Skip to content

the secret’s out of the bag…

February 24, 2010

[the following post is not just for women. it is for men too. men, if you make these for your gal, you will melt her heart.]

this is gage wilson and me baking molasses cookies. this little cutie and i made these 3 different times while we were in nashville with the wilson family.

gage wants to be a chef. and seriously, he would make an excellent one!

ohmyheart…look at that face! :angel:

i thought i would finally share my molasses cookie recipe here on this blog. enough people have asked for it, so its time.

my mother in law first gave me this recipe having made one substitution. i have since made several changes. some small, some major. i have used different brands and have found there are only specific ones that work. trust me on this. do not deviate from this recipe at all.

here we go…

TaMolasses Cookies 😀

3/4 cup Butter Flavored Crisco

1 cup packed light Brown Sugar

1/4 cup Brer Rabbit Full Flavor Molasses

1 egg

(blend above ingredients together til creamy)

add…

2 cups White Flour (plus 1 – 2 tblsp depending if the dough is too sticky after final mixture)

2 tsp Baking Soda

1 Tblsp (or more 😉 ) Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Salt

1 tsp Cloves

3/4 tsp Ginger

mix well into the creamed mixture. the dough should be very slightly sticky, but not so sticky that if you touch it would stick to your finger. you should be able to roll it in your hands without it sticking to your palms. if its too sticky add that 1 – 2 tblsp extra baking flour and mix again.

roll into balls, roll into sugar, bake in a 375 degree oven for 9-11 minutes.

they should look like this…

enjoy!! let me know how they turn out!

do you have a secret recipe youre willing to let out of the safe?

***************************************************

edited to add…due to HIGH DEMAND…this lil diddy

one afternoon while gage and i were baking cookies…we were rolling the dough in the sugar and just having fun little conversation. you need to know that during this time, pete was in india, everyone missed him…even me. and clearly…gage knew his mama missed big daddy a lot too.

while  gage was doing this….

he said…

“look! mommy and daddy taking a sugar shower together.”

😯

conclude what you will….

71 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 12:16 pm

    Wow. Do want! Those looks so yummy!
    Guess i have something to do this weekend!

  2. February 24, 2010 12:22 pm

    i think you should just mail me some. 😉

    • February 24, 2010 12:28 pm

      or you can just come over and we can make them together.

      mmmkay,

      • February 24, 2010 12:37 pm

        how’s may sound?

        • February 24, 2010 12:41 pm

          PERFECT!!

        • February 24, 2010 1:22 pm

          Did someone say May??? May when??? We’re going home in May!

          • February 24, 2010 6:47 pm

            I want some now!!! And I know if I make them they won’t be as good. And I will feel like a failure. So…I’m just going to whine about it!

            Gage is so freakin’ cute. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, “I have a crush on that kid.”

            • February 24, 2010 7:12 pm

              that’s exactly what i was thinking! it would never come out quite as good if i made them. because i’m not domestic like that. AND because things always taste better when someone else cooks ’em!

              maybe we should try our hand at a batch on saturday night. or maybe we should just sit and drink and talk… you know. whatever.

              • February 24, 2010 9:29 pm

                ok, now. this whole conversation isnt setting well with me. me not being there with you two just isnt right.

                off to pout now.

                • February 24, 2010 9:31 pm

                  you could always send us cookies. then it’s a next-best-thing to you being there with us.

  3. February 24, 2010 12:23 pm

    I’m hungry. The end.

    • February 24, 2010 12:27 pm

      and im trying not to make these right now as to limit the caloric goodness in this house.

      dang.

  4. February 24, 2010 12:26 pm

    My wife went goo goo for these cookies…I’ll be making them soon for her! 🙂

    • February 24, 2010 12:26 pm

      youre a good man, charlie brown.

      and also smart…dont want that woman cooking.

      😕

  5. February 24, 2010 12:35 pm

    these cookies are life changing!!! i was so expecting to see the photo of the cookie balls in sugar…. 🙂

    • February 24, 2010 12:36 pm

      i thought about it…but it was too tempting to tell the story behind it. and, believe it or not, even *I* think some things should stay private.

      😉

    • February 24, 2010 12:42 pm

      ladies…i have to get permission from brandi first.

      brandi, what say you?

      (and this is very difficult for me to ask permission)

      • Heidi permalink
        February 24, 2010 12:44 pm

        what if she doesn’t come back?? The anticipation is killing me!

        • February 24, 2010 12:50 pm

          I just tweeted Brandi and informed her to come back here 😉

          • February 24, 2010 12:51 pm

            haha! i just dm’d her too! thats what she gets for bringin the picture up 😉

            • February 24, 2010 1:03 pm

              y’all are too funny!!! tam, you can totally show the photo however i fear it won’t be as funny as it was in the moment! 🙂 i think i might even blog it myself.

              • February 24, 2010 1:05 pm

                oh…its funny! im on it. gonna add it to the post now….

                • February 24, 2010 1:35 pm

                  That is HILARIOUS!!! And seriously, that kid is so much more delicious than the cookies.

  6. February 24, 2010 12:41 pm

    Girl, I’ve been waiting for this! THANKS : ) You are such a good mom…why steer clear of the “mom blog?” When your good, your good…gotta share it!

  7. February 24, 2010 12:42 pm

    Nice. I almost didn’t click the link on Twitter thinking I was going to get Rick Rolled.

  8. Heidi permalink
    February 24, 2010 12:43 pm

    I wonder if they taste better with a Dutch Bros Latte (Oregon) or a latte from the pier of Ocean Beach.. (CA)… Lets try it!

    • February 24, 2010 12:47 pm

      lets try!

      both locations. this year! how perfect that would be!

      • Heidi permalink
        February 24, 2010 12:53 pm

        I’m working on it seruosly this year!!

  9. February 24, 2010 12:50 pm

    I’m bookmarking this. As soon as my oven is fixed, this is what’s going in. Oh. The humanity! I have to wait…

    • February 24, 2010 12:52 pm

      gasp. well, until its fixed…just look away. look. away.

  10. February 24, 2010 1:17 pm

    hahaha! now the secret is REALLY out of the bag!

    • February 24, 2010 1:21 pm

      seriously…and i asked him to repeat what he said, just in case i misheard him. ohmydang – he is SO cute!

      and has quite the imagination 😉

  11. Heidi permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:18 pm

    That was so sweet!! Gage must be amazing!!!

  12. February 24, 2010 1:27 pm

    If it was not for everyone in my house napping besides me right now, I would have bust out laughing at that sugar shower comment! hahahahaha!!!!!!! Pursing my lips holding it in!

    • February 24, 2010 9:32 pm

      brandy, i laughed so hard when that boy said those words! its one of my most favorite memories of the trip.

  13. February 24, 2010 1:31 pm

    These cookies were INCREDIBLE. Almost as good as a sugar shower.

    • February 24, 2010 1:35 pm

      i will never look at my sugar scrub the same again

      😕

  14. February 24, 2010 2:57 pm

    I just told my girlfriend I’m making us “Sugar Shower Cookies” this weekend. All i got was “Uh….”

    • February 24, 2010 4:00 pm

      well, yah! what response did you think youd get?

      🙂

  15. February 24, 2010 3:36 pm

    mmmm…sugar rush!

    I would love to make them, but…uh…I have no idea what crisco or molasses are!

  16. February 24, 2010 5:21 pm

    I love love love that you are spending time with the Wilson’s and that you are growing with them. We are all better for having them in our lives, even if for some of us it is via podcasts and blogs. Yay you for real life interaction. It makes me happy for all of you.

    • February 24, 2010 9:35 pm

      when do i get to see you again, friend??

  17. TheNorEaster permalink
    February 24, 2010 5:39 pm

    A secret recipe?

    Yeah. Meatloaf.

    I once made it for a Bible study group and a man who had been married for about fifty years asked, “Can you give my wife the recipe?”

    • February 24, 2010 9:44 pm

      Hi, Nor! I haven’t seen you much since I dropped off the face of the earth. How are you?

      • February 24, 2010 9:47 pm

        speaking of dropping…im seeing more and more than i am indeed turning 40 this year.

        that is all.

        • Heidi permalink
          February 24, 2010 10:08 pm

          I not only dropping, I am drooping and getting very gray. But that’s okay… (men lose their eyesight after 40)

          I love my 40’s!

          • February 24, 2010 10:14 pm

            i hope i love my 40’s too. i have such silly concerns about aging and getting closer to dying. im a dork. i know.

  18. TheNorEaster permalink
    February 24, 2010 5:43 pm

    And ever since then, I have been known as “Meatloaf Nor”.

    No kidding.

    But I’ve got a mean streak: I am not sharing the recipe here, either. 😛

    • February 24, 2010 9:35 pm

      meatloaf nor??

      really?

      wow, thats…fancy 😉

  19. Heidi permalink
    February 24, 2010 9:37 pm

    Guess what I made tonight…. and guess how many miles I will need to walk tomorrow. 🙂 they are incredible and gone… ALL gone. I had 10.
    Love you sis and I’ll be thinking of you on my walk in the morn!!

    • February 24, 2010 9:42 pm

      fabulous!!! were they chewy? gingery and molassesy?

      have fun on your walk, sis!

      love you!

  20. Heidi permalink
    February 24, 2010 10:05 pm

    They were very chewy and warm. I grabbed them off the cookie tray. More gingery than molassesy.But I like it that way.

    Yes, I gave them a sugar bath and thought of comment and chuckled. VERY hard to explain to the fam.

    Love you TOO!! (alot)

  21. February 26, 2010 9:14 am

    1) OH MY GOSH I can’t believe you’re giving away this secret!!!

    2) I CAN’T BELIEVE you never made these when I was there. Still trying to forgive you for that. 😉

    • February 26, 2010 9:18 am

      i cant believe i didnt make them either.

      we definitely need a do-over!!!

  22. Melissa permalink
    March 1, 2010 3:03 pm

    I’ve never heard of Brer rabbit. What is that? Is it a brand? I bookmarked this post because I saw so many people tweeting about how good they are and I can’t wait to try them. But, how much molasses do I put in? It only says 1/4. Also, in the comments I saw someone say Crisco, but I didn’t see that as an ingredient. Am I missing something? Anyways, I can’t wait to try these cookies! Thanks for sharing the secret. 🙂

    • March 1, 2010 3:08 pm

      melissa – yes, brer rabbit is a brand http://mybrands.com/Product.aspx?pid=63 you can check it out at this link.

      i fixed the measurement in the post. i totally didnt see it. it is 1/4 cup of molasses.

      crisco is listed as the first ingredient. butter flavored crisco.

      sorry for the confusion. hope if you make them they turn out for you. let me know 😉

  23. Jen permalink
    March 19, 2010 6:36 pm

    I love these cookies …and learned if you don’t want them to ‘crack’, only put one tray in the oven at a time.

Trackbacks

  1. Possibly The Best Cookie Recipe Ever… « brandi & boys
  2. Crack Cookies: They’re Truly Addictive! ‹ Suburban Turmoil

Leave a comment