computer to get, programs, etc. Anyway I walked back in with them and when Marla understood I didnt have any computer, she said to me “why dont you let me buy you a computer” which i replied, “you know i cant let you do that” as we proceeded inside. We went back to computers and Chele went elsewhere in the store. As she was looking at them elaborating on them, Marla with tears starting to fill her eyes, proclaimed “if someone hadent helped me years ago when I had 13 cents to her name with a flat tire in a strange place I wouldnt be here now” and proceeded to say “I feel like God is telling me to but you a computer.” Well at that point i was feeling the presence of the Holy Spirit and I was about to tear up myself. As the girl approached and asked if she could help us, Marla said, Id like one of these which was the 2nd best model we were looking at, needless to say I was speechless. The girl came back with the box, asked if we wanted protection and i said no thank you, Marla interrupted saying you dont get a computer and not get protection, so that built the total up to $922.50. This was an answered prayer, certainly a blessing, and a miracle for me to say the very least.
    I said all that to say this, if I had fallen into the temptation that I was resisting, I wouldnt have been there at that particular time leaving the store when they were pulling in with such precise timing. I just typed this blog on a computer I didnt have 9 days ago, and didnt have any way of getting one.
    Now Im starting to build spiritarmour.com which I have had resistance before getting to this point but i will save the story about running into a very strange guy that approached me (just 1 day after discussing starting spiritual warfare website with Chele), the guy informed me after i enquired his faith, hw said he was a black star magician……. maybe next blog entry
    GOD Bless His children, that means You!

  2. August 5, 2009 11:16 pm

    Powerful stuff there, as always.

  3. August 6, 2009 7:53 am

    AMEN.

  4. August 6, 2009 8:51 am

    Crap. I think I need to grow up a little bit or a lot bit in my faith.

  5. August 6, 2009 12:33 pm

    What a great post, Tam!!! I love your heart. Because HE IS Sovereign, God works all things (the good and the bad) to the good of those who love Him, and who have been called according to His purpose!

  6. August 7, 2009 6:17 am

    WOOHOOO TAM! This is SPOT ON! Thanks for sharing sooo much of yourself and inspiring trust in He who sitteth upon the throne!!!! (((((HUGS)))) sandi

  7. August 8, 2009 9:31 pm

    I teach a Bible Study geared around my book, ‘Grace Is For Sinners’, and we talk about this subject a lot. My take is that God’s sovereignty rules over everything, even the evil that man is capable of. God proves his sovereignty as he brings beauty from ashes (Isaiah 61:3), works what was intended for evil for the good of those who love him (Genesis 50:20), find us on our knees when evil pushed us down (2 Cor. 12:7 MSG). God uses the materials provided to show us who he is. It’s much more powerful to be able to win even when you’re not pulling strings. God sovereignty makes everything have purpose.

    It’s like God’s sitting there with a toothpick picking dinner out of his teeth while Satan, who knows humans haven’t caught up to realty, is working up a smelly sweat trying to steal our faith in the undiscovered reality from us. Only, instead of fighting as though the fight were not won, God is using Satan’s attempts as though he were playing right into His hands. It’s all past tense with God, especially the part where it says, “It is finished” (John 19:30). We’re just here trying to stay focused. God’s sovereignty is a great focal point.

    On a side note…. our stories are similar.

  8. August 10, 2009 11:16 am

    Tam, this is a lovely post. I don’t mean that it’s all flowery and easy and nice. Just that you’ve taken a tough topic and woven together beautiful words to answer the questions. Or, I guess I could just say that I like it. 😉

    I don’t question God often. Actually, the only thing I have (and sometimes continue to) questioned Him about is the death of my mother-in-law. As far as I can see, not one good thing has come from that. And so, in my earthly perspective (which I KNOW is vastly different than God’s eternal one!), I don’t understand why it had to happen.

Leave a Reply

